We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A barrel of laughs and a few fat frogs!”
Review of Altura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Altura Hotel
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Reviewed 2 July 2010

The Mavrikos hotel has to be the best Ive stayed in abroad in a very long time! Its everything you want it to be. Its clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly. Its very close to the shops, restaurants and bars without being to close that you are kept awake at night when you decide to come in. Its a short walk to the beach. The evening staff behind the hotel bar steve and keith are absolutely fantastic they made our holiday, they know how to keep you entertained and always laughing and are extremely friendly. We will miss them very much as well as our new found love for the cocktail called The Fat Frog. (A must try) Although the daytime staff didnt seem half as friendly therefore we didnt use the bar during the day. The food served by the bar during the day for a pool side snack is wonderful though!! (Lovely burgers!) We would definately return to this hotel again in the near future. Lucy xxx

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffypink6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

arrived at the hotel by taxi 18 euros not bad and only 20 minutes from airport. The hotel is situated in a quiet part of the resort which suited us, the hotel is really nice and the staff are very friendly and when they found out it was our honeymoon they gave us champagne which was really nice of them. We booked a studio I was expecting it to be very small which it wasn't we had a shower over the bath and a kitchen area but never used as plenty of very good restaurants near the hotel.

I would advise you not to have the bb rate/hotel breakie is not nice and the pool bar also does better breakfasts for about 6 euro's and if you go down the road a lot of cafes do breakfast from 3.50 euros to 8, we did eat out every night and found the prices ok but did expect them to be cheaper but i was told by a greek person that prices have risen because of the bad economy.

I dont think the pool had enough sunbeds, a lot of cheeky people put towels down on them even at 5.30am a bit sad, so we went to the beach everyday, there was a nice breeze and sundeds are only 6 euros for the day, the sea and sand is so nice and there are a few nice cafes and toilets right next to the beach.

there is a lot of nice trips, we went on the half day turtle trip and did see turtles also went on the full day cruise and saw dolphins which was amazing they swam with the boat for a while. chose the boat carefully as some tours are cheaper but they pack you in like sardines we didnt even get a seat on the delphines boat and had to sit on ropes so check the boat there is about 6 tour companies in tivilis and manfreds seemed the best also dont book with your holiday rep as we found monarch prices were a lot higher than the tour companies.

Oh and not forgetting the resort has two sides a lively side and a quiet side both are good i was quite surprised at how big the resort is and is very good for families and couples although young singles would prefer laganas which we visited and its mega lively big and loud.

would go back to the hotel as very clean and friendly and in a very good location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocoeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Arrived at hotel by taxi, 11 of us 3 taxis different prices? so check price when you get in we paid 18e ,20e and 23e.Hotel check in swift staff very helpful, english and greek, rooms typical hotel rooms with tv (PAY) aircon 30e plus another 20 deposit ,safe 15 or 20 plus 20 deposit .Rooms cleaned daily ,clean towels .
Breakfast 7.30-10am ,scrambled egg beans, tinned tomatoes, ham,cheese,yog, nutella.jam same every day on hot plates .,i would of liked to have the usual greek breakfast ,olives, cucumber.fresh toms, greek yog added to the selection but it was nt to bad ,bread lovely and fresh.
Pool ,No problems getting sunbeds ,pool open from 8am till 7, sun on pool all , front and back rows with shade (umberellas dont move). pool bar open from breakfast till 2am inside bar not open when we where there, food sold till 3, fairly good selection mainly english, good sized portions prices average for area . If youve not b&b go to gracies ,1st bar you come to out of hotel best english breakfast 5e for double everything (english saus and bacon) .
Prices: hotel beer mythos 3e pint or bottle same in most of resort, coke or fanta1.50 can
wkd/breezer 4.50 e vodka etc 4- 4.50 same in most place some happy hours which range from 50c- 1e off, cocktails 3.50 happy hours 4.50 usual. Food is of very good quality wherever you go, popeyes good for snacks ,bruscheta made with feta was gorgeous 4e. Greek meals, kleftiko, stifado etc range from 6.90-8.90.
Majestic restaurant do set meal 3 course for 11e .
Waterpark: theres a new waterpark 15-20min walk from hotel cost 14e put that included meal and drink there are sun loungers so you can spend the day there, closes at 5 .
Nightlife: a lot quieter than we thought, have been twice before in sept/oct 2 yrs ago and would say it was similar to then, a few places have closed down includind mcdonalds! i didnt miss it .Another tip spirits in the resort shops are more expensive than here smirnoff vod 13.95 a bottle . zante airport very expensive 5.50 for baguette 4.50 for power aid drink 2 e for small water. Also we travelled with viking to take off (zante) at 11.40 no gate number or delay message up even at 11.45, no information desks once your through, i had to ring home and get my daughter to check expected arrival time in manchester, it was 2 hrs delayed ! still noone announced it .Even on the flight no apology, anyone not used to flying would be very confused the screen still had our flight leaving at 11.40 ,now 13.20 any qustions while fresh in mind email me

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I read the revievs before i went and the hotel discription. the hotel was basic but had evrything that you needed. was cleaned very well and to a gud standard. let me say though entertainment as discribed it had none. unless u can count them putting on britains got talent on the tv. the town itself is quiet if u like quiet its great, my advice is hire a car as i never saw a bus whilst we were there. last time i went to zante i went to laganas which was alot more lively. and everything in greece as doubled in price just to eat out was really expensive.beaches where fantastic, but you do get sick of the sales people by the end of the wk. the snak bar was gr8 n we had chips the 1 day n i think we had a whole bag between us loads lol. anyway overall i would rate the hotel a 5 out of 10 as the entertainment let them down....... ps i would like to say if u have a nite flight dont hav the room for a exra nite there is no need as they hav a shower block under the hotel by the pool, and you can even plug in your hairdryer n straightners lol:) that was excelent, we were gonna hav a room which was gonna cost a extra 70 euros but they had non spare bt i was glad we didnt in the end. overall the staff where friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

My main advice if you are thinking of booking at the Mavrikos is book room only rather than bed and breakfast, as it is terrible. Horrible instant coffee, no pastries, no fresh fruit (only tinned sliced peaches!), small bits of bread to toast, watered down orange juice, congealled egg and beans......I could go on. We got a perfectly decent continental breakfast in town for less than 10 euros..

The actual room was small, but perfectly acceptable by Greek standards. The furniture was lacking - only one bedside table for example - and of poor quality, the drawers were stiff and extremely difficult to open, and there was a lack of storage space. The bathroom was fairly modern, the shower unit a bit plastic and water variable in temperature, but perfectable acceptable. The towels were changed and the beds remade every day.

There's an extra charge for airconditioning and the TV remote control - the safety deposit box was a reasonable 15 euros plus 20 euro refundable deposit.

As we spent most of our time on the beach and in town at nights I can't comment on the other hotel facilities, but the staff seemed generally extremely friendly and willing to help. Check-in/check out was really fast and efficient.

The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the beach, the infamous slope back to the hotel is fairly short and wouldn't present a problem for most able bodied people. On the beach two sunbeds and an umbrella cost 6 euros in total, very reasonable.

We found food and drink really good value in the town, a good 2 course meal with wine is available for under 40 euros.

We would go back to the resort but probably wouldn't use the same hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaseytheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

just returned from a weeks holiday from the moment we arrived everybody was very helpful the rooms were very nice and were cleaned every day + towels were changed daily the pool area was clean and the pool was very clean too a special thanks to jean who served us great food and was very nice and friendly, we will defintley see you again keep up the good work.
cheers linda and steve mccarthy

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lambrettamanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Having returned from a weeks stay at the Mavrikos,myself and my Husband had a really good time,the Hotel cannot be faulted at all,the minute you get there all the staff go out of their way for you,the maid service is exellent and they clean your room daily,giving you clean towels every day.Special mention to Jean,the food we had was exellent and she is so friendly and by the time you leave you feel like you've got a new friend,see you soon Jean,we will be back.
Laura And Nigel (the one with the burned arm!!)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauradavis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.5 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#22 of 51 in Tsilivi
926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pallas Hotel
Plaza Pallas Hotel
#16 of 51 in Tsilivi
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#24 of 51 in Tsilivi
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel
Filoxenia Hotel
#8 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,039 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anetis Hotel
Anetis Hotel
#29 of 51 in Tsilivi
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altura Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece (Formerly Hotel Mavrikos)
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range: £45 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altura Zakynthos offers 95 beautiful, comfortable and functional rooms, each of which has a balcony with views. The philosophy of the hotel is to achieve an impeccable level of hospitality: the more we are able to predict in order help realize your ideal holiday, the more fulfilled we become. In an effort to ensure friends and families aren’t separated, we also offer connected rooms. Life at Altura is brimming with happiness, surprises and unforgettable moments with loved ones and new friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Altura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavrikos Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing