We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic holiday apartment”
Review of Planos Apart Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tsilivi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Planos Apart Hotel
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good basic holiday apartment”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Me and my fiancee stayed here for 7 nights recently. The facilties in the hotel were fairly basic, but then again you would expect that from a low-cost holiday package. The receptionists were friendly and helpful. The room itself had a double bed and two singles but might be a bit cramped for a family or a bigger party. Would possibly have been better to have either bunk beds or a sofa bed instead of the singles to create a bit more room to relax. Our view wasn't great (the back of the neighbouring hotel) but again you get what you pay for. The kitchen facilities were good (even had a sandwich toaster), the bathroom was good (though the water went from cold to hot very quickly!), and the bed was comfortable. A TV was provided but apart from Sky News and BBC News, every channel was Greek, although we were out most nights so this wasn't a huge problem. The pool was small and sometimes on the cold side, but the sunbeds were good and there was no problem with anyone reserving them by putting down their towels. Wi-fi was free in reception and by the pool, though not in the rooms themselves. One big downside was the smell from the drains outside, but it didn't spoil our holiday too much. All in all, it was good value for money.

Room Tip: If possible, try not to book a room facing the neighbouring hotel (the Admiral), the noise from ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    109
    40
    9
    6
See reviews for
139
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

As my title states I would recommend the Planos Apart Hotel and I could not find anything to fault it if you are seeking a reasonably priced place to stay.
Upon arrival we were allocated a ground floor apartment with a pool view which we did not like because of the noise and we prefer higher up. We asked if they could move us and they couldn't until the next day but they were very accommodating about the request and we were moved to the first floor on an outward facing apartment.
The apartments are spotlessly clean, I am unsure how often the beds were changed but they were certainly made everyday and our towels were changed every other day.
The apartments are located in the Planos area of Tsilivi and it was around a 5 to 10 minute walk to the main area of Tsilivi, turn left out of the apartments and left again at the top of the road and you are almost at the main drag.
We spent most nights following eating out in the Kaliva Bar which is just down the road (turn right) from the apartments near the beach. You could sit out in the garden which was our preference to sitting inside a noisy bar.
As I was travelling with my teenage daughter wifi was a must and you could get this in reception as well as in most bars and restaurants. We also discovered this on the beach outside the Zante Maris Hotel which was unlocked so could use this all day if using their sunbeds.
My favourite spot during the day was the Abracatabra Bar this had a fabulous garden with free sunbeds and umbrellas and overlooked the beach with steps down if you fancied a swim in the sea (also had showers). You got to this by going through the Caravel Hotel (turn right outside Planos Apts), literally two minutes walk down the road.
We ate out every night my favourite I cannot find on Tripadvisor I think it was called Ellinon Pelagis and was opposite the Abracatabra bar. The homemade hummus to start was to die for followed by chicken and lamb on the spit. Second favourite was Micri Acropoli which we ate at twice its on the Tsilivi main road, lots of different choices and always very busy.
As usual in all med resorts the lucky, lucky men pester you to purchase their tat in all the bars, restaurants and even around the pool at the apartments. In addition to this on the beach and around the pool you get the Thai ladies offering you massages which is a nuisance but in both cases they are just trying to make a living and a polite no did the trick and they left you alone until next time.
Our favourite trip was Captain Spiros to Turtle Island it was more money (40 euros) but worth every penny. We also visited the Shipwreck beach which we booked with a tour company outside the Caravel Hotel (25 euros) this was also decent value for money and left at 11.30am against Captain Spiros trip there which left at 8.30am which was just too early for us. We also went on the Thompson trip to St Nicholas Beach at 20 euros which was good value on the face of it for a sunbed, umbrella, banana boat ride, a drink and lunch. I would however not advise anyone to do this trip as the food was inedible, it was unbearably hot as there was not a breath of wind and the coach journey was around 50 minutes.
All in all a great holiday so to anyone going here you have absolutely nothing to worry about in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank me881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Firstly,let me give you one major bit of advice,if you are considering a holiday here...
DO NOT GO ALL INCLUSIVE.
We didn't and it was the best decision ever.
Reason being is,if you had you would tend to spend most nights if not every night in the planos bay hotel....this is over the road from the planos bay apartments...they are seperate buildings...
In the all inclusive,the entertainment looked dire.One night was a quiz night,one night was a mr.planos bay..you get the idea...!
We popped in one night and it was very noisy,busy and would have stressed us out with our 2 young kids.
There are many restaurants and bars offering cracking value,you have choice and are not limited to one place.
The planos bay apartments were very clean.TV,hairdryer,fridge with freezer bit,2 hobs,kettle,toaster,shower.
Maid came every day and was great.Anything you asked for,eg extra towels you got.
You have to pay 35 euros a week for air conditioning,but worth it.So powerful,sometimes it was too cold,but you have a remote control to alter this.
Safety deposit box 10 euros a week,however saw and heard no eveidence of any crime or hassle.
There is a table tennis table,darts and book library for free.Plus tv in reception showed a lot of football eg man city pre-season.
Air hockey for a euro,only improvement is the pool table was 2 euros a game,whereby in a few bars it was free,so if they lowered it to a euro,they may get more custom.
The receptionists/managers were good.Pool bar staff,lad with long hair was friendly and popular,the woman behind the bar however has very poor customer service and tried to short change the mrs 10 euros on one occasion and my 8 year old son 1 euro on another.When queried she didnt argue and just gave us what she owed us.....less said the better...We never went the bar again when she was there..AVOID.
Bar snacks were decent value,burger and chips and salad,3 euros.

There are cockerels behind one set of apartments,we were in 516/517 and they were at it at various times...even 2am. Take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.Small price to pay.

The apartments are a bit neglected by the Thompson reps,saw them oce in 2 weeks,tended to have kids club over at planos bay hotel,however they are there if you need them.

The pool has a lot of inflatbles used for free,that guests have left behind,so use them to save money.Theres a small kids play area as well,very hot though like a sun trap.

If you go the welcome meeting,they will offer trips..DON'T GO.
There's loads of offers in town,the best one is with Nefitis travel,opposite the 2 brothers bar..we got a 5 hour turtle trip for 2 adults/2 kids for 61 euros...thompson wanted 38 each for adults alone!
This was cracking value,you swim in the ocean as well,visit a beach and the lady Jackie does a little pirate thing on the boat for the kids,she was really excellent.

The thing if you go in july/august is it's VERY hot...35-40c....

Dont bother taking any long pants,I never wore them once....

There's a crazy golf course with 3 courses.The bloke there didn't seem to have much customer skills about him,5 euros each,kids 5 euros,jurys out if it was worth it or not.

There is a waterpark,whereby you walk through the planos bay hotel.This is great value,as if you ask at planos bay apartments reception,they give you a 30% voucher.
You get whole day 10-6 and a snack each for 2 kids/2 adults for 36 euros.
If you go after 230pm,all people get 50% off but no snack,so its 28 euros,so go for full day.
It has something for everyone and the staff are good.

Restaurants.

Because we didn't want to walk a great deal,we only went as far as the one wine and roses opposite the crazy golf.Ratings as follows...cost for 6 adults and 2 kids(8+5),with wine+drinks.

Wine and roses.

Lovely staff .Food ok,kids got special attention,price was 104 euros,expensive in relation to others . 6.5/10

The Med

Went here 1st night,and 3 times in total.staff excellent,appreciated the custom,on average bill 90 euros,food very good,free watermelon,waiter showed kids a magic trick.. 8/10

Al Forno.

Italian over the road from the med...food good,service good,no complaints,bill 95 euros, 7/10

Stamnes.

Went here on a wednesday for a greek night.kids loved it,smashing place,10 minute congas,etc,food HUGE portions,if you like greek nights it's for you..bill 120 euros,with entertainment... 7.5/10

The Red Lion

This is a pub that does basic food.We went here twice,1st time ok,second time an absolute disgrace.Waited 10 minutes for the bill when there was only 8 other people in there.the owner was chatting to his mates,then on the phone whilst his 1 member of staff was trying to do everything.Also,it has a place area with 2 trampolines which sounds great..it's not,my son fell down the side of one and on closer inspection there was about 12 springs missing on one and 20 on the other! He scraped all his leg,so the 10 minute wait was the icing on the cake.I was so mad I never gave a tip,1st time ever for me...food is 5 euros a gyros,the drinks menu was priced wrong as well and therefore we paid 1 euro more per drink per cocktail.
I would go to the kaliva near the beach if you want a good play area,this is a place to AVOID.
2/10.

DISYNSOIS

I think this is its name,go down the road opposite the med its about 200 yards....
meal for 8 only 56 euros! food ok,not fab,but free wine as well...
for value 9/10...food 6.5/10(cant remember too much,bit drunk..)

EDEM.

Lovely bloke here,food excellent....try the beef stamnes for 8 euros.best meal I had by far...we went 3 times,all home cooked....BEST we had.
Average bill 86 euros... 9/10.

Finally,The bars are all of a muchness really...if you are a family,stay aware from molly malones,choice language...the 1 and only time we went in,the tout guy was holding up traffic so we could cross the road,dangerous and embarassing,he was an idiot....if you are single and young and like bar games it's for you.

HOWEVER,the one bar we loved,just over the road from your apartments,THE RED APPLE.
Spiros and Fortis were superb hosts..they show every football match on various tvs.It has a dartboard.
Also on a monday/thursday/saturday,chris on karaoke,between 10-1am is great fun.TIP...he gives out a book,however he can get most songs on his computer.
3 euros a pint,4 euros a cocktail...value bar...genuine people...deserves the custom.
Spiros loves football and Fortis is a lovely bloke.It may not look the best bar,but by a mile its the most welcoming and friendly.

Finally,we hired an 8 seater car for 90 euros,and visited the shipwreck view,zakinythos town,lagana and a lovely quiet beach.Worth the effort.

I am not one for holidays really,but would love to go back here in October if I could have afforded it.Lovely quietish,family orientated region of Zante.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Hi il give a review of both hotel n resort.. the hotel is cheap and cheerful quite big in comparison to brochere pics the pool is too small for the hotel as when there is 10 adults plus kids in theres hardly any room left....the rooms are basic 1 seperate bedroom and 1 bedroom in the kitchen....the beds il honestly say you may aswell sleep on the floor rock-hard and uncomfy...air con is charged at 5 euros a day....the staff are nice enough just about but the cleaning staff are great everyday your room is cleaned towels changed beds done cant fault them just wish other staff put more effort in....the guests are not predominatly brits but mostly russian the bar opens around 9am and shuts around 10-11pm not seen any on-site entertainment in 2weeks of being here the staff do not tolerate any noise after 12 and will knock at your door to tell you to be quiet....for a full english breakfast its 5.50 euros a small local lemonade is 1.50eu a vodka and coke its 5euros if you drink alot go to tge shop instead... the hotel is a 5 min walk to the resort... tsilivi is a bustling resort of people(russians..dutch..and others) walking around having a look at things but not spending money with the locals the bars are ok but never ever full just the odd brit family...a cocktail varies from 4-6 euros depending if you actually want alcohol in it or not a bottle of mythos is 3 euros...eating out for a family of 2adults n 2 kids it is generally around 45-50 euros including drinks my opinion giorgios was the worst food the amount of food wasted n sent back is unreal just looks good as its full every night....the asian feast is nice....further up resort is wine and roses cant fault at all perfect food u cant fault...the beach around the resort is long but small enough for 1 sunbed only they charge 6 euros for 2 beds.....cigs are around 35-40 euros a sleeve...golden virginia is 86 euro for 10x40g packs they dont do 50gs basic price all round if you can id recommend bringing your own spirits from home as the shop across the road from planos is a rip off n others not much better.... il be brutal n slate this shop for its blatent attempt to rip u off as its dearest in the resort....i did tell you...all in all i had a good holiday....would i return...no.....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in may with my partner 12year old son and 9month old daughter and we all enjoyed it that much we are going back for 2 weeks in September.
The location was fantastic as it didn't take long to get to the beach.
The room was cleaned everyday plus we had clean towels everyday as well.
I would deffo recommend

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Totti2863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Chav Heaven!

Cheap and cheerful, modern and clean, basic and small. Suitable for 2 people only, they have the same rooms throughout which are one bedroom self catering apartments. This comprises of 1 bathroom with either a corner shower or bath with shower over, wardrobes in the entrance/corridor area, a bedroom with twin (hard as a park bench) beds and a kitchenette... this is where the problem lies as if there are more than 2 of you there are beds in the kitchen! Air con is available at an extra charge, was 5 euro per day, but its only in the bedroom, so if someone has to sleep in the kitchen they don’t benefit. There’s also no natural light in any of the rooms other than the bedroom, which is very depressing. Our room overlooked the pool so no lie-in, kids are out from silly o’clock shouting and screaming in the pool. It’s chav heaven in this hotel/apartment as towels are out from 3am!!! Not enough sunbeds, I counted 40 at most and even saw one man stashing the things on his balcony and bringing them down in the morning just to guarantee a bed! The pool is far too small for the amount of residents. Good news is that you can use the facilities of neighbouring hotels, Admiral (full of Russian’s, Dutch and German’s) or Planos Bay which is a First Choice Hotel and has more UK residents staying.

The location is fantastic, 5 mins from the beach and plenty of restaurants, cafes, bars, shops right on the doorstep. Also an ATM cash machine no more than a 2 min stroll from the hotel door.

This hotel/apartment is what it is, cheap! Therefore it attracts those who are less well off... need I say more? Want a classy holiday then book elsewhere, want a cheap and cheerful deal and here will do 2 of you fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view away from the farm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsIshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just got back after a week at this resort with my girlfriend ... Firstly as mentioned by other reviewers this is standard Greek Self Catering accomodation. The rooms are basic but very clean. they are well looked after (maid service daily) Aircon works great but you pay for it. and all the facilities and Staff are good. It is a well run basic spot and you get what you pay for.
Location wise it's also very good,a 5 minute walk from the beach (if that) and about a 10 minute walk into the main drag of Tsilivi.
If you are eating out I'd recommend a small resturant called Mythos down by the beach the food there is fantastic and the head waiter Jannis is a fantastic character and was by far the best food and value we had whilst there...

My Only gripe would be that Planos although very family orientated around the pool the resort appears too have many people visiting from 1980's Yorkshire (not that theres anything wrong with either !!) ...... Towels are on sunbed's before 8am most morning yet most of the beds are free of the ghost towel owners till mid day or later... I always thought that was a german problem.. how wrong I was....

All in all a good place at a good price and the staff are very helpful... But if you want a couples break...without hyper active kid's going nulcear while the parent's shout after them all day..you might want somewhere a little more upmarket....still for the money its great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and not on the first floor...unless Carpark view's are you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark702087194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
0.2 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#34 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tsilivi Admiral Hotel
0.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#10 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#6 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planos Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planos Apart Hotel

Property: Planos Apart Hotel
Address: Planos, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Planos Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing