We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing holiday!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Filoxenia Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Filoxenia is the best hotel we've ever stopped at. It was our first time in Greece & we'll definitely be going back, it was beautiful. The hotel staff made our holiday even more enjoyable! Luca was an awesome barman who never failed to make us laugh at the bar! We never saw him without a smile on his face & he was so friendly and helpful! Tasos was also lovely behind the bar & together they made each night special. The waiters, Gramos & George, made our meals even more enjoyable & Andreas is the BEST CHEF EVER!!
Thankyou for an amazing holiday (:

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObviouslyJemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Hello Jemma!

This is Katerina! I think its our fate to meet everywhere! call it facebook, twitter and now here! lol
Just to drop you a note to say a big thank you for adding your review on Filoxenia and our staff! It makes us feel wonderful to hear that our people made you feel so welcome! We hope we will have the chance to meet you again and have another great summer together with the gang of Filoxenia! Have warm and lovely winter :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    245
    76
    25
    12
See reviews for
298
371
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We have just returned from Tsilivi in greece and thought it was absolutely beautiful, our holiday was made all the more special by the hotel staff and surroundings at the filoxenia hotel. Luca was an absolutely brilliant host behind the bar who made our nights in the hotel that little more enjoyable, Dennis was always accomodating behind the bar and Sarah was a fantastic entertainments host so thank you all so much

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Hello Tamara K!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel. Just to drop you a note to say a big thank you on behalf of all the staff and family at Filoxenia. Your kind comments give us a great motivation to continue spreading our smile and enthusiasm. We hope we will have the chance to see you again in the future. Please accept or love and appreciation. Have a great time back home and most of all a very very warm winter! Love from all :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Hallo everybody! We are couple from Slovenia and we spent thisyear's holiday in Filoxenia (5th-19th september 2011). We were highly satisfied with all services and would like to give praise and thanks to entire Filoxenia team for making our holiday fantastic!

First we must say, that this was really great holiday for us, probably between top 5 ever. Hotel is very nice, rooms also, beds are huge :) Our room was in second building in ground floor - which was great for us - we didn't need any air-condition and we were just "one jump away from the pool". The rooms were very clean, the only small inconvenience were maybe the moscitues but it's not even worth mentioning (a few stains per day and the problem was solved) ... :)
In our oppinion the hotel is situated in perfect area - on one hand it is away from the croud and on the other, it takes just 10 minutes walk to the center of Tsilivi and 20 minutes to the beach (by the way - distance from the beach is listed in the hotel discription).

And finnally, the most important - Filoxenia team. We had never met hotel team like that before - all of you are just amazing! Very friendly, kind, nice and making every guest feel very welcome all the time. Therefore we would like to thank all together and each separately for making our holiday fantastic: chef Andreas (cooking great and being great to talk with, he would do/cook anything for his guests), Vivek (moving beetwen the tables like lightning, smiling all the time and making jokes), Gramos (working very hard and asking guests how do they feel and if it is everything ok), Angelika and Maria (very kind and nice girls and very hardworking too), barman Dennis (wonderful person, willing to give you tips about island exploration or anything else, great organizer and caraoke singer), Tasos (very good bartender and also very kind and polite) and our Lucky Luca (bartender with a big smile, hardworking, taking peacture of us, making jokes - he was also the first person we've met when we first came to Filoxenia and he accepted us with a big smile and then he eve carried my suitecase to our room).
Thank you all - we are very happy to meet you all and hope to see you again. And if we ever come to Zakhyntos again, we will certainly go to Filoxenia (and hope you all will be still there).

Love,
Nastja & Mladen, Slovenia

PS.
We've red the other reviews and we must say in our oppinion some of them are simply ridiculous ... About the distance to the beach, extra charging air-condition etc. - we think people should complaine to their tourist agencies, not to the hotel (our air-condition would be free, but we didn't have to use it, because our room was in the ground floor). About free bottles of water and free drinks after 11 p.m. - please, don't be ridiculous! About the food - we were there for 2 weeks and not once! the food was cold; it was also delitious and there were a lot of different choices every day.
And finally, about complains over the stuff - we were there for 2 weeks, we've met everybody in the restaurant and in the bar and we don't have a single complaine about anybody of them, they all were great!

Room Tip: Take a ground floor room, you won't need any ayr-con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mladen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Just got back from a week at filoxenia, what can I say. The hotel and staff was amazing, the entertainment could've been better not everyone wants to play bingo and quiz's! Food was nice if you liked trying different foods but not a wide variety the chef was brilliant if you wanted something else he would cook it and also did a fantastic BBQ. Housekeeping was poor in my standards, clean towels twice and bed sheets cleaned once also very dusty, I left chocolate on the floor the first day I arrived and it was still there the day I left, apart from that the was room was amazing with an amazing view! Would defiantly consider going back there. It was a brilliant holiday and have left with some fanstatic memories :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireMiddleton89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash, Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

we stayed here for a week on 22nd september 2011, and picked the hotel due to the majority of good reviews.
the hotel is very pleasant but certainly not a 4* hotel.
i can not believe we had to pay for air conditioning which cost 35 euros for the week and if we had known this i would not have booked., also once you leave your room all the electric goes off anyway so it is not as if you are leaving it on all day while you are out.
the rooms are cleaned daily but not to what i call a good standard. our room floor was never swept or mopped as there was the same dust and hair on it from the time we arrived to the time we left.
we even had to ask for toilet roll.
yes, the chef andreas had a great personality but the food it's self was not 4* standard by any means. the food area was like a school cafeteria and the food was mainly cold. the choice of puddings was fruit or ice cream which is bad for a 4* hotel.
a new menu needs to be introduced i think!!!
the bottled water should be free and you should have at least one bottle a day in your room.
as for the daily bar man, i have read previous reviews saying how lovely he was, well i found it hard to get a smile from him and he seemed upset if we interrupted his conversation with his friends at the bar!!!! however the evening bar men where lovely and polite and always smiling.
the entertainment was terrible, bingo and ideal couple!!!!! please!!!!!
overall the hotel was ok but does not live up to my usual 4* standard.
will not be returning...

Room Tip: rooms away from bar are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishtrish007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

This was our first visit to the Filoxenia Hotel in Tsilivi and to say it’s a good
hotel would not be true. It is a great hotel! There is almost nothing to complain about.
The staff are very polite and friendly, the rooms are fantastic and all have a great colour themes.
The restaurant is excellent with attentive staff. The food is good and endless supplies, you
can also request something to be cooked if you don’t fancy what’s on at a sitting.
There IS FREE Air Conditioning at certain times of the day and Free WiFi.
Two pools with ample sun beds. Plus wicker armchairs to relax in. Very well stocked bar (only
moan I have is the larger was not very nice and you could get a bottled Amstell but you had to pay for it) otherwise good. Shame the entertainment was a bit weak. Except the Greek night which had the best dancers I have ever seen.
Don’t listen to the few Moaning Minnies. These kind of people are never satisfied.
They want the Earth. All the other good reviews are justly written and by people who know
Greece better. We will certainty be returning. Great value for money.
Most of all the title of the nicest person you will ever meet goes to Andreas the chef.
He made everyone seem special and showed great affection. Plus being a very good chef.
Nothing was to much trouble. Andreas you are certainly a STAR. Thank you all for a very special week, we loved every minute.
Filoxenia! you should be proud of your hotel and staff. 10 out of 10. Keep it up.

Room Tip: Rooms might be quieter in the other block to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at the Filoxenia in September 2011. The rooms were very nice, bright and relaxing and the cleaning staff were excellent. The water system could do with looking at as all you could hear in the morning was people turning their taps on. Food was fine but a bit repetative at times. The transport to the beach was very good and with a very hospitable driver. Our only disappointment was the bar. Albeit that some people like to stay near the bar and drink all day and all night, we got ready had our evening meal and wanted to relax at the bar in the evening, but somehow this didn't always happen. There was one particular member of staff on the bar that was watching what people were drinking and if you had two drinks on the table was reluctant to serve you with more. Last orders was just a joke, one person one drink, what whoul happen if everyone got up and orderd one person one drink, the bar would be so deep they would still be there at 12 o'clock serving customers. I personally felt very uncomfortable. People have holidays to de-stress not to get stressed by things as trivial as this. I understand that the hotel has to draw the line somewhere but at least some of the staff could be more polite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
3.9 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#8 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#24 of 49 in Tsilivi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Property: Filoxenia Hotel
Address: Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald green grass. Topaz blue skies and big mountains. These are the jewels of Tsilivi Zakynthos that plan to spoil you from the moment you arrive in Filoxenia Hotel. The natural scenic beauty of the complex is juxtaposed by our traditional Greek hospitality; enchanting visitors who leave with the most favorable impressions and the certainty that they will keep in touch and vow to return. An exquisite and comfortable "Home away from home", a warm feeling of welcome in a quite and soft atmosphere, unique in Zakynthos. Newly refurbished in 2009 with its new modern minimal character and very spacious and unique accommodation, will certainly give you the comfort you expect from your holidays.The four star Filoxenia Hotel is only 4 km away from Zante town, ideally situated in one of the less busy and beautiful countryside in the island, within 20-30 minutes walking from Tsilivi beach and the busy resort center.Modern amenities, a sprinkling of umbrellas by the poolside, 2 swimming pools and a children's pool accentuate the natural beauty of our complex for the young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, LateRooms and Onthebeach so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing