We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phoenix Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have just got back from the most relaxing holiday ever. Hotel was fantastic, location brilliant, only 2 minute walk onto beach. We were in room 108 which although didn't have a pool or sea view was very large and spacious. It was actually a family room but with only 2 of us the room seemed enormous. We had free air conditioning and fridge as we went in July. The only problem we had was the cleaner had trouble closing our main door where we had no trouble at all! This meant our room was left open all day as we stayed out till evening on the beach. It was very hard to get a sunbed around the pool unless you got up at silly o'clock to put a towel on them. Sunbeds on beach were €6 per day for 2 Sunbeds and a table. We choose this option everyday. Breakfast was adequate and lots of choice. The food in the bar was lovely and very large portions - we shared a lot of meals. The staff couldn't do enough for you and we're very polite and friendly. It was a 5 minute walk to town which homes some amazing tavernas and restaurants. We headed to the garden bar every night for a few drinks before eating. Would recommend the Family and
Piero restaurants but our favourite was Sweet Revenge - the food was out of this world and the people and atmosphere were second to none. They held a Greek night on Thursday and had everyone up dancing. Best holiday yet and have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julieanneroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you want 5* luxury then don't book this hotel, but if you are looking for excellent service, location, value for money and the friendliest staff you won't be disappointed.

We stayed at the Phoenix Beach for a week and had an excellent time. The staff in the reception, bar and restaurant were, helpful and would always go out of their way to help.

We ate in the beach bar on 2 occasions where the food and service was very good. Breakfast was OK, the normal variety, continental and the Hotels version of a fry up, however always found something to eat.

Our days were spent on the beach & paid the 6€ for beds, which is the norm for any holiday resort, it was well worth it for the sea, cooling breeze and we didn't fancy getting up at 6.00 am each morning to reserve a bed by the pool.

The room (404) was comfortable and clean but could do with an upgrade especially the bath/shower. We had a sea view room, which was stunning we could see across the water to Kefalonia.

Would we go back to the Phoenix Beach - yes


Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We did not stay at the hotel so cannot comment on it.

We used the beach bar nearly every day. Very good prices and good choices on the menu.

Bar staff were excellent, service better than you sometimes get in England.

Big thank you to Miriam and Argo? ( sorry if I have your name wrong) for making us so welcome and making our stay enjoyable.

Miriam if you read this it is the couple who had 3 chicken souvlaki!!!

Would recommend anyone to give it a go, not only can you enjoy a relaxing drink right on the beach but you can also use the pool.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank c0rnishbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed for a week all very good location great, staff great, we did upgrade to a lovely room overlooking the pool and beach and the food was very good too. The hotel was in easy walking distance to the restaurants and shops 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayneandwackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but used the beach beds and beach bar most days.

Lunchtime snacks were very good and the service was very very friendly. They were very attentive and thou never had to wait long for someone to take you're order.

Cocktails in happy hour were really good too.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Crossie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Positives
Location is perfect, and the bar/bar staff are all excellent.

Negatives
Room was not as advertised.. We paid extra for a family room (for my daughter, daughter's friend and my mother-in-law) and paid extra for a seaview balcony room (for my wife and I) with Thomson.

On arrival the receptionist informed us that the hotel only had five family rooms and these were all pre-booked by Thomas Cook and not available to Thomson holiday bookings, not a great start.

The receptionist continued to tell us that they had put an extra bed in the seaview balcony room to make this a family room. Upon inspection the seaview balcony room was a small double room with an extra pull-out bed, Mmmm not what I had in mind when booking two weeks away with my wife, overlooking the sea i.e. mother-in-law or daughter sharing with us.

I informed the receptionist this was not acceptable and asked if a third bed could be added to the other room booking to make a 'family room'. This was done begrudgingly but was still not ideal as it was a standard double room, overlooking the road and not a family room as pictured and advertised by Thomson at the time of booking.

To compound the error the receptionist informed me this was a regular occurrence i.e. Thomson advertising rooms not available to them.

We took this up with Thomson's, they gave us a small compensatory amount, after several days of discussions, not something you really want to spend your holiday doing!

Something else's to consider when booking this hotel is that the doors to all bedrooms are metal with metal surround and the corridors to all rooms all have tiled floors. Subsequently every single noise echoes throughout the hotel which means that whenever anyone leaves or enters a room or walks down a corridor you cannot help but hear this when lying in bed, so don't expect too much rest or long lazy mornings.

The breakfasts are generally good, although sometimes the wait for food at lunchtimes is long with the food sometimes arriving lukewarm or cold (we returned an omelette and chips that were stone cold upon arrival at the table).

The hotel is listed as four star, I think the owners need to look a little closer at some of the finer details, for this really to be classified as a four star hotel, it's much closer to a UK 2-3 star hotel. The Albanian bar staff are excellent and extremely friendly (very Greek-like), however the reception/other staff are not particularly open and welcoming (very un-Greek).

BTW - Getting a connection to the hotel wi-fi from your room is a challenge!

That said we did enjoy our holiday, but it's hard not to when the sun is shining and we did eat mostly elsewhere and spend most of the days at the beach and not the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview balcony room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LongTallNickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Arrived 04/07/14
Nice friendly atmosphere, hotel not to big, all round cleanliness is very good. A big thank you to all the staff especially Julian and Ava.
Hotel is in a perfect position directly on a sandy beach and only a short walk to the many tavernas and bars.
Will definitely returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank nomad305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.4 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#23 of 51 in Tsilivi
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#22 of 51 in Tsilivi
920 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Beach Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tsilivi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
#15 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range: £58 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Phoenix Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Beach Hotel Tsilivi
Phoenix Beach Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing