We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, with a fantastic sevrcive!”
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Filoxenia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I am a girl on 17 and I traveled to this hotel with my family and some friends of my family. The first thing i noticed about this hotel, were the people working there. At the moment we came into the eatingroom, gentle and nice shefs and waiters were talking and saying hello like we were friends and had known each other for a long time. My family and I enjoyed this a lot, and it made us looking forward to every meal at the hotel. The shefs even made chicken nuggets for my 8 year old little brother every day for dinner, especially for him. Sercive! The bar staff were exellent, and I want to mention the flirty and funny bartender, Luca. He really did a fantastic job and made me and my family feel welcome and happy in his presence. As soon as someone entered his bar, he came welcomed them with a big friendly smile and sometimes a lovely hug. We got really impressed that he worked since we woke up in the morning and until we got to bed every day. We miss him a lot, since we got so used to see him every day. He was so sweet to everyone. Clearly one of our favorite people at the hotel! His smile made our trip complete! Something my family and I did not like so much, was the activities and entertainment. Victor worked there for one week during our stay, and he did a very good job and made every one feel included. This other activity guy just walked around sometimes and looked like one of the guests. We did not understand what he was doing there.. But we had a really nice stay, and we liked that the hotel was so friendly and small. Relaxing place to be!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

PLEASE IGNORE THE COMMENTS OF MIHAELA_FLO2008 and CLAUDIA V A CASE OF SCAREMONGERING WE FEEL!!!!

We stayed at the Filoxenia for two weeks from the end of June 2012. This was our first family holiday with our 7 month old baby so we were slightly apprehensive about what was ahead. From the very first moment when we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed with warm and friendly smiles. We specifically chose The Filoxenia for the extra kitchenette facilities that were available, the kitchenette with it's fridge freezer, microwave, stove, kettle, cupboard space and sink were invaluable especially when preparing milk and food for our baby.

We were shown to our room promptly and were even offered the opportunity to change the room if we weren't happy with it's location. The room was a fantastic size, the beds were a great size too. The hotel provided a cot within hours of our arrival. The air conditioning functioned efficiently.

From there on our experience at The Filoxenia was fantastic, the staff were friendly, always willing to go that extra mile if you required something a little different to the norm.

The dining room staff provided an efficient and very friendly service. Maria a waitress in the dining room was amazing. She treated our daughter as if she were her own, our daughter always had a smile for Maria. Maria was always happy to assist and made our holiday memorable, thank you for your warm, caring and attentive nature. Thank you Maria.

The Head Chef, Andreas was a superstar. On a daily basis he would go out of his way by providing a warm, welcoming and efficient service. He treated our daughter like a little angel and provided home made baby food throughout our stay with vegetables from his own garden. Nothing was too much trouble. The food produced by his staff was delicious. A good mix of foods on a daily basis, meat, fish, salad, pasta etc. Deserts were always varied and greek themed, yum yum to cake o clock! Anyone that has a bad word to say about the food are just being too fussy. If there wasn't certain foods available during meal times then Andreas would always accommodate any specific requests, such a warm, caring and very competent head chef. Thank you Andreas, our daughter misses your homemade food.

The reception staff were always available if required, there was always a warm welcome in the cool reception area.

The rooms were cleaned to a good standard on a daily basis. We were were very happy with the maid service.

The pool areas were clean and tidy, two pool areas with adequate sun lounges for everyone plus shade which was especially important for our baby girl.

The distance to town was really not a problem. A 15 minute walk into the town centre was really not a bad thing after our evening meals, so we welcomed the opportunity to walk into town. 8 euros for a horse and cart back which was a lovely way to travel back to the hotel.

We met some fantastic people from this hotel and have made some lovely new friends from the experience too. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel to everyone, families, couples, friends or even solo holiday makers would certainly gain something from staying at this not too big not too small hotel with a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

Lastly we would like to say thank you to all of the staff, they really made our first family holiday a very happy and memorable one. Thank you to all of the staff who showed great care and love towards our baby daughter, that kind of attention is priceless.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Hello Rachel!

Thank you so much for spending some of your valuable time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and thumbs up for taking a stand about us. Your support is priceless for us!
This is just a little note to say a big thank you for your kind comments about our hotel that seemed to be good enough to cover yours and your family’s needs but most of all i have to say a bigger thank you for your wonderful words about our lovely staff. Please accept our appreciation for this as it gives us more strength to keep on doing what we really love with enthusiasm. You are the reason for this.

It is brilliant to hear that your little daughter was treated like loyalty by Andreas and Maria. They both love children very much! Maria has a handsome young boy 4 years old and Adreas a beautiful princess 1 year old. We all hope that we will have the chance to have you back again us in the future.

Please know that our doors are always open for you, your family and your friends. Our staff is always waiting to give you a warm welcome back with a smile from the heart. Until we meet again, stay safe, smile and all the best for your young daughter! Sending love from all the staff and family at Filoxenia! xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My Mum and I stayed at the Filoxenia Hotel in early June. All the hotel staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I have to mention the chef who greeted us with a warm welcome and provided us with first class food daily. Luca in the restaraunt and bar worked hard to keep us entertained and Grammos, Maria and Dennis were very attentive in the dining room. The rooms were cleaned daily and we had all we needed for a fabulous break in the sun.I would highly recommend this hotel and Tsilivi and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Hello Nicki!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for sharing your holiday experience with the rest of us! We are very happy that you had a brilliant time with us and you got to know our staff better.

We all hope that we will have the chance to have you back again at the Filoxenia. Please know that our home is always open for you and our lovely staff is always waiting to give you a warm welcome back for a second round of sunny, happy, smiley, worry free holiday. Until we meet again, stay safe and always smile! Sending love from all the staff and family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

We went here end of June for 2 weeks. We went for our wedding/ honeymoon so spent time there as a couple and a family group. So got to see it from 2 points of view.
On arrival we were given welcome drinks and shown to our room. We had seen photos on here so were looking forward to seeing our room and was not disappointed by the two double beds, modern furniture, clean bathroom and even a kichette which was great for keeping drinks cool - theres even a little freezer in the fridge to freeze bottles of water to drink when u r away from the hotel.
My husband is a very fussy eater and all the food is Greek which pleased me as i love Greek food. But i thought he would hate it. I was wrong he tried it and loved it all... maybe a little too much because we ate loads. There are themed nights too such as itallian and bbqs. The chef was always at work (i mean always) and always with a smile on his face. We didnt ask him for alternative food but overheard others and nothing was a problem for him!
I never noticed any reheated/ repeated food as you often get with all inclusive places.
The snacks are good too- chicken wings, fish fingers, sandwiches etc.
The fruit juices did taste watered down but they got a new machine in the bar and the juice was very tasty.
ALL the staff are friendly and work hard (even those behind the scences)
As i said we came for our wedding and when they knew this we were moved to an even nicer room with two double beds and a single, extra aircon and a bottle of champagne!!
Plenty of sunbeds with pads on and the pools just what you need in the heat.
Hotel is approx 15-20 min walk to the town. Taxi cost €6 and bus €1.60.
The town is not too big and not too small. Also very friendly. Recommend paradise bar, theo rentals for a buggy or quad bike and specialoffers.gr for boat trip and tours in to the mountains.
The beach is very long. Mainly wet sad. Sea is so clean and warm was wonderful.
We found the hotel and resort got busier as we entered july. But this didnt affect the great service we were given.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Hello Kelly!

Thank you very much for spending some of your valuable time to add your review on Filoxenia. Your lovely comments on us and our resort in general are very useful and this will be a great help for all readers to get a taste before they decide to visit us. Thank y very much for sharing your holiday experience in that way. On behalf of all the staff and family ( and those behind the scenes) I would like to wish you all the best for your wedding once more. I am very happy that you felt comfortable with us to celebrate this special moments of yours with the people you love.

As for Andreas our chef, I would like to say a big thank you on behalf of him for giving such a great credit for his work. He really loves to take care of everyone. Well done Andreas once again ( I know you are reading that right now) and of course all the staff in house!

I hope that you got the chance to go around the mountains for a ride. Apart from the sea which is brilliant in Tsilivi, we do have some good mountainous views to enjoy, especially in the afternoon. Beautiful colors and hidden gems..

We all hope that we will have the chance to have you back again with us sometimes. Please know that our staff and family are always waiting to give you a warm welcome once again to our home and our beautiful island is ready to show its beauty. I am sure that there are a lot more to see in Zakynthos. Looking forward to have you all back. Until then, take care and always smile! Love from all the staff and family at Filoxenia! xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Had a great holiday the food was different everyday, the chef even cooked special food for husband who is on gluten free food, not many places would do that, nothing was too much trouble. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly, you cannot believe anybody who writes a bad review about this hotel we would come again and recommend it to anyone. We met up with some lovely people who made our holiday extra special, a big thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Hello Peter and Barbara!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel. We are so happy to see that you had a lovely holiday and that you managed to have something good to eat on an everyday basis, despite the gluten issue. It was a great pleasure for us to assist you the best way we can. We would like to say a big thank you from the heart for giving a special credit about our staff and their work. This is very important for us and it gives us a great motive to keep on working with love and enthusiasm.

We are all looking forward to see you back again sometime in the future. Please know that our home is always open to give you a warm welcome. Until we meet again, stay safe and smile! Sending love from all the staff and family! xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We went to this hotel 4 years ago and stayed board only. The hotel was nice and we had a lovely time. The hotel is a good walk from the town and beach, 1 mile or so, but we like walking so it was fine. There are busses from the hotel, taxis and the horse and carts that bring people back in the evenings. This year we stayed all inclusive in June and it was fantastic. We were initially allocated a ground floor room, which we asked to change as we didn't want to be overlooking the pool. The receptionist was very accomdating and moved us straight away. The room was great clean, large with two double beds, a single bed and a kitchen area with fridge, kettle, microwave, toaster etc. The food was definately the best we have had all inclusive. There wasn't a great choice but what was there was fresh, tasty and just lovely, we just did not see the point of eating out as the food was so good at the hotel. The chef couldn't do enough for the guests and worked very hard, even offering to cook something different for us if we didn't fancy what was on the menu or even if we were just bored with the food. Guests did ask for various things off the menu and he seemed more than happy to accomodate. Would deffinately go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Hello Paul!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review at Filoxenia hotel and for visiting our beautiful island once again. It makes us very happy to see that you had a wonderful time with us! We appreciate your wonderful comments on our hotel and most of all on our lovely people and especially Andreas our chef. He is a talented wonderful person always having a smile from the heart for our guests. We are so proud of him! Thank you for giving a special credit for his work.

We are all hoping that we will get the chance to see you back again in our home for a second round of awesome, worry free holidays. Please know that our staff and our family is waiting to give you a warm welcome in our home. Until we meet again, stay safe and have fun back at home! Love from all the staff and family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at filoxenia for a week at the end of June/start of July this year.

Initially we were unhappy with our room, however the staff were so wonderfully accommodating that they went out of their way to upgrade us to an apartment for the night immediately and the rest of the stay was problem free :)

I have never stayed somewhere with such lovely, wonderful staff. From the waiters to the bar staff to reception, everyone had a smile on their face every day of the week and would go out of their way to make your day! I fell ill during my stay and the receptionist actually offered to go into Zante town to pick up something to make me better- you wouldnt find that anywhere else!

Victor and Alan were hilarious, they were not only wonderful as entertainment staff, they became our good friends too.

The thing that really made this hotel stand out for me was the food and the most charming, accommodating chef I have ever met, of course i am talking about andreas! His food was delicious, I have read reviews about limited options and unfresh veg but that is all lies, everything was fresh and cooked to the highest standard. Andreas would jump at the chance of cooking anything you liked. My boyfriend asked if he could cook him some Greek food and the next night he did just that- it was so yummy!

The location is perfect. I have been to a lot of hotels and never before have I felt so welcome. We are a young couple and usually this is reflected in the service we recieve, however this was not the case at filoxenia! You get treated like royalty whether you're a couple, a family or a group!

Its such a shame that there have been negative reviews about this fantastic hotel, because it is the best hotel I have ever been to :) 5 stars to the filoxenia! We would come back anytime! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mir93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Hello Mir93!

Thank you so much for spending some of your valuable time to add your review on Filoxenia! It makes us really happy that we managed to keep you happy, leaving with the best memories back home. We appreciate so much for putting on some wonderful comments about our hotel and mostly for our staff. We are so proud of them all for always going out of their way to have everyone happy!

As for Andreas, what can i say! He is our shining star and a very wonderful person always having a smile from the heart for every single guest, plus he is spoiling everyone with his cooking, including me! Rock on Andreas if you are reading this..( I am sure you are).
Well, that was just a note to say a big thank you on behalf of all the staff and family at the Filoxenia. We hope that we will have the chance to have you again back here with us for a second round of happy, sunny, smiley, worry free holidays. Our home is always open for you to give you a warm welcome.. Sending love and hugs form all the team at Filoxenia! xxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
1 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
274 reviews
3.9 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#6 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#11 of 51 in Tsilivi
473 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tsilivi
#6 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range: £75 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Filoxenia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald green grass. Topaz blue skies and big mountains. These are the jewels of Tsilivi Zakynthos that plan to spoil you from the moment you arrive in Filoxenia Hotel. The natural scenic beauty of the complex is juxtaposed by our traditional Greek hospitality; enchanting visitors who leave with the most favorable impressions and the certainty that they will keep in touch and vow to return. An exquisite and comfortable "Home away from home", a warm feeling of welcome in a quite and soft atmosphere, unique in Zakynthos. Newly refurbished in 2009 with its new modern minimal character and very spacious and unique accommodation, will certainly give you the comfort you expect from your holidays.The four star Filoxenia Hotel is only 4 km away from Zante town, ideally situated in one of the less busy and beautiful countryside in the island, within 20-30 minutes walking from Tsilivi beach and the busy resort center.Modern amenities, a sprinkling of umbrellas by the poolside, 2 swimming pools and a children's pool accentuate the natural beauty of our complex for the young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing