We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday”
Review of Planos Apart Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tsilivi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Planos Apart Hotel
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed here in Mid Sept 2011 although the season was coming to an end. The weather was still amazing, we stayed Self catering as I believe in giving business to the locals, we found an amazing place to eat called Giorgios, good prices and the food to die for, but saying that didnt really find any where bad. The hotel itself wasnt that bad, althought the entertainment was a bit of a let down, but it just made us enjoy it more as it was that bad. We had free entry to the water park which was a bonus, although small in comparsion to others I have been to, but we still enjoyed it. My son who at that time was 14 really enjoyed it. There were a lot of people selling fake dvd'sand watches, coming into the hotel and people selling massages, there was annoying but ignored them in the end. The hotel has now gone All Inclusive which is a big shame, so we have booked for next year at the sister hotel across the road as we loved it that much. The rooms had just been improved also, so in all I can only put a big thumbs up to it

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shazzab72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    110
    43
    9
    6
See reviews for
142
93
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed here while in resort for Wedding. Excellent location away from loud bars but within 10 mins of places to eat and drink. Bathrooms really nice and accomodation well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 141mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful week staying at these apartments. There were 3 adults and 3 kids split between two rooms.
When we first arrived I was really disappointed by the apartments as they felt small and very basic but as the week went by, I really began to appreciate them. They were always clean, the maids were great, there were never any problems getting a sun bed at any hour, the pool scene was nice and chilled, the reception staff were friendly and efficient and the location was fantastic.

It was a little on the noisy side but nothing I didn't expect. Someone has mentioned the dogs below but we didn't see any. I'm a dog lover too so this would have definitely put me off.

Don't pay for the wi-fi - it's sporadic at best. I paid 6 euros for 2 hours and probably got a maximum of 15 minutes online. There's a bar called the Red Apple just over the road with free wifi, use that and save yourself a lot of frustration. We wanted air-conditioning in our room but the others didn't. It cost 5 Euros per day and only works in the bedroom area. Reception gives you a remote to work it - even though we didn't use it in both rooms, the same remote worked...

We hired a car for 3 days from Margaris Rentals (again just over the road). They were fantastic - the car had seen better days (it was functional and we felt safe) but the service we received from Peter was the differentiator - and absolutely made our holiday. He listened to what we liked to do and showed us exactly where to go on the island to find some hidden gems and fantastic taverna (See the bottom of this review if you're thinking of hiring a car).

The self-catering facilities were very basic but we'd intended to eat out all the time anyway, it's just great having a fridge. There are some wonderful local restaurants nearby. One of our favourites was Avgustis (it's on the right hand side when you get to the beach). It's a fish taverna but it does fantastic meat dishes too - seems very traditional.

You can use the Planos Bay hotel for entertainment - although the kids can't use the kids club but we never got round to it. However we did go a couple of times for breakfast. It was a buffet style, with everything that you could want (full English, continental, lots of fruit, cereal etc). It was 6 euros for adults and 4 for kids. We thought it was good value.

Make sure you take beach shoes with you as you needed them on the majority of beaches we visited. Don't be fooled to think crocs/sandals will work just as well - they won't (trust me!).

Also - if you'r booking through a tour operator. Get them to take off the transfers (or remove them yourself online). We booked with Thomson and they were charging approx £150 for our family. We took these off and just got a taxi when we landed - there were loads available (and apparently there always are) and it was 20 euros. We beat the coach by over an hour, had a much more enjoyable transfer and saved a heap of cash.

Another word of warning - we had a nightmare with suitcases. We've always been used to taking fewer cases but filling them up. It used to be that one case couldn't weigh anymore than 32kg. When we got to Manchester one of ours weighed 27kg (the other two were 25kg). We were informed that the maximum weight for one case with Thomson is 25kg - although we were under our weight allowance (120kg) by 43kg, one suitcase weighed 2kg too much and the check-in lady said we'd have to take out the excess. Luckily I'd packed a beach bag at the top so just removed a couple of books and we were fine. On the way back we'd lost a bit of weight with sun tan cream/books & toiletries and were careful that they were evenly balanced but the check-in lady there said that maximum weight for one case was 23kg so again we had to rearrange the luggage! I have checked since we got back and it is 23kg but I think it depends who you get on check-in! Not sure who would check-in two bags though if you bought the 25kg luggage allowance?

We stayed for a week and just to give you an idea - we spent about £1600 between us (about 2000 euros). Every penny was well spent and enjoyed.

Included in this is a car rental (6 seater for approx 170 Euros) for three days.

We did all of the trips ourself with the rental car including Turtle Island - if you're interested in getting out and about, read the below and do it yourself - if not, have a wonderful holiday!

Day 1 - Kalamaki (Crystal Beach). Spent time just lazing on this glorious beach in the morning. The kids loved the crystals embedded into the rock faces and then we had a late breakfast of donuts and muffins (healthy or what?) around the pool which had a view of the ocean. It was gorgeous.

From here we drove up towards Keri/Limni. We had a light, late lunch in a small taverna by the beach and rented our own motorboat from just outside (It was 40 euros for 4 hours). As we were directly opposite Turtle Island we weren't afraid of getting lost, first we went to see some caves and then straight to turtle island. Unfortunately we didn't see any turtles but we did moor up (don't know if that's the right terminology) on the opposite side of the main beach. There was just one other small boat there so we practically had the beach all to ourselves. Half of us went snorkelling whilst the others stayed on the beach and played around in the sand and water. It was so lovely we stayed until our time had almost run out - so we just sailed round the rest of Turtle Island, past the other beach that was really busy with lots of bigger boats dropping people off and sailed back along the coast to return the boat. All the kids sat at the front of the boat and had an amazing time. In the evening we went to a really authentic Greek Taverna Grill called Porto Roulis (apparently it usually only attracts the Greek tourists). Location was right on the beach, in the middle of nowhere. The service was very slow but the lamb was to die for.

Day 2 - We drove past Alykes and went to a beach known as the Xigia Sulphur Springs and Collagen Spa. It was just a small cove, reached by lots of steps and quite a steep incline but the trek was more than worth it (it's only takes 5 minutes). The cove was deserted, there were a handful of unoccupied sunbeds and umbrellas that were for hire but we wanted to go in the sea. The kids complained about the smell at first (really bad rotten eggs from the sulphur!) but they quickly got used to it. There were some rocks and a cave that you could swim out to. The water was pure turquoise and it was beautiful. More people started arriving just before lunch so we packed up and headed to our next stop, right at the tip of the island by the Blue Caves.

We stopped for lunch at a Greek Taverna called the Windmill. It was the most beautiful setting you could possibly imagine. It was perched on a cliff side with a path leading down to a sunbathing area and steps directly into the sea. From here you could actually swim into one of the Blue Caves. It was picture post card.

After this we headed for a boat trip to Shipwreck Cove. Popular belief is to go in the morning to miss the hoards however apparently the tour operators have cottoned on to this and now morning is not a good time. We went just before 3 - we went with the people who owned the taverna (Portamis Tours) and it was 15 Euros per adult and 7 for children. There was only us on the boat and when we got to Shipwreck Cove there was only one other small boat there so again we pretty much had the whole place to ourselves. The boat dropped us off right on the beach (take beach shoes!) and picked us up about 40 minutes later. The kids loved exploring the wreck (even tho it's an old oil tanker) and swimming in the sea. Oddly the sea here felt freezing - much colder than anywhere else - don't know why that was but we all felt it. The boat picked us back up and took us through the Blue Caves. I think the trip lasted just short of 2 hours and was well worth it.

In the evening we drove up to the Balcony Hotel for dinner. We timed it for sunset and we weren't disappointed - it was spectacular and the food was great too.

Day 3 - Today we were exploring the West Coast so we drove up to Porto Vromi and reached a small secluded harbour. Again other than a couple of fishermen we were the only ones there. The sea was as still as glass and there was a great little taverna on the end. We all had a swim and some drinks before heading into Kampi for lunch at the Cross Taverna. This place again is in the middle of nowhere and perched on a cliff side with magnificent views - apparently this is the best spot on the whole island to watch the sunset and I can see why. I could have stayed there all day just drinking in the scenery (and a few Mythos!) but the kids were dying to cool off in some water so we drove to Porto Roxa. At first I thought we'd got the wrong place as it seemed deserted. We wandered right to the end and there was a gorgeous taverna that had either closed down or wasn't yet open for the season but all the sunbeds and natural umbrellas were still set up and overlooked a private little bay that looked like a Disney waterpark - it was that perfect. There was no beach but a path that led down to a man made wooden diving platform. It was quite high but all the way down the path were rocks to jump and dive off. For the less adventurous (me) when you reached the bottom there was a platform where you could just enter the water. The kids (and dh) had a blast jumping in and all (except me) eventually went off the high diving board. The water was like glass and the cove was very sheltered so although deep - it seemed really safe - the fish followed us around and we fed them bread whilst snorkelling. This was on par with any water park we've ever been to (and we were in Florida for Easter) and we had to drag ourselves away sometime around 6pm. There was another English couple there but other than that - again it was just us!

For evening meal, we'd promised the kids something more 'them' so we went to Popeyes in Tsilivi. I was dreading it but actually it was really good!

These 3 days were as perfect as perfect can be!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SpamboEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

2 twin rooms with a balcony, kettle, toaster and unused oven...
Amazing showers and spottlessley cleaned rooms. Very basic - very cheap and loads of places within short walk for bars, restaurants and shops.
Brilliant week - highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Big_Al_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just returned from these appartments, overall they were very good, only problem was that we found the beds to be very uncomfortable, borrowed sun bed mattress some nights to try and make bed more comfortable, rooms very clean, ok for 2 or 3 people , but think would be a squash with 4. Did not use cooking facilities as we ate out.
Our room backed onto farmyard, but did not cause us any problems, bit noisy at times.
Only a 5min walk to beach or to tavernas.
We ate out every night, did not have a bad meal, best taverna was The Old Village, 2 min from appartment, bit more expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blobbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just returned from planos apts.cannot find a thing to complain about.rooms were spacious,spotless clean with fresh towels daily.(not something ive experienced in greece very often).the fact that there is no entertainment did not bother us as there are so many lovely places to eat ,The old village opposite was excellent and Kaliva near the beach did good breakfast.sorry to have to leave .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

These are nice apartments all refurbished, plenty of hot water, clean sheets and towels.

Unfortunately that was were it ended,because every night we had dogs barking 24/7 (10 in all 4 adults and 6, yes 6 puppies!!), cats, ducks, turkeys and to top it all a cockrill at 5.30am . Do not stay here if you are a dog lover, the dogs at the back of the hotel are chained up on a six foot chain with no food or water. Really spoilt our holiday with the noise of all these animals and birds.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
0.2 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#28 of 50 in Tsilivi
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 50 in Tsilivi
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 50 in Tsilivi
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tsilivi Admiral Hotel
0.5 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 50 in Tsilivi
1,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#25 of 50 in Tsilivi
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planos Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planos Apart Hotel

Property: Planos Apart Hotel
Address: Planos, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Planos Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing