We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time in Zante”
Review of Petros Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Petros Hotel
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“first time in Zante”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here in May 2014

Welcome: We were made very welcome on arrival by staff. The lobby was nice, clean but did look a little dated. Free books to borrow.

Room: The room was adequately furnished, clean with a lovely balcony looking over the hills. Bathroom also nice, but did take me a while to come to terms with not being allowed to flush toilet paper down to loo! yep you have to put in the bin next to the toilet which is removed each day. There was no smell and you do get used to it, and it the same all over Greece. The beds are as hard as nails, we had to use extra quilts to lie on, which is the only compliant i have about the hotel.

Breakfast: we went B+B, the food was nice but not much choice compared to what you get used to on fully inclusive holidays. That said there is cereals, yogurt, toast, and cakes which is more choice that I have at home.

Tsilivi: There are more restaurants than we could eat in, and we eat in a different one for lunch or dinner. All are very good and excellent value, I would like to mention Tom and Johns for a club sandwich, and the Chinese/Greek restaurant. One of the best Chinese meals I've ever had. You can't go wrong with where you eat though and they are more than willing to make/change anything. Also some of the best pizza around anywhere. There are plenty of tourist shops, where you can get copied perfume for 3 Euros if you shop around but be careful of the copied watches as mine stopped when I got home.
The beach is okay and the water is beautiful and clear, you can use free sun beds if you buy drinks from the local restaurants or they cost about 5 Euros a day each.

Drinks: Branded soft drinks are quite expensive, about 2 Euros a can of pop. Sweets as well, but we were so stuffed from our meals we didn't bother
.
Zante: We caught the bus into Zante for 1.50Euros which is so much cheaper than a taxi and quick and cheap too. It worth a visit just to look in the local shops, but it only covers one main road which is quite long. The promenade is lovely to sit and have a drink on and a bite to eat.

We had 30 Euros each per day for lunch/dinner/drinks and anything we fancied buying and only managed to spend it one day when we bought Ouzo for home. Overall a lovely place to visit, good food, great weather, lovely people. would go back anytime..........

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be as good as each other form what I could tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    129
    59
    19
    11
See reviews for
70
187
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a weeks holiday staying at the Petros Hotel and we had a wonderful time! Sandra and Julie are a credit to the hotel, their customer service is excellent and they made us feel so welcome. The hotel is basic but provided everything we needed for our stay. We paid 13 euros for a safety deposit box in our room which was worth it for the safe keeping of passports, mobiles etc. The room was serviced every day and the room was clean. We only had breakfast once in the hotel and it was a little disappointing - some fresh fruit may have been nice but we only ate bread which was very hard before toasting! We decided not to rush down for breakfast which is served between 7.30 and 9.30 a.m and instead we had a toasty from Julie at the pool bar everyday around 11 which was really nice! Julie gave us lots of local information and recommended a tour called Back to the Roots which cost 32 euros each and was brilliant! It is a full day 8.30a.m pick up and got back at 5pm. It was a group of 18 on a small minibus which was comfortable and air-conditioned. We visited some of the old villages, meeting locals, visiting a market and a small olive mill museum and having lunch whilst listening to our tour guide Jackie sing traditional greek songs. Jackie was brilliant - telling stories and giving information all day. You also get to see Shipwreck Bay/Beach from a viewing platform which gets you some great photos. Definately worth booking this tour! Hotel Petros is quiet with only a short walk to the local restaurants etc which we did every evening. We didn't have a bad meal by picking restaurants that looked busy! The weather was fantastic and we enjoyed days by the pool at the hotel - there are plenty of sunbeds but the pool was very cold so we were only brave enough to go in once! The walk to the beach was about 20 mins, for us the beach was nice to see but as we live in Cornwall England we are always close to the beach so we preferred being by the pool away from the coastal breeze! The cocktail bar Mambo's is great as are the staff who are extremely friendly. Gregory is great to chat to and makes yummy cocktails! Happy hour is 7.30-10.30pm where there are a large range of cocktails available for 3.5 euros each plus free shots! Def worth a visit - we became regulars! We had gone to Zante for our friends wedding and the groom and his son came to our hotel to get ready, Sandra was great in organising extra towels for our room so they could shower etc before the wedding. All in all the hotel may be basic but the staff excel in making their guests feel welcome and comfortable - like home from home. I would definitely recommend Hotel Petros as a quiet, comfortable base for exploring the area. Thank you to Sandra and Julie plus the rest of the team for helping us to have a great holiday!!

Room Tip: We were in room 256 which was at the back of the hotel overlooking countryside rather than the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

So friendly nothing is too much trouble for the staff we have stayed at Petros fourteen times and each time it's like going to a second home , rooms are clean breakfast is ample or you can have English breakfast at the pool bar,.set in a quieter part of Tsilivi Petros is is just a short stroll into the village where ther are plenty of places to eat .
Petros has a super pool and soft sunbeds and you can be sure of a very warm welcome, we have just spent a week at the Petros and will be back for 2 weeks in September.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have had had we have been satisfied with after all you don't spend too much tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fergie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The distance from hotel to beach is stated as 600 metre but took over half an hour! Brilliant resort, fantastic beach and plenty of traditional Greek restaurants.
Hotel very noisy, main road position with walls like paper, can even hear other people using the loo! Very little sleep.
Night receptionist was very helpful and moved us to the rear of the hotel on arrival, where we had relative peace and a wonderful view of the Park hotel nextdoors pool.
Showers in need of repair, little or no hot water, although shower rooms clean and functional.
Beds are like sleeping on planks, no mattress protectors! Question whether bed covers are laundered after each visitor, smelt very musty.
Towel and bedding change once every 3 days, needed to ask on day 4 :-( Bedding and towels seen their day, have they ever been white??
Breakfast, well in reading other comments from last year you would think the 4 slice taster (used to service over 30 rooms) would have been repaired well no! Only 2 slices at a time. Very poor nutrition, no fruit and poor quality meats, limited cereals. Full English at Sandra's bar 4 Euro, brilliant well worth the strole.
Overall, a decent pool with plenty sunbeds and a well stocked bar. 2 cleaning staff working very long days trying to service the whole hotel as well as provide breakfast. Would we go again, yes to the resort NEVER this hotel!
Staff need to stop writing positive reviews in their customer comments book (check the handwriting)
Take care while booking with Thomas Cook, we booked and paid for 7 nights but due to night flights in reality only got 6 and had to change rooms and pay a supplement for the last night of 25 euro. Moved to G107 for our last night, stay away from this room! No window in bathroom so room very damp and no balcony (obviously been used by smokers) very smelly.
Pet hate: additional charges, why on earth would Petros charge for the use of a fridge that remained locked (if you didn't pay the 12 euros) even through connected to the electricity supply and constantly cooling, Irritating and noisy.
So be aware if its cheap there's a reason. Although as teachers we paid full price during half term week.

Room Tip: Top floor, gets hot water first and can't hear other peoples ablusions. Side of building very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dunromin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Filthy beds,no mattress protectors,linen is awful,towels are disgusting,rooms are not cleaned properly at all eg. dirty tissues beside the wardrobe on our arrival were still there when we checked out 5days later.Bathrooms are gross! Water leaking everwhere possibly from the toilet. Staff at reception are extremely helpful with directions and very friendly as are bar staff.You will pay extra for normal inclusions such as a safety box key.Breakfast is adequate but don't get excited about food from the bar as you won't necessarily get what you ordered.Fantastic restaurants close by.Australians would be disgusted by the lack of hygeine but must emphasise that the Staff who speak English are very friendly. Would we stay again? No way! Poor backpacker standard not 4 1/2 stars as advertised.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RRetiredCentralCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed a week in May with my partner. I agree with the reviews that Sandra & Angela at the reception are exceptionally friendly, thank you girls. We didn't pay much for our package so we expected basic room which it was, however the cleanness of the room was the biggest disappointment. The bathroom needed a good clean and was never cleaned during our stay. The shower curtain didn't do its job and the bathroom was flooded every time we used the shower. We didn't need to use the air con or fridge, but the fridge wasn't clean inside either, there was a dead mosquito in it. The beds were hard, but it didn't affect my sleep at all, but my partner couldn't sleep well. Breakfast was nothing special. Pool area really lovely and lots of sunbeds. The hotel is 10 mins walk to the town, really pleasant especially if you had a lovely Greek meal - the portions are very big everywhere! We strongly recommend restaurant Ideal! The beach is 20 mins walk, we recommend the Boutique Beach Bar, very new and pleasant and the owner Dionisios and his staff will make sure your day is lovely. All in all we had lovely holidays but we wouldn't use this hotel next time. Enjoy Zante!

Helpful?
2 Thank Violet M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Our weeklong stay at petros made our holiday! the location of the hotel is ideal, only a 10 minute walk to the center of the village and the beach but far enough away so escape the noise. The rooms were spacious ans cleaned daily. The room balconies offer a fantastic view as do the poolside sun lounges. The pool it's self was a little chilly so early in the season but was clean and had a brilliant shallow section for kids. the breakfasts at the hotel had a wide range of Greek foods along with some English input. In conclusion, fab food, good pool, lovely staff and a room with a view! We will defiantly be returning

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
1.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Callinica Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#26 of 51 in Tsilivi
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#34 of 51 in Tsilivi
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#11 of 51 in Tsilivi
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petros Hotel

Property: Petros Hotel
Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Petros Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Petros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petros Hotel Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing