We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very clean and relaxing place complex with great location”
Review of Planos Apart Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tsilivi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Planos Apart Hotel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here at the end of the summer and enjoyed a memorable trip which we will always remember with great fondness. Our accommodation was perfect for our first trip to Tsilivi and the Planos Aparthotel is a decent complex in a brilliant location.

The apartments are a short walk to almost everything you will need during your trip and are only a stones throw from some great tavernas and restaurants which stay open till late. Despite the close proximity to everything we found the apartment complex to be quiet and peaceful during the day and when we returned at night.

All of the entertainment, pool games, music and general goings on seems to be found in the Planos Bay Hotel which is part of the same group and is on the other side of the road. This meant that the pool and bar at the apartments were generally quite chilled out with music playing in the afternoon. The poolside bar opens early in the day and serves food during the day with drinks available at most times. I can recommend an ice cold Mythos or Amstel whilst you sit in the afternoon sun.

The apartment itself was cleaned on a daily basis by a lovely Greek lady who we will always remember... The bathroom had new fittings and was spotless. The kitchen facilities were good and the cupboards were well stocked with everything you need if you want to stay in and cook, although there seems little need to do this. Separate bedroom opened out onto our balcony with a great view of the apartment complex below us and the surrounding area.

The bedroom itself contained a decent tv with loads of seemingly random channels. You will need to ask at reception for a remote, think we paid a small deposit. Ask at reception for a key to the safety deposit box and the remote for the air con as well... I forget the charge, but it wasn't too costly and is essential for a good nights sleep.

In terms of Tsilivi itself there is so much to write about but I will recommend a few things which really stood out.

Make sure you take a boat trip with Captain Spiros on Levante. Lots of reviews and information about his excursions on here and on the Zante websites. This will be a highlight of your trip if you do this.

Hire a car from Peter at Magaris Car Hire which is located across the road from the Planos Apart Hotel. An ex pat who runs a few businesses in Tsilivi, he is a great bloke and will give you tips on where to visit. We had a great time exploring the island in our Jeep.

Could make an endless list of tavernas and restaurants but here are two which are located on the same road as the apartments. Friends Bar is unreal, you will be welcomed like long lost family members and they will not let you leave! Also try 'Local Snack' a great place to eat, with fantastic Gyros and Souvlakis. No one seems to mention this place but we loved it. It was so cheap and possibly some of the best food we had in Tsilivi.

Room Tip: Depends what you're after but we emailed the hotel and requested a top floor apartment with a po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

Room was a decent size & cleaned everyday, but the hotel complex was just looking rather dated. Very noisy & the rooms are along a landing which looks more like a prison landing & when kids run along it echoe's all the way through.

When we arrived we wern't greeted very warmly at check-in, there was 1 oriental looking woman on the desk a couple of times and she was the only one who smiled & made you feel welcome.

Pool area leaves a lot to be desired - bed/towel wars in the mornings, there woudn't be a problem get a sunbed if they were all in decent condition, quite a few of them are cracked & smashed. The bar area is pathetic. Me & my husband stayed at the beginning of September thinking there wouldn't be any kids, we were surprised there was as many as there were, kids running round the pool, i think i was more concerned for them slipping and hurting themselves than their parents were, they were to busy drinking!!

On the second day we decided to go down to the beach which was much better, lay on the sunbeds in Freddie's bar - nice & friendly, so from there on we went there every day - so much better than staying round the pool.

The resort Tsilivi is nice plenty of bars & restaurants, out fave taverna was Menir's - turn left down by the Corner bar it's at the bottom of the road, the owner plays the Bazouki - great atmosphere.

Would go back to the resort but certainly not the hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank TraxwazNewcatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Just come back from a fantastic holiday at the Planos apartments. The apartments are small but clean, and the staff are very friendly and you can have a good laugh with them if you make an effort to speak to them, we got plenty of free shots of sambuca during our stay!!

You can use the facilities of the Planos bay across the road which is good for a change and there is some entertainment provided over there, however we found the Planos apts to be much cleaner,less noisy and also cheaper ( food and drinks at the planos bay are approx 50cents more which adds up).

As for the rooms, yes they are small and basic as the majority of hotels are in Greece. If people are expecting luxury in Greece then stay in a 5 star hotel- simple! The apts are a 5min walk to the beach and within 5mins to the nearest restaurants/bars. It takes about 20mins to walk from one side of Tsilivi (Planos) to the other- with plenty of bars and restaurants along the way. Can recommend the Ark bar as a young couple as the most lively place to go, and a few restaurants we ate at were Zues, Il gusto and Popeyes, all nice, though generally all the restaurants looked nice to eat at.

Tsilivi itself is gorgeous and would recommend for families and couples wanting plenty going on without it being in your face like laganas.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank steph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Just returned from planos apts which were brill . we had two rooms next to each other family of 8 rooms were spotless and newly modernised.
The pictures on the internet do not do these apts justice we had ground floor rooms perfect with little ones
The snack bar is very good and priced resonable,
Staff are lovely and friendly .
The Rep Christina is also very nice .
You can use everything at planos bay hotel entertainment by the reps is really funny on their show night

Room Tip: request a room when booking or email hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliedawnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We're just back from staying in the Planos Aparthotel. It's just across the road from the Planos Bay but you can use their facilities too. I was a bit apprehensive due to some reviews I'd seen but was delighted with our holiday. The apartments are small but absolutely spotless. The staff were very nice and as you can use the Planos Bay facilities, etc, you're not missing out on anything. If anything you're better off as there's no entertainment in the aparthotel so it's quieter. It's at the quiet end of the resort which was great. If you want loud music and lots of traffic it's 5 minutes walk away but if you prefer things a little quieter stay put.

The Stamnes restaurant (2 mins walk towards the beach) is lovely as is the Kaliva Pub (just a little further down). All the staff in both these places were fabulous. At the Kaliva there's plenty of space and shade with a playground area for the kids - great for keeping them out of the hot sun. Everywhere you go the menus are much the same - variety of Greek, International and "package holiday" choices so there's something for everyone.

Definitely recommend the Turtle cruise but go with the tour company option - the cheap ones just hassle the poor turtles and stress them so they don't show. Our boat had to wait for them to go away so the turtle would feel safe and resurface and we could watch from a non threatening distance.

The water park in Tsilivi is aimed at kids not teenagers which makes it perfect for families. There are some big slides for adults/older kids too though. If you stay in Planos hotels/apts you get a 30% discount on the full day rate (includes a snack) but if you prefer you can get in for half of the full rate after 2:30pm (no snack).

Highly recommend this place just bear in mind the Greek apartments seem to be generally quite small. Fabulous Island though and I'd go again but preferably when it's not quite so hot.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank afk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Having read some reviews I was worried about booking this hotel for myself and my 3 friends, who were looking for a relaxing fortnight after graduating from uni. We arrived and were pleasantly surprised, the kitchen and bathroom looked newly fitted, and the whole apartment was extremely clean. The kitchen was a little basic (bring a can opener with you!) but to be honest we only cooked there 4 times, there were 2 electric hobs and a small oven, which was sufficient.

Obviously we knew as 4 young girls if we wanted to get drunk every night, we weren't in the right part of Zante for that, but that wasn't the aim of our holiday, Tsilivi had some great bars and we had an brilliant time. However there were a lot of children at this hotel (aimed at families, so if you want that, great) what we didn't expect however were children some as young as 4 swearing, screaming smacking each other, this isn't down to the hotel though, more the parenting, however I felt the hotel staff should have at some point warned the children to be a bit more respectful to other guests around the pool.

Room Tip: If you're flight leaves at 2am, and u check out at midday 20€ will get u the room till u depart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Was at Planos apart/hotel last week. Got it as a last minute deal and was resigned to staying in a noisy and unclean apartment, due to some of the reviews that I had read. But to our amazement, the hotel was very clean, the room was modern, clean and spacious and the hotel staff were really friendly (only spoke to them checking in and out!). Hotel must have had a make over, definately a 3 star. There's no restaurant or entertainment, but you can explore the town for all of that (who wants to eat in the hotel anyway?!). Boomerangs restaurant on the beach makes very nice food and excellent service. TIP: if you are going self catering bring tea bags/ cereal etc as these were very expensive in the super markets (4.50 for a box of corn flakes!). Overall, lovely place. Definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ciaran_phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.2 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#24 of 51 in Tsilivi
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plaza Pallas Hotel
Plaza Pallas Hotel
#19 of 51 in Tsilivi
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#22 of 51 in Tsilivi
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planos Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planos Apart Hotel

Address: Planos, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range: £93 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planos Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing