We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant value and the best holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Planos Apart Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tsilivi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Planos Apart Hotel
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant value and the best holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I, my husband and our 3 year old child stayed for a week at this hotel and loved it. The rooms are very clean, cleaned every day and clean towels provided every day; except from Sundays when the maids have a day off but you can request fresh towels at reception on this day. The rooms are big and consist of a double bedroom, twin bedroom with kitchen area, large bathroom and a good size balcony. The kitchen facilities are great as you get a fridge, plates/cutlery etc., toaster, and kettle. There is also a safe available at an extra cost of approx. 10 euros per week and also air conditioning facility at an extra cost of approx. 30 euros per week which was as great as it made the rooms nice and cool. There is also a TV, hairdryer provided and an iron available at reception. The apartments were perfect for us as they were clean, spacious and well equipped for a small family. I would advise that if on a late flight book a late checkout with your tour operator or even book with the hotel itself to stay until the bus comes for the airport. We did this and paid £35 at the travel agents and then 10 euros to the hotel and it let us stay from checkout at 12pm until 3am the next morning which is a must if you have young children. The area the hotel is in is perfect, although I would request a high level apartment on the 4th floor as it can get quite noisy during the summer from the bars, due to where our apartment was we could only hear some noise on the balcony at night so was perfect. Also you get a discount at the waterpark by staying at this hotel which is great for small children and older ones, only a short walking distance away. Great location as only walking distance from lovely beach, lovely restraunts and shops for stocking up the fridge, also airport transfer was only 30mins which was great too. All round a fantastic holiday with everything you want on your doorstep without it being too overcrowded which was perfect. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel and book a higher up room, preferably on the fourth floor to limit noise distruption...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    108
    38
    8
    6
See reviews for
137
91
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just came back from a lovely holiday spent at Planos apartments and it was very clean throughout the whole building. Rooms were kept clean by the daily maid service and met our needs for the whole 2 weeks (Four stayed in our room). We didn’t bother cooking food at the apartment as it was just as cheap to buy snacks from the poolside snack bar, which served us decent food. We did try to go without air conditioning but it was too hot and ended up hiring it for the time we were there and it was bliss after being in the heat for the day. Its location was very good and near to a lot of bars and restaurants. We enjoyed a Greek night at Stamnes (set menu can be pricey), cocktails at The Red Apple, Fast food from the Golden Fish Bar (Staff very friendly) and an enjoyable meal at Drosia (next to the Asian Palace) this place is a must and you can either have free wine or 10% off your bill we chose the wine. We did eat in the Asian Palace for a chindian (serve Chinese and Indian food) but on the second occasion the food was not that nice and we were ill the next day. Our favourite Italian restaurant was Giorgio’s, the staff was friendly and food was very nice. We did walk up to Popeye’s, which took 10 minutes and was full when we got there so we stayed within a 5 minute walking distance. The beach by the apartment block wasn’t that appealing but if you are willing to walk 5 minutes you will get a better beach. We hired our sun beds from a snack bar called Bowl Over (just before Freddie’s snack bar) it is run by a Scottish woman and we enjoyed our time there. We went on some excursions offered by the rep, these were the Turtle Cruise (we did see 2 turtles and it was a nice day out), Simply Zante (which was an ok trip and we got to see more of the island) and St Nicholas beach (another great day out but don’t stay still in the sea too long as the fish will nip you, we all found out). My only regret was that I was not brave enough to hire a car out there and I would highly recommend that a car is essential if you want to see a lot more of the island as the public buses are unreliable and run when they want to.
On the downside we did hear dogs barking at night but it didn’t bother us that much, although the cockerels were annoying and seemed to crow all night and day. Sun beds were being reserved at ridiculous times (owners of the towels were not to be seen until the afternoon), but we never had a problem obtaining one at 11am and by 3pm it got too hot to stay down there (39 degrees in the shade). To sum it all up we had a fantastic holiday and are missing the place already!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

just returned from weeks hol in the planos apartments.it has a great position, 7 mins from beach, very clean apartments, ideal for families. that said, the hard mattresses spoilt our hols,didnt get one descent nights sleep, and if your apartment is anywhere near the ping pong table, the children are aloud to play while late, 12 o clock one night. and if you happen to get one near the smallholding, you have dogs barking and cockerels crowing night and morning.but dont let this put you off,if it had,nt been for the beds,would proberbly go again, great resort, lovely people. tom and florence.

Room Tip: one away from ping pong table, and smallholding, unless you like dogs and cockerels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We came back from here yesterday (2 ads/1 chd 12) we had a fab time weather hot in 2nd week in August. We booked this accommodation along time ago before looking at reviews on Trip advisor we were not disappointed the rooms are spacious very clean with regular linen/ towel change, bathroom new with plenty of hot water, beds comfy we had 4 singles we purchased the aircon 35 euros for a week 10 for the safe. For info we were on the ground floor in the block at the back in room 505 facing the pool, as mentioned towels are put on sunbeds to reserve them if you didn't you might not get one I was up at 7.30am and there must have been 20-30 beds already reserved!!. We used the on site snack bar once it was very cheap food ok drinks in plastic cups.
We used the water park once you do get a reduced rate 8e adults 6e kids this is cheaper than the after 2.30pm price and snack included. The water park is OK and the lazy river quite fun but we did not think it was for us so did not return (see my comment about AI later).
This hotel is in a great position with shops (Foodys), bars, restaurants nearby (check out Stamnes) but by the end of our week the walk into town or to the beach became a little tiresome
probably because of the heat.
so in all this is a great place for a self catering holiday cooking facilities a bit basic but loads of choice to eat out, a bit out of the way location wise but other than that a really good place to be.
********************************************************
When we arrived Monday 13th August our transfer coach took only 30 mins or so from airport to hotel with only 1 other drop off but when we got to this accommodation (the coach was nearly
full WE WERE THE ONLY FAMILY GOING TO PLANOS APART HOTEL -- 40 PEOPLE WERE STAYING IN THE ALL INCLUSIVE PLANOS BAY HOTEL says something about all inclusive hotels killing off the local trade in Greece please do not go to an all inclusive hotel you will get better food service in you local restaurant bar.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BournemouthBear64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Planos Apart Hotel and had a superb holiday. Having been to Tsilivi before I knew exactly what to expect from the resort and the accommodation I have to say was better than I was expecting. We stayed in room 102 which was ground floor with a pool view balcony. The pool was a good size with a kids area separate but we prefered the beach. I recommend Alexandra Beach which is about a 5 minute walk and you are charged €6 for 2 sunbeds and parasol but we spent most of the day there. There is a bar doing great food and Dennis the Menace will be along regularly selling his Fruit Salads! We even seen a wedding there one day. As with most Greek accommodation it was basic self catering facilities but very clean - The maid was really friendly and the room was cleaned and towels replaced every single day. We went to Tsilivi water park twice which is just through the sister hotel Planos Bay over the road and got a discount voucher from reception which was €22 euro entry for 2 adults and 1 child and the standard fee would have been €48! The Kaliva pub is great and the park there is great for young kids. Wifi is expensive in the hotel but there is a PC with a coin slot charging €2 for 15 mins. The Kaliva has free wifi as does the Red Apple bar opposite the hotel but the passwords change every day. We prefer self catering here as there are so many supermarkets and good restaurants and are so cheap! I wasnt sure what to expect as a result of the Greek ecenomic crisis but there was absolutely no sign of trouble here. Some good eating places are Il Gusto (Italian) Stamnes (Greek) Giorgios (Italian and Greek) and a great Fish & Chip restaurant round the corner which also does a Gyros kebab for €2. All in all a great holiday and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doctor_Buntles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

This may only be a 2 star hotel, but it has everything you could want for a self-catering holiday. The rooms are clean and well kept, and the shower was great. There were basic cooking facilities, but with so many restaurants in the area, you don't need to get yourself much more than breakfast. I did over-hear one lady say, that a couple of years ago, this hotel was a bit grotty but has since had a make-over. It's certainly done the trick. The air-con is an optional extra, but is a must in August. Plus the air-con is in one bedroom only and the other bedroom does remain quite warm - even though they are adjoining. The balcony is nice to sit out on, especially if you are above the ground floor. The TV has rubbish stations and reception, but that's not what you go on holiday for. There's no restaurant on-site, but it does do snacks throughout the day. The pool is of an adequate size, with a fenced off childrens' area at one end. Plenty of sunbeds around and most are in the sun all day. The parasols were made of a mesh material, which only reduces the sunlight not eliminate it. So getting completely out of the mid-day sun is a bit tricky. Here, like many hotels, you will find sunbeds with towels on and their owners are nowhere to be seen for hours on end. The hotel does nothing to stop this. It's quite a small hotel and never feels too busy. I did visit the two larger hotels next door and they just didn't seem to be as relaxing as there was just too much hustle and bustle. So this is definitely the better option.

It's location is good. Just a short walk to the beach down the hill. Or a short walk to the main road up the hill. And it's not a steep hill either. The main road has a lot of good restaurants, bars and supermarkets. So shop around to find your favourite. We liked Giorgio's restaurant - good value.

This hotel had a deal on with the local waterpark. Reduced entry price. I would recommend using this option. Don't pay full price as the waterpark isn't worth it.

One last thing. Do go on a boat trip. The sea is crystal clear and lovely and warm. We went turtle watching and had a great time. Buy locally to ensure the lowest prices.

All-in-all a very resonable place to spend your holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure you are off the ground floor, unless you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank svman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Came back from the Planos Apartments a week ago and have already booked to go back July 2013. Apartments were spacious and really clean. Good bathroom and views from the balcony. Constant hot water. Occassional noise but what do you really expect for a family hotel and in Greece where farm noises are the norm. Food by the pool was good although many brought drinks/food from their rooms without complaint. Pool area clean although we did experience one large family reserving beds at 12.30am in the morning so that they could always have the same ones that were in the sun all day even though beds were always available! Loved Tsilivi in general and the Planos Apts are well placed tobe quiet enough if you want it but a short walk in either direction will take you to everything you need, beach, bars, restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Use the supermarkets on the main strip as they are cheaper than those directly near to the apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
0.2 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#34 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tsilivi Admiral Hotel
0.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#6 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planos Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planos Apart Hotel

Property: Planos Apart Hotel
Address: Planos, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Planos Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing