We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smartline Princess Hotel
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
ashford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have just got back from 8 nights this was our 6th time and will be going again next year cant understand the bad reviews the staff freddie and the owners are so helpful and make you feel so welcome very clean and so many people return year after year each to there own but we cant fault it

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    90
    36
    20
    9
See reviews for
95
134
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Just returned from the Princess hotel Tsilivi, and had a fantastic week. We have stayed here 3 times before but this time my mum, who is 76 and disabled, my daughter and her husband came with us. My mum was treated like royalty by everyone at the hotel and nothing was too much trouble for them. My daughter and her husband loved it so much they are going to book to go agian next year. Ate out in a different restaurant every night but think our favourite was Wine and Roses which is new this year and is not far past Romio's. Weather was great during the day but this time it was very chilly at night so I would definitely recommend taking a cardigan with you. Also please go to the BBQ and Greek dancing night at the hotel as we had a great night and the food is good. All in all we had a ball and can';t wait to go back again next year. I must mention Freddie, Vicky, Thanasis, Demi, Babis and Sonia all brilliant people who go out of their way to make your holiday special.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eileen2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

My sister and I stayed at the princess hotel in tsilivi in 2nd week in May 2011.
We arrived about 4pm in the afternoon and was greeted immediately by the bar staff and the lady who runs the hotel all very friendly and helpful they gave us our room keys and advised us about a safety deposit box that you had to pay extra for which we did, it was located in reception you have a key and the receptionist holds a master key, you have to have both to open your deposit box - which i think is a good idea we had one to keep our money and expensive items in (ipod touch, passports etc).
We had a room that over looked the pool and got the sun in the afternoon which was lovely to sit out on the balcony and sunbathe, also on the balcony we have two house martins nests so had a few house martins fly around our hotel room very funny / scary.
Our room was clean and fresh smelling, the beds were made daily and the bed sheets were changed also we got fresh towels, the bathroom shower was quite small and had old fashioned with old hard to move doors that were annoying i think if you were quite a large person you may struggle to get in the shower cubicle. We did have some issues with the toilet but they resolved themselves and we just used the toilets near the pool which weridly enough had nicer loo roll.
We stayed as bed and breakfast quests and its definately worth the extra £20 the service was great we were served within 5 minutes of sitting down and by the end of our week we didnt even have to order cause freddie knew our order of toast and cuppa tea :)
The bar was nice at the hotel for a cocktail it was 5 euros and its was super super strong, it was 50c for a bottle of water so we would mix it up with a cocktail then water. Most bars and resturants priced their cocktails at 5euros.
The bakery place next door is lovely and open really quite late they do a lovely hot chocolate if its chilly which in May late at night is was.
The hotel is quite central to the old part of tsilivi its lovely if you just want to get something to eat and then go to bed there is few bars in the old part of the town id reccommend, the paradise bar is a right laugh its definately worth going there at least one night especially if ELvis is coming you all get a sparkle for when elvis arrives and they give you stupid hats to wear or bunny ears and its so cheesey its funny obviously you get the famous greek dancing in there as well its realy close to the hotel also its just to the right when you leave the princess hotel a lot of the excursions pick up from the princess hotel. The resturant called the family opposite to the Princess Hotel is ok i wouldnt rush to go back there the service was quite slow and we went when it was peack season.
My sister and I went to popeyes a couple of times the staff are friendly and the service is fast and the food is delish!
If you come out of the princess hotel and turn right and continue to walk straight you will come to the beach and if you turn left at popeyes you will come to the newer part of Tsilivi. In the newer part of the Tsilivi there is a lovely waffle and crepe place definately worth a visit 3.50 euro for a huge crepe full of chocolate and nuts hmmmmm. Also there is nice chinese that cheap in the newer part of tsilivi, like most places all the waiters stand outside the resturants and try to get you to come into their resturants this can be super annoying.
I would reccommend going late may through to septemner as the second week in may when we went the season hadnt started and there were a lot of closed resturants and closed shops.
I would strongly reccommend taking the bus to places its really easy to follow and cheap a lot cheaper than a taxi - the buses dont run on a sunday though. For a taxi to laganas during the day it was 15 euros each way.
I really enjoyed the trip to the ship wreck and the blue caves and didnt enjoy the turtle watching trip we spent 3 hours on a coach stopping at every hotel picking up people and 3 hours on a boat and no turtles! waste of a day.
The best bech tip i could give you is to walk straight down to the beach and then walk to the left to the second habour the beach before the habour bit is amazing the sea is really shallow you can walk quite a way out before its deep, its great for kids and its super soft sand with crystal clear water - heaven :)
If you cant live without the internet there is free wifi at the princess hotel, ask at reception for the password and hey pesto facebook and emails :)
Have a great time if you decide to go to the princess hotel i would go back

Room Tip: Have a high room, with a pool view and go bed and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kr15tel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

when we arrived at our hotel very late at night, we were greeted by helpful staff who guided us to our rooms, our rooms were spacous with delightful views of the swimming pool, the rooms had a balcony which was helpful with the very hot weather, the beach was a 15 minute walk which was ok and we were surrounded with shops and restaurants which was extremely helpful, the hotel included a swimming pool and wireless connections but if you wanted to use their computer it was a small price to pay.
GREAT HOLIDAYY

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYork1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

As other reviewers have said, It's good for the price. Rooms are basic (Bed, Tv, Toilet) but clean. Had difficulty hinting that we wanted our towels changed, often left them on the floor only to find them folded back up and on the bed, even left them in the bath a few times. They were changed every few days though so not much of an issue. My one major gripe was that there was no catering facilities which for a non catering hotel was forgiveable but no kettle! NO KETTLE! Tragic. The staff were very friendly. Music went on until the early hours and was loud but not unreasonable with the doors shut - for this reason air-con is a must (5Euros a day). Breakfast is basic - Toast, Corn Flakes, Greek Yoghurt, Ham, Cheese etc. The bakery next door is absolutely amazing! The location is perfect and Tsilivi is in my opinion the best resort on the island (we hired quad bikes, well worth doing) and has so many great restaurants!We stayed in Tsilivi for two weeks and i'd thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just arrived back after spending the last week of the season at the Princess with my wife and 7 yr old daughter.
We were originally booked into another Hotel but due to overbooking(or more than likely they shut up shop early due to the distinct lack of people around) we were transferred here.
Didn't know what to expect as the reviews I read on hear are mixed to say the least.
First things first, we paid £80 in total for a weeks stay on B&B basis so we weren't expecting luxury.
The room was basic but pleasant enough with a nice balcony overlooking the owner's small farm/gigantic allotment and breakfast set us all up nicely for the day ahead (freshly brewed coffee, bottled water, fruit juices, cold ham, cheese, bread, jams, cereall, milk, tinned fruit salad and lovely thick greek yoghurt were on the buffet every morning).
The pool area was clean, tidy and well maintained although the pool itself was freezing cold which is hardly the Hotel's fault.
Freddie behind the bar was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for him at all during the week and he gave us some handy hints on where to eat out and where to avoid.
The owner himself is a lovely old man with a big smile and a hello for everyone..... his son, the manager, though is just as arrogant as previous reviewers have mentioned.
He took it upon himself to bring his new gun dog onto the premises and tie it up to a kennel no more than 5 m away from our balcony where it proceeded to bark and whine for the next 4 days which didn't help anyone get a good nights sleep.
Why he couldn't have waited 4 days until the hotel was closed for the winter is beyond me.
Onto room cleanliness now folks. We stayed there 7 nights and we had our rooms cleaned, beds made, bins emptied twice. Not very good at all especially as you can't flush your toilet paper away so we ended up emptying our bin in the communal toilets by the pool.
Oh and the phantom sock that we found under our bed at the beginning of the week was still there at the end
Would we go back?
Probably not all things considered.
I think we would rather pay a bit more and be guaranteed a better nights sleep and have a cleaner room.
But for the money I wouldn't and can't complain too much?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2housty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

One word sums up this hotel: Horrendous!

There really aren't many positive things to say about the Princess Hotel. The high volume of negative reviews which are left are in fact well deserved, and I would advise anyone to carefully consider what people have to say about this hotel before booking a holiday.

The problems that we encountered throughout our stay are too numerous to list in full, but the main problems were as follows:

Rude staff. The vast majority of people who work at the Princess Hotel are far from pleasant (there were a few exceptions). Even a polite 'hello' seemed like hard work. If we ever had a problem with our room, we found the staff to be particularly unhelpful and it would take a number of days before our problem was resolved. The owner is just completely arrogant, he seems to have the completely wrong attitude towards the people who pay money to stay in his hotel. This is something which has clearly rubbed off upon the people he employs.

You are bulldozed into spending money in the hotel. We are people who like to go out of the hotel on a lunchtime and also on a night for a meal/drinks etc. This doesn't go down very well at the Princess Hotel, where the bar and restaurant staff seem to expect you to spend all of your time and all of your money on below par/over-priced food and drink (more on this later).

There is a clique within the hotel. Those who do abide by the above rule are given preferential treatment compared with everyone else. The bar staff in particular will pretend to be your 'mate' so that you will spend lots of money in the hotel bar: unfortunately many fall for this hook, line, and sinker. This is manifested in the way you are treated throughout your stay. One example of this was one morning, when the Bar Manager walked around the perimeter of the swimming pool, saying 'good morning' to all his 'mates' who drank in his bar, when he got to my girlfriend he just completely ignored her! Yes, it really is that blatant! All of this just because we wanted to go out and experience the many different restaurants that Tsilivi has to offer (which is itself a very nice resort).

You can't drink your own water round the pool. When it got towards the end of our holiday, we were told that we could no longer drink our own bottled water round the pool area. We thought this was a complete joke - fair enough if we were bringing our own alcohol, but WATER????? Really????? Suffice to say that members of the 'clique' were not prevented from drinking their own water (!).

The breakfast is horrendous. Can't really say anything more than that. It's that simple.

The rooms are badly maintained. Our room was badly decorated, and not as described. The air conditioning didn't work particularly well either and you had to pay 5 euros a day for this. Our air conditioning unit positioned on the balcony leaked the whole time we were there, creating quite a mess of the seating area. Mould could be found throughout the bathroom, and is particularly bad around the shower and toilet. Nails are randomly hanging out of the wall tiles, which are also full of holes.

There are bad hygiene practices. The owners dog is allowed to drink out of the swimming pool which is not at all ideal. Furthermore, people are allowed to use glasses around the pool area. Many of these get smashed, and create an obvious hazard to other pool users.

Finally, and this is something which I really did not like: the Vodka sold at the hotel bar is not all that it seems. On one occasion we purchased ice creams from the hotel and I went to pay for these at the bar. When I was stood waiting, the barmaid had her back to me and was filling empty Smirnoff bottles with a cheap, locally produced vodka called 'Ostrov'. I asked her what she was doing and she just laughed. Notwithstanding, this is advertised on the bar menu as 'Smirnoff' and clearly labelled Smirnoff bottles are used. I highly doubt that the people who spent their money in that bar were aware of what they were really purchasing.

Like I said at the start: horrendous.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.6 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#23 of 49 in Tsilivi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#10 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phoenix Beach Hotel
Phoenix Beach Hotel
#18 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Princess Hotel

Property: Smartline Princess Hotel
Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Hotel Class:3 star — Smartline Princess Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Princess is a cosy and modern hotel with a warm and relaxed atmosphere, perfect for families. Here you stay in bright and modern rooms, close to both the golden sandy beach and the centre of Tsilivi. The hotel has a restaurant and two bars, and numerous restaurants, tavernas, bars and entertainment opportunities awaits you around the corner. The hotels spa offers various treatments and massages for those who want an extra relaxing and unwinding holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smartline Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing