We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ariadne Hotel Apartments
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We read all the reviews of the hotel before going and were slightly apprehensive about what we were going to find, however on arrival we were delighted. The room was spacious and clean with adequate facilities (including a microwave) for preparing basic meals if required. All the rooms overlook the pool area, which is small but again spotlessly clean, with views across to Kefalonia and the Greek mainland. The pool area is well stocked with free sunbeds and never feels overcrowded even when everyone is round the pool. The hotel is a family run business and they couldn't have been nicer. I fell over and cut my knee whilst out on a trip and Helen insisted on giving me something to put on it which helped it heal up nicely. The food from the pool bar was freshly cooked and tasty and we found it a nice end to the evening to sit at the bar after having dinner in the town chatting to Pamela. The hill up to the hotel is quite steep but is in a zig zag so it does level off for a bit half way up. The resort of Tsilivi is fairly busy but basically aimed at families and we found that at either end of the resort it was much quieter and the bars and restaurants were better. A real find was the Old Vineyard another family run place. The food was extremely good and not at all expensive. We have never returned to a resort before but would certainly visit the Ariadne again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londonmungbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2009

Me and my partner stayed at the Ariadne Apartments for the first time in June 2009 for two weeks. We had an absolutely fantastic time, and are keen to return next year. Many of the couples and familys staying at the Ariadne were people who had stayed there before, one couple having stayed there for 5 years in a row.

The room we were in was spacious, clean and had great views. You can see mainland Greece and Kefalonia from the hotel. The maids always did an amazing job of cleaning our room every single day, and we had clean towels and bed sheets every other day. The pool was always kept clean as well, and had a lovely jacuzzi on the side. The pool bar provides a nice range of snacks, drinks and meals including toasted sandwhiches, burgers, salads, pizzas and mousaka. The staff at the Ariadne were kind, and very helpful.

Air con and the safe did not come in with the price, so people had to pay more for these, however we didn't actually need air con, as our room was shady so was kept cool all day.

Before we went on holiday, we read previous reviews on this website of the Ariadne, most of which mentioned the hill which the hotel is perched on. The hotel is indeed on a hill, but we found that the walk to town and back was fine, but could be a problem for certain people such as those with pushchairs or people with walking difficulties. I would also suggest to avoid walking up the hill in the heat of the day.

However, in our eyes the walk is well worth it due to the position of the hotel. The views are absolutely fabulous. Also, there are plenty of places which hire out cars, quad bikes, beach buggys etc. which make easy work of the hill!

Tsilivi is a really lovely resort. There are plenty of places to go and have a nice meal, lots of lively bars and a handful of nightclubs. If you are visiting Tsilivi I can recommend Giorgios for an absolutely beautiful meal, as well a great service. For the best cocktails go to Level Bar, and if you want to dance the night away, you must visit Jokers!

Tsilivi beach is really nice, although it is quite narrow there are plenty of sunbeds and the beach is lined with tavernas and bars which provide plenty of refreshments. There are watersports available on one end of the beach which include jet skis, paragliding and pedalos to name a few.

There is lots to do on the island of Zante. We would recommend a cruise around the island, as you get to see the famous shipwreck and spot turtles too. We also went to the Waterpark which was great fun. If you are looking for a more lively night, you can get a taxi to Laganas where the whole street is lined with clubs and bars.

We had such a brilliant time in Zante, and much of it is owed to our fabulous stay at the Ariadne Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lil_Miss_Sunshine_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Myself and my partner stayed here during June this year and we also found the hotel not to be as what we had expected it to be.

The staff were quite rude as explained previously and often looked quite miserable.
The rooms were to a greek standard, but on a detailed inspection they were actually quite grubby and were never cleaned thoroughly, Our bed linen was only ever changed two times in a fortnight and our towels were changed around 4-5 times in that fortnight.

The hill can be a pain especially if you have walking problems i would not recommend it.

Air conditioning and safety deposit boxes were on the expensive side also. Coming out at over 200 euros for both, but they were needed.

Due to the location being right out of the way, it was not uncommon to be awoken at a stupid time in the morning by the local dogs or cockrels if you had your mossie shutters closed but the other doors open.

I had previously read reviews on these apartments from this website, and did read the not so good reviews along with the good reviews and now wish we had booked in a different hotel, Our experience was not all that enjoyable with this place.

Read into the good and the bad with this place, for the price you pay you can book with much better accomodation.

Me and my wife will not return to this place again however Tsilivi is a fantastic resort and the people there outside of the hotel are lovely,friendly, fantastic people!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Grecianjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

This was our 4th consecutive visit to the hotel.
1st time was just me and my (pregnant) partner.
2nd stay was with partner and 8 month old daughter.
3rd stay was with partner, 23 month old daughter and 3 month son.
This year's stay was with partner/wife, 16 year old daughter, 32 month old daughter and 13 month old son.
We like this hotel so much and feel so welcome here we have broken our stance on never returning to the same resport - we even got married at the hotel this year.

If you think this review could be in any way fake then think again - we couldn't afford to run the risk with our 'developing' family.

I've always found that discussing any issues with the owners have been resolved quickly - they have to be given the opportunity to do so, there's no point in 'bottling' your grievances up then posting complaints from thousands of miles away!

The reception is never manned - it's not bad manners, just economic sense!
It's a small family-run hotel and the owners have to run the bar and cook snacks all day.
They always run to reception when the transfer coach arrives to welcome each and every guest.
It's so quiet here that you can hear the coaches arrive - I guess it's a little harder to hear a taxi arrive. However, they have a cctv camera in reception that allows them to spot 'silent' arrivals from the Pool Bar.

By the way, I understand why there aren't any plugs provided for the baths - if a half-full bath is drained in one 'go' there is a distinct possibility that the drain will fill too quickly and cause a mini-flood in the bathroom.
This is just a 'feature' of continental plumbing (like putting your toilet paper in bin instead of the bowl!).
The owners provided me a plug when I requested one and after bathing my 2 nippers I 'pulled the plug' and got a mini flood (well, the bathmat was wet through!). From that point on I 'regulated' the flow to prevent the flood.

I don't know if we'll return next year - we'd need a 2 Bedroom Apartment and they only have 2-3 available - they'll probably get snapped up before we can make the financial commitment.

If money was no object I'd book again tomorrow!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieBtheFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

First time i had been to Zante and i think that these apartments are great, my dad has been to the same apartments 4th year running now, and to be honest i don't think that he would have gone back three times and then decided to have his wedding at the hotel if it was as bad as the 'Never Again' writer which is quite dramatic and ridiculous. There are 3 or 4 people working at the hotel, 1 cooking most of the time, another behind the bar and another fixing thigs, mowing the lawn etc. They all work very hard and they deserve a medal, not horrible reviews. Towels and bedding are changed every couple of days, not 2 or 3 times in the 2 weeks. They don't give you a plug as when a lot of water is let out of the bath at once, the pipes will be too full, maybe ask for a plug? We asked for one and we got one straight away.

Maybe staff got on well with people who stayed round the pool and bar because they had chance to get to know them?

I was staying at the hotel the same time as the 'Never Again' writer, and they seemed like they kept themselves to themselves and didn't really interact or socialise with anyone..

I feel it's a very well run family business and I'd recommend it . So don't listen to the stupid reviews and compare them to how many good ones there are :) I had a great holiday and i plan to go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ella93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We have just returned from 2 weeks holiday at the Ariadne and thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it

The hotel is fantastic, very clean spacious rooms, which are light and airy. The hotel isn't overly big with approx 20 rooms, this means that there are never any problems getting a sun bed

This is a family run hotel and we found everyone to be most welcoming and very helpful, we never had a plug for our bath and just asked for one and one was supplied immediately.

Food and cocktails at the bar were delicious and I would recommend a MSO but can't tell you what it stands for!!

We travelled with 2 young children and the whole holiday felt safe and relaxed

I would highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mijooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Stayed for 2 weeks in June. We found Tsivili suited us well, plenty of excellent restaurants & bars to suite all tastes. We liked Dionisos, The Olive Tree & for a change the Italian Romeo & Juliet ( the chefs are from Sicily ). There are some good walks through olive groves which take you inland & then down to the beach at the western end of the bays.
We were very pleased with Ariadne apartments. They are quite new, in a great location, we ( in our 50s ) did not find the hill a problem as it is really just a long slope !! We come from Sheffield where there are real hills ! The site is kept very clean, our bin was emptied, & beds made every day. The towels were changed every 3 days & even the shower curtain was changed twice during our stay.
We kept ourselves to ourselves but when we did speak to the owners they were always pleasant. The cleaners don't speak English & so tend not to say anything other than ' allo' !
We will return to Tsivili & stay at the Ariadne again....... RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markandjanetsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.2 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#10 of 51 in Tsilivi
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#25 of 51 in Tsilivi
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#23 of 51 in Tsilivi
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariadne Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariadne Hotel Apartments

Address: Planos 30, Tsilivi, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tsilivi
#5 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range: £34 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariadne Hotel is a family-owned hotel open since May 2004. The Ariadne complex combines a central location along with a beautiful setting, with it's elevated position providing stunning views. The high quality accommodation is well-tended, meaning you can relax and enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ariadne Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariadne Hotel Tsilivi
Ariadne Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing