We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic but excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smartline Princess Hotel
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“basic but excellent value for money”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just arrived back after spending the last week of the season at the Princess with my wife and 7 yr old daughter.
We were originally booked into another Hotel but due to overbooking(or more than likely they shut up shop early due to the distinct lack of people around) we were transferred here.
Didn't know what to expect as the reviews I read on hear are mixed to say the least.
First things first, we paid £80 in total for a weeks stay on B&B basis so we weren't expecting luxury.
The room was basic but pleasant enough with a nice balcony overlooking the owner's small farm/gigantic allotment and breakfast set us all up nicely for the day ahead (freshly brewed coffee, bottled water, fruit juices, cold ham, cheese, bread, jams, cereall, milk, tinned fruit salad and lovely thick greek yoghurt were on the buffet every morning).
The pool area was clean, tidy and well maintained although the pool itself was freezing cold which is hardly the Hotel's fault.
Freddie behind the bar was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for him at all during the week and he gave us some handy hints on where to eat out and where to avoid.
The owner himself is a lovely old man with a big smile and a hello for everyone..... his son, the manager, though is just as arrogant as previous reviewers have mentioned.
He took it upon himself to bring his new gun dog onto the premises and tie it up to a kennel no more than 5 m away from our balcony where it proceeded to bark and whine for the next 4 days which didn't help anyone get a good nights sleep.
Why he couldn't have waited 4 days until the hotel was closed for the winter is beyond me.
Onto room cleanliness now folks. We stayed there 7 nights and we had our rooms cleaned, beds made, bins emptied twice. Not very good at all especially as you can't flush your toilet paper away so we ended up emptying our bin in the communal toilets by the pool.
Oh and the phantom sock that we found under our bed at the beginning of the week was still there at the end
Would we go back?
Probably not all things considered.
I think we would rather pay a bit more and be guaranteed a better nights sleep and have a cleaner room.
But for the money I wouldn't and can't complain too much?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2housty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    90
    36
    20
    9
See reviews for
95
135
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

One word sums up this hotel: Horrendous!

There really aren't many positive things to say about the Princess Hotel. The high volume of negative reviews which are left are in fact well deserved, and I would advise anyone to carefully consider what people have to say about this hotel before booking a holiday.

The problems that we encountered throughout our stay are too numerous to list in full, but the main problems were as follows:

Rude staff. The vast majority of people who work at the Princess Hotel are far from pleasant (there were a few exceptions). Even a polite 'hello' seemed like hard work. If we ever had a problem with our room, we found the staff to be particularly unhelpful and it would take a number of days before our problem was resolved. The owner is just completely arrogant, he seems to have the completely wrong attitude towards the people who pay money to stay in his hotel. This is something which has clearly rubbed off upon the people he employs.

You are bulldozed into spending money in the hotel. We are people who like to go out of the hotel on a lunchtime and also on a night for a meal/drinks etc. This doesn't go down very well at the Princess Hotel, where the bar and restaurant staff seem to expect you to spend all of your time and all of your money on below par/over-priced food and drink (more on this later).

There is a clique within the hotel. Those who do abide by the above rule are given preferential treatment compared with everyone else. The bar staff in particular will pretend to be your 'mate' so that you will spend lots of money in the hotel bar: unfortunately many fall for this hook, line, and sinker. This is manifested in the way you are treated throughout your stay. One example of this was one morning, when the Bar Manager walked around the perimeter of the swimming pool, saying 'good morning' to all his 'mates' who drank in his bar, when he got to my girlfriend he just completely ignored her! Yes, it really is that blatant! All of this just because we wanted to go out and experience the many different restaurants that Tsilivi has to offer (which is itself a very nice resort).

You can't drink your own water round the pool. When it got towards the end of our holiday, we were told that we could no longer drink our own bottled water round the pool area. We thought this was a complete joke - fair enough if we were bringing our own alcohol, but WATER????? Really????? Suffice to say that members of the 'clique' were not prevented from drinking their own water (!).

The breakfast is horrendous. Can't really say anything more than that. It's that simple.

The rooms are badly maintained. Our room was badly decorated, and not as described. The air conditioning didn't work particularly well either and you had to pay 5 euros a day for this. Our air conditioning unit positioned on the balcony leaked the whole time we were there, creating quite a mess of the seating area. Mould could be found throughout the bathroom, and is particularly bad around the shower and toilet. Nails are randomly hanging out of the wall tiles, which are also full of holes.

There are bad hygiene practices. The owners dog is allowed to drink out of the swimming pool which is not at all ideal. Furthermore, people are allowed to use glasses around the pool area. Many of these get smashed, and create an obvious hazard to other pool users.

Finally, and this is something which I really did not like: the Vodka sold at the hotel bar is not all that it seems. On one occasion we purchased ice creams from the hotel and I went to pay for these at the bar. When I was stood waiting, the barmaid had her back to me and was filling empty Smirnoff bottles with a cheap, locally produced vodka called 'Ostrov'. I asked her what she was doing and she just laughed. Notwithstanding, this is advertised on the bar menu as 'Smirnoff' and clearly labelled Smirnoff bottles are used. I highly doubt that the people who spent their money in that bar were aware of what they were really purchasing.

Like I said at the start: horrendous.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We were met on our arrival by a hotel representative, took our luggage. Very smarmy!!! Never introduced himself, or asked our names. Room very small for three people and with uncomfortable guest beds. The beds were very hard. The room was not very clean! The shower was old, worn out and hand held only. The shower tray was cracked and there was mould yuk! Everything need renewing!! The food was boring. Same menu every night (A la carte) I don't think so. Breakfast was basic. The staff only like you, if you spend money all night in the bar! The location wad very good, near lots of shops, beach and Tavernas.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisamarie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed at the Princess hotel for 5 nights with my friend. We arrived Sunday morning 11am Greece time, room was not ready so had to wait. No lifts and had to take luggage upstairs without help. Very basic room, one wardrobe which was quite dusty could do with a clean. The sheets had stains on them and the towels did also, even when we were given new sheets and towels they still had stains on them. The toilet had issues with flushing we did tell the cleaner but she didn't sort out the problem just poured down bleach which didn't help. The shower never seemed to have hot water only at 7am and 6pm, we told the receptionist and she said that was the timings for the boiler to be put on. I had to get my hair washed by the hairdresser for 20 Euros. The pool area was clean, you need to bring your own beach towel though. We had breakfast each morning it was toast, cereal, fruit, hard booiled egg, tea and coffee but for cooked breakfast I had to go out which I didn't mind full english for 5 Euros so not that bad. The location is very good near the bars, restaurants and shops. Tsilivi is a lovely area to be in, the beach is not that far walking distance. The bed was very hard found it hard to sleep on, could not sleep at night because of the noise of the crickets and the music being played in the restaurant downstairs. Managed about 5 hours a night. I recommend the area but just not the Princess hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara123797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a fantastic week in Zante staying at the Princess Hotel. We arrived at about 1a.m on a Sunday night after a 3 hour delay and were greeted by Freddie. We were the only people arriving at this time so it felt like he had stayed up especially for us. He introduced himself and also asked for our names before taking us up to our room which was spacious and spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 212. Maids came and cleaned and changed our towels everyday. All the staff in the hotel were so friendly, they said hello to you every time they saw you and there was always someone around should you need them. I can't stress enough how nice the staff were, they were always in a good mood and would do absolutely anything for you. it made a real difference to our holiday.

The food was fresh and tasty. We were half board and ate at the hotel everyday. Dinner was served a la carte and there was always plenty of it! There were traditional Greek dishes to choose from as well as your standard chicken and chips sort of thing. Breakfast was also perfectly adequate, no cooked breakfast but that didn't bother me as there was enough of other things such as toast, cereal, fruit salad, boiled eggs etc. Also the natural greek yoghurt was divine! I literally looked forward to getting up in the morning to have this!

The hotel is in a great location and not far from the beach. the pool area is also very nice and the sunloungers are especially comfy - better than the normal white plastic ones that are usually standard. Tsilivi is a lovely resort, there are enough bars, shops and restaurants to keep you entertained but without it being too full on or tacky. The Princess Hotel is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeberry_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just arrived back after a 10 night stay at the princess and wot more can i say apart from fantastico!! We had a great time the hotel was basic as all hotels in greece are but very very clean. Towels and bedding changed 5 times during our stay.Pool area was also kept clean and tidy aswell. staff was always happy to help especially emma george katrina and the amazing FREDDIE who was always there to have a chat and a beer with. Cant wait to go back again really soon

Room Tip: 211 and 209 are back rooms so nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Below average hotel. Major problems with the toilets in the only family room. Would not flush at all. Human waste in the pan on arrival.
Complained twice about the not flushing and nothing was done. Then when checking out, hotel staff informed me that it has been an ongoing problem. Certainly not 3 star, would rate it at 2. Waited 2 hours one night for food. Drinks expensive. Not enough sun loungers for residents, as the pool is open to all.
No tea and coffee facilities in the room and not enough wardrobes, only 1 small one. Certainly would not recommend it, try the Mavrikos :)

Room Tip: Used Zante taxis and were spot on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.6 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#6 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#23 of 49 in Tsilivi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#10 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phoenix Beach Hotel
Phoenix Beach Hotel
#17 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Princess Hotel

Property: Smartline Princess Hotel
Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Hotel Class:3 star — Smartline Princess Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Princess is a cosy and modern hotel with a warm and relaxed atmosphere, perfect for families. Here you stay in bright and modern rooms, close to both the golden sandy beach and the centre of Tsilivi. The hotel has a restaurant and two bars, and numerous restaurants, tavernas, bars and entertainment opportunities awaits you around the corner. The hotels spa offers various treatments and massages for those who want an extra relaxing and unwinding holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smartline Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing