We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornish Couple”
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Filoxenia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Filoxenia from 15 th-29th of June 2014, Lovely hotel good food & excellent service given by all the staff. A short walk from both the town and the beach & if you would like to go on tours, go for Nefis, especially the" back to the roots" & the evening" Zante" tours, Jacky & Jo have amazing amounts of knowledge of Greece

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hello Hilary!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday experience with the rest of us.

On behalf of all the staff and family in the hotel I would like to pass a big thank you for your kind comments on our people and our hotel facilities. You credit to means a lot to us and gives us a motive to keep on doing what we love with passion and enthusiasm.

We are very glad to know that you had the chance to see our beautiful island and we invite you once again for a return visit so you can explore the rest of its beauty.

Until we hopefully meet again at the Filoxenia, we wish you have a wonderful winter back home..xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
There are newer reviews for Filoxenia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Where do I start? Lets start off with the staff. They are wonderful, they cannot do enough for you. The hotel is so clean. The animation team, Oscar and Biannca are great. The bar staff, unbelievable! The room I had, 214, was very large, 2 queen size beds. A little on the hard side but I am splitting hairs there.
The location I thought was fantastic also. A 10 min walk takes you to the start of the town of Tsilivi and the beach. I never got bored of the walk but the hotel lays on a daily shuttle service by mini bus to the beach.
The food was excellent. As a vegetarian myself, I often dread All Inclusive as its usually salad and nothing else. Here there were multiple vegetarian dishes and they were all fantastic. If you want burgers and chips at every meal you may be a tad disappointed.
I will be returning in August 2015 for another 10 night stay and I cannot wait.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tmtch08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hello tmtch08!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

We are very happy to know that you had a brilliant time in our home and that our hotel succeeded on meeting you needs and standards.

Your mention in this matter mean a lot to us and we appreciate your kindness.
Most of all, we would like to say a big thank you for your kind feedback for our staff and for giving them your biggest credit on their work and character.

We are all looking forward to have you back again with us in next year for another great holiday under the sun!

Our staff will be here on the spot to greet you back with a smile. Until then, take care and always smile. Sending love from the Filoxenia family..xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Me and my friend have just returned from this hotel we had fab time staff so friendly lovely and welcoming they work so hard from the waiters 2 the bar staff the mini bus driver and reception staff and cleans... The rooms r big clean and gr8 decor we had the red room with dogs 224. Food lovely different every time drinks better than sum hotel we been in good choice.. Sunbeds where alway available at anytime also there was loads inflateable at the pool 2 use free. Never quede 4 drinks. We never stayed in hotel on nite so can't say what entertainment was like we like go in2 town which is amazing... Diana on reception was lovely so helpul thank u Diana.. We met some lovely people it's such a relaxing friendly hotel that wud do anything 2 help u and make ur holiday gr8.. We coming back next year thank use all for fab time

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paula b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hello Paula!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia and for choosing to share your memories with the rest of us here.

It makes us feel so great to know that you had such a wonderful time here with us and that our staff made you feel so welcome and comfortable.

On behalf of everyone in the hotel I would like to pass you our love and appreciation for your kind comments and for giving such a credit to our people. That means a lot to us.

It will be a great pleasure for us if we had the chance to see you back again so we can take care of you the best way we can.

Until we hopefully meet again in the near future, have a lovely winter back home and always take care of each other. Love from all..xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have just returned from this excellent hotel set in Tsilivi, Zakynthos (Zante).

A short transfer from the airport, registration was quick and we were soon in our large airy room. Two queens size beds in front of a large mural of shipwreck beach, air conditioned and furnished well. Also the room had a small kitchenette which we didn't use as we were all inclusive but helpful to those who do do b and b, although I didn't meet any such customer.

The hotel has two pools, one in each complex. Both were clean and well used. Around both pools were adequate sun beds, but would be better served by more parasols for shade.

The food in the restaurant was I'm my opinion superb and some of the best I have had abroad. Breakfast had the choices of cheeses, meats fruits etc and also the usual cooked choice, separate to the buffet was a chef cooking eggs to your choice and my, she cooked the best poached eggs I have had outside home.

Lunch and dinner had a good choice and in the evening the themed menu's were very enterprising.

I can't pick out one member of staff for extra praise as all of the were polite and competent, there smiles were uplifting.

I can honestly say there are no negatives about this hotel.

On a point away from the hotel, we booked a Jeep safari to see the island, we were promised air conditioned land rovers, well they were air conditioned if you opened the windows, but they used land rovers which were enclosed and uncomfortable with very limited views in the rear. I would suggest hiring a quad or a Jeep, the roads weren't busy!

If you visit this hotel you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for room 332 its away from the noise!! Although the noise wasn't bad!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello Chris!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us. It makes us feel very happy to know that you had such a great time in our home and that our hotel was up to your needs and standards.

Most of all, we would like to say a big thank you for your kind comments on our staff and for giving them such a praise on their work and character. That means a lot to us!

We are very sorry to hear about your Jeep Safari experience. We do hope that you did have the chance to see the good parts of Zakynthos as there are a few hidden treasures in this small island. Hopefully next time on a return visit you will have the chance to explore this beauty the way you wish.

It will be a great pleasure if we have the chance to see you back. Our staff will be right here on the spot to greet you back with a big smile.. Love from all the team at Filoxenia..xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here recently, staff were fantastic especially Arlent. We found it a bit far away from the town and the food, although good quality was a bit repetitive. However, we had a lovely week in the sun, the room was massive and we enjoyed ourselves. Would return to Zante but probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lmu262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello Imu262,

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for sharing your thoughts with the rest of us. On behalf of all the staff and family I would like to say a big thank you for your kind comments on our hotel and our people.

We are very sorry to hear that the location of our hotel did not meet your needs and we hope that you took the chance to try our mini bus service to the town of Tsilivi. It is good to know that our beautiful island succeeded on meeting your standards and even if you will not stay with us in the future we are happy to know that Zakynthos will have you as a guests again.

Kind regards from the filoxenia team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just got home. Had a nice holiday. Clean hotel, friendly staff, nice food. Entertainment very poor, one night a magician was performing if you can call it that, said very rude remarks in front of children and also a young boy had his earring stolen by this magician. Heard that one member of staff was sacked due to calling a guest fat because she didn't want to join in the water aerobics due to watching her young son swimmingin the pool. Didn't join in any entertainment after this. Drinks are very watered down but sandras bar along the road into town is very welcoming and serves named brands at good prices. This hotel is good if you want to relax and chill but not great for children who want to be involved in activities. Arlent who works the bar and inside the restaurant is very friendly to both adults and children always makes a huge effort to make sure your looked after.would not return to this hotel due to the lack of entertainment but would try somewhere else in greece.

Room Tip: Balconies have sun on either morning or afternoon. Try to get a room on the third floor they are mor...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank law123Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello Law!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your experience with us.

First of all, we would like to say thank you for your kind comments on our staff and for giving them your credit.

Please accept our frustration for the fact that our animation team did not manage to keep you happy like they do with the rest of our guests.

With regards to incidents that you are referring to I would like to assure you that our family and the staff have taken all the appropriate measure in this matter. In particular, we did have to let go one member of our animation team but the reason was not the one you mentioned.

Due to the fact that our first priority is to respect and care for your guests I am very sad to say that one person did no want to be a part of our team so we had no choice than to protect our guests and our hotel. As for the incident, with the ear rings of a young boy, I would like to assure you that it was a suspicion of one single guest that the magician had taken these ear rings and I would like to inform you that our staff and management took all the appropriate actions so as to resolve this incident.

We hope that these incidents were not the only experience you had while holidaying in our island and our hotel. We hope that enjoyed the beautiful weather, the pool, the sea and the Greek food and that you do have some good memories out from this holiday.

Thank you very much for taking the time to go through our response. Regards from all the team at Filoxenia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having just got back from this hotel i thought its best to write a review as this is why me and my partner chose this hotel in the first place ,,, firstly why the negative reviews from some? may be they expected the ritz or similar !,these people in these kind of country's do the utmost best to cater for us all and what a fabulous job they did here at filoxenia,,its faultless,from start to finish ,the holiday we went on made its self cause of the sheer brilliance of this hotel,from the cleaners to the driver of the shuttle bus to the people that deliver there,,there polite well mannered and very helpful to all,,the rooms are big and very well presented,,there cleaned daily ,as is the areas that surround the place,even the messiest beds are made up like mine was and it was done daily as well and with everything wiped in the rooms ,there's no issues at grabbing a beer /drink from the bar either,no pushing no nothing just a smiley face and your drink,the beer ISNT watered down either the spirits are house spirits and branded spirits are available for 4 euro if u ask along with red bull,,,the food ,well is cooked to perfection,,,proper chefs and presented in a proper way with a smile and a clean plate ,,there's something for everybody as well,even the fussy folk,the main strip is just a few minutes down the road where there's bars restaurants and shops and just off set there's a wicked sandy beach ,where a nice man from the hotel will take you in there clean shuttle bus and pick you up at a time you state,and if you dont fancy the beach grab you self a sun bed at the hotel there's many to have with no waiting and there not covered with towels from 3am either,folk respect folk there and go and grab sunbeds as n when they want em.perfect if you wake up late,and if and when you decide to enter the pool there clean and tidy and warm,,There's entertainment there if you wanna join in with a no pressure approach from the animation team,dont fancy that theres a pool table or free table football,,the hotel is not swimming is wasps or mosquitoes either,overall the hotel is well suited for families/couples etc,,its well worth a visit and although each year we like to try new places we'd certainly think about coming here again.amazing area with an amazing place with amazing people,Filoxenia in Tsilivi gets the big thumbs up from me,but don't take my advice go see for your self :)

Room Tip: big tip..... Just Go
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tim absolute F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello Tim!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia and for sharing your memories with the rest of us here. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time while holidaying with us and the our hotel was up to your standards and expectations. We are grateful for you kind feedback in this matter and the details you are providing to our prospect guests.

On behalf of all the staff and the family at Filoxenia I would like to pass you a huge thank you for your wonderful comments are for giving such a praise to our lovely staff on the way they took care of you. We are very proud to have guests like you in our home with such a positive aura. Your reward gives us the motive to keep on doing what we love with more passion.

It will be a pleasure for us to have you back again at the Filoxenia in the near future for another round of relaxing holidays under the sun. Our staff will be here once again to greet you back with a smile.

Until then, take care back home and always spread the smile around you! Love from all..xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
3.9 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,495 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#8 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#24 of 51 in Tsilivi
907 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range: £64 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald green grass. Topaz blue skies and big mountains. These are the jewels of Tsilivi Zakynthos that plan to spoil you from the moment you arrive in Filoxenia Hotel. The natural scenic beauty of the complex is juxtaposed by our traditional Greek hospitality; enchanting visitors who leave with the most favorable impressions and the certainty that they will keep in touch and vow to return. An exquisite and comfortable "Home away from home", a warm feeling of welcome in a quite and soft atmosphere, unique in Zakynthos. Newly refurbished in 2009 with its new modern minimal character and very spacious and unique accommodation, will certainly give you the comfort you expect from your holidays.The four star Filoxenia Hotel is only 4 km away from Zante town, ideally situated in one of the less busy and beautiful countryside in the island, within 20-30 minutes walking from Tsilivi beach and the busy resort center.Modern amenities, a sprinkling of umbrellas by the poolside, 2 swimming pools and a children's pool accentuate the natural beauty of our complex for the young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing