We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Filoxenia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Just back from Filoxenia Hotel and have to say that the staff were fantastic. On arrival at the hotel we were taken to our rooms by the receptionist. The food was really nice and Andreas the chef always willing to cook whatever you want. There could have been more variety of puddings but what we had was very good. The rooms that we had were large, comfortable and spotlessly clean, the cleaning staff coming in every day. The pools and surrounding areas were also spotless. A huge thank you to the bar staff, especially the lovely Luca who kept us entertained the whole time we were there, we'll miss you Luca! The entertainment could have been better though Sarah did try to keep us occuppied when the storms came. The location of the hotel is a bit far from Tsilivi if you like the nightlife but its within walking distance (about 10 minute walk). Its perfect for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We would definately recommend this hotel and look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    251
    78
    26
    12
See reviews for
313
395
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I have just come back from a fantastic week away at Hotel Filoxenia. The staff were friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. The bar staff were brilliant, service with a smile. Luca we miss you! The food was just unbelievable, everything tasted so good it was difficult to know what to have, so we generally had a bit of everything. Andreas, you are a brilliant chef, shame you are so far away! Enjoyed watching the show cooking, I followed Andreas Moussaka recipe when i got home, the family really enjoyed it. Please send me your Chocolate cake recipe!!! The rooms were a good size, all different themes. Bathrooms were clean but could do with updating. Entertainment was okay, difficult when trying to accomodate different age groups but i enjoyed it. Greek night was brilliant. Only downside was its a 25 minute walk to the beach and any other shops, but the Hotel do run a minibus service. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: either 1st or 2nd floor. We had room 330 which had nice views over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 142LesleyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I've just returned from a lovley, relaxing week at the filoxenia hotel.All the reviews about how friendly the staff are and how fantastic the food is are all true. The rooms are large and very comfortable, although the shower in the bath took a bit of getting used to.The entertainment was low key and Sarah , the entertainment girl was very friendly and did her best to interest as many people as possible.If your up for clubbing each night this may not be the best place to go, but for anyone after a relaxing holiday, it's great.Andreas, the chief, was always on hand, making sure everyone was enjoying their food.He always had a huge smile on his face and I'd recommend watching his lasagne demonstation,it's very entertaining!!!If youre thinking of going to this hotel(be aware it is away from town) do so as we had a lovley time.

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor room, as ground floor ones don't get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraharwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Hello sandra!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for adding your kind comments on our staff. Your positive holiday memories is our motivation to continue spreading our smile from the heart to all of our guests. A special thanks for Andreas our chef, who really loves to entertain with his live cooking. Indeed Filoxenia is a place to relax as it is away from the main resort noise. I am glad you were able to find moment of relaxation in our complex. We hope we will have the chance to meet you again in the future at Filoxenia. On behalf of all the staff, we wish you have a great and warm winter back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Just got back from a week's holiday at this lovely hotel.The staff go out of there way to help you never have i been to an ai hotel where the chef (andreos ) would come out and cook you fried eggs on toast he goes out of his way to accommodate you he is very cheery like all the staff nothing was to much for them all you have to do is ask. There is alway some thing you can get to eat. Best room i've ever had cleaned every day. The beach is quite a walk away but there is a free bus also must say again only ai hotel i've been in where the internet is free i'm missing all the staff they are such a great bunch can't wait to go back good luck miss you's all Debra and Alan x

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Hello Debra and Alan!

Thank you so much for spending some of your valuable time to write your review on Filoxenia hotel. We feel honored when reading such kind comments about our staff. We thank you from the bottom of our heart. Our people is our most important asset and we are very proud to see them doing what they love and this is to share a big smile with all of you! Its nice to hear that you found our accommodation comfortable and i hope you liked your room wallpaper! We are all looking forward to see you again at the Filoxenia. Until we meet again, we send you our love to keep you company during the winter. Remember us and smile :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Spent 1 week at Filoxenia and can honestly say had a great time. Rooms were cleaned everyday, food was great (Andreos the chef was always cheery and accomodating to all), and all the staff were really friendly - Luca & Tassos who always kept us fully stocked on drinks - Luca especially with his singing and dancing, and restaurant staff George & Gramos always greeting us with a smile.
The fact that Air-con was extra we already knew about, so it wasn't an issue. Even though the beach was 30mins away, this didn't cause us a problem as the hotel has a free daily bus which will drop you off in the morning and then pick you up at a pre-determined time.
Although it's not slap bang next to the night-life, it's a great place to have a relaxing holiday

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Hello Sapna S!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel. Firstly, we would like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff. It makes all feel that what it takes is just a true smile and caring for other people. So simple things in life can make a big difference. We are very proud that our staff made you feel that way! We are happy your were able to find your spot of relaxation at Filoxenia and we are all looking forward to have you here again with us. On behalf of all the staff and family i wish you a safe and warm winter back home. Love and hugs from all :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Filoxenia is the best hotel we've ever stopped at. It was our first time in Greece & we'll definitely be going back, it was beautiful. The hotel staff made our holiday even more enjoyable! Luca was an awesome barman who never failed to make us laugh at the bar! We never saw him without a smile on his face & he was so friendly and helpful! Tasos was also lovely behind the bar & together they made each night special. The waiters, Gramos & George, made our meals even more enjoyable & Andreas is the BEST CHEF EVER!!
Thankyou for an amazing holiday (:

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObviouslyJemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Hello Jemma!

This is Katerina! I think its our fate to meet everywhere! call it facebook, twitter and now here! lol
Just to drop you a note to say a big thank you for adding your review on Filoxenia and our staff! It makes us feel wonderful to hear that our people made you feel so welcome! We hope we will have the chance to meet you again and have another great summer together with the gang of Filoxenia! Have warm and lovely winter :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We have just returned from Tsilivi in greece and thought it was absolutely beautiful, our holiday was made all the more special by the hotel staff and surroundings at the filoxenia hotel. Luca was an absolutely brilliant host behind the bar who made our nights in the hotel that little more enjoyable, Dennis was always accomodating behind the bar and Sarah was a fantastic entertainments host so thank you all so much

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Hello Tamara K!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel. Just to drop you a note to say a big thank you on behalf of all the staff and family at Filoxenia. Your kind comments give us a great motivation to continue spreading our smile and enthusiasm. We hope we will have the chance to see you again in the future. Please accept or love and appreciation. Have a great time back home and most of all a very very warm winter! Love from all :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
3.9 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 27 in Argassi
1,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#8 of 50 in Tsilivi
382 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 50 in Tsilivi
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 50 in Tsilivi
1,217 reviews
10.4 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
642 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 50 in Tsilivi
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Property: Filoxenia Hotel
Address: Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald green grass. Topaz blue skies and big mountains. These are the jewels of Tsilivi Zakynthos that plan to spoil you from the moment you arrive in Filoxenia Hotel. The natural scenic beauty of the complex is juxtaposed by our traditional Greek hospitality; enchanting visitors who leave with the most favorable impressions and the certainty that they will keep in touch and vow to return. An exquisite and comfortable "Home away from home", a warm feeling of welcome in a quite and soft atmosphere, unique in Zakynthos. Newly refurbished in 2009 with its new modern minimal character and very spacious and unique accommodation, will certainly give you the comfort you expect from your holidays.The four star Filoxenia Hotel is only 4 km away from Zante town, ideally situated in one of the less busy and beautiful countryside in the island, within 20-30 minutes walking from Tsilivi beach and the busy resort center.Modern amenities, a sprinkling of umbrellas by the poolside, 2 swimming pools and a children's pool accentuate the natural beauty of our complex for the young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing