We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mickskem”
Review of Zante Maris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zante Maris Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
skem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“mickskem”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

stayed with my wife here, 9th till 16th september. first time anywhere in zante, we went with an open mind. we have been to many 4 star hotels. in our opinion, it was agreat hotel. i will tell you why. the air conditioning was free. the safety deposit box was only ten euros. it was right on the beach. the pubs etc were only 5 mins walk outside the hotel. ther was a grass area that bordered the sand and the bed were free there, if you went onto the sand they were 3 euros each. the food was good. we were half board and you could choose if you wanted lunch or dinner. i felt the people that went all inc were a bit cheated because i was paying 3 euros for a 500ml bottle of amstel and they still had to pay 1 euro for same drink. i was talking to guests who were all inc and they paid £250pppw.more than us. other all inc guests were complaining about the standard of drinks they were getting. i was drinking jim beam whiskey, only 3 euros for a generous measure. all inc people were drinking crap. go here go HB. great bars etc outside.

Room Tip: we were just above the main reception and before daylight the binmen made an awfull noise. chose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mickSkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    355
    119
    23
    4
See reviews for
389
552
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This hotel is amazing and i cannot write a bad thing about it. On arrival at the hotel the checking in process was very quick and staff friendly. The hotel room was very large with plenty of wardrobe space for 3 people. We had a sea view room with a large balcony complete with table and chairs.
The bathroom was Ok with a shower in the bath. The hotel itself was very clean and the food was amazing. There was always plenty of choice even for me and im vegetarian. The themed nights in the beach restaurant were very good especially the Italian night.
There are loads of sun beds and even some next to the beach on the grassed area which are handy for the pool and sea. The sunbeds on the beach cost 6 euros per day for 2 beds and umbrella. The entertainment in the evening is a bit hit and miss but we find that where ever we stay. There is a large selection of all inclusive drinks and they even do kid cocktails. The hotel provide a free taxi to the local Water park which is really good. It is really cheap and you even get free lunch when you are there. We didn't have to queue for the rides so a lot better then the larger water parks. The staff at the hotel are all friendly especially Georgia in the restaurant. I will go back to this hotel because i have found my forever hotel - there is nothing i would change about it and cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are quieter because evening entertainment is around the pool so pool view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sangria999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

but to be honest all rooms are very good, you dont need to take towels as you can hire them for 10euros each but you will get them back end of your holiday, i wish to thank all the staff for all there help and hard work the drink and food was lovely could not fault any thing about the hotel at all.this was our 5th holiday at this hotel, and we will be back again. we spent 10 wonderfull days at this hotel

Room Tip: all room are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bridget r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

home after two weeks at the zante maris hotel, home of relaxation,and friendly people staff could not do enough for you good choice of food,hotel kept clean and tidy all the time even after two days of tropical storms had a great time

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurice o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Spent first two weeks of September at Zante Maris having chosen it on the strength of really positive reviews. On arrival we were allocated a sea front room so had a lovely view (i had e mailed to ask if we could pay to upgrade to a superior seafront room as we were celebrating our anniversary and hubbies birthday).These were all full but i was impressed that they had been able to give us a seafront room on the ground floor. Reception staff were welcoming and helpful.
The rooms themselves are clean but quite dated and more like a 3 star. They do give a few little shower gel/shampoo bottles and a soap which were nothing special and bathrobes/slippers, however i would have preferred not to pay extra for the room safe than have these as the robes were small and a bit tatty.
They were kind enough to leave us a bottle of wine in the room and they helped out when hubby wanted to order flowers to come to the room for our anniversary.
We were disappointed with the food. Very repetative, mostly lukewarm. I had expected much more fresh fish and i have never been to a 4 star that did not have an egg/omelette/fresh pasta cooking station . We tried each of the speciality evenings at the beach bar but decided to stick to the buffet for the second week. We always found something to eat that was pleasant but that was it, just ok.It was the first time i have had a banoffee pie with no banana !! and it would have been nice to have a milkshake now and then. It is these sort of things which seperate a good 3 star from a 4. We tried the snack bar but found only the chips edible. The toasted sandwiches did not have a filling that you could even see and the fish fingers were grey !!. I had expected great things of chef George from what i had read on here but everytime we saw him he was just shuffling around or hacking a joint about and despite a few efforts at conversation he just came over to us as a grumpy old sod.
The rest of the staff were what made this hotel, always smiling, nothing too much trouble. Every single one of them would be a credit to any 5 star hotel anywhere in the world. I won,t single anyone out as they were all fantastic . The location of the hotel is brilliant,right on the beach and the sunbeds on the beach are really good value. They are run by Nick the greek who is a brilliant character who had us laughing every day with his banter.
Tsilivi itself is full of restaurants/bars and a few shops full of the usual tat.
We had a really lovely meal at the Balcony for sunset. We had planned on going out for more meals but were ripped off with a meal that was rubbish in Zante town which put us off and we just stuck to the hotel after this.
Captain Spiros made our holiday, did both his trips ( had lovely fresh local fish at a little taverna. ) and they were worth every penny as he is a brilliant captain.
Zante by night with Nefis, only 8 euro each was also really good, u visit a vineyard/olive oil factory and then time in Zante town.
I really wanted to love this hotel and of course i know that Greece is struggling. It was our first time to Greece and perhaps my expectations were too high but the truth is we are lucky enough to always stay 4 or 5 star and compared to other places this hotel was just not on a par. We did enjoy ourselves though but not enough to make it somewhere we would go again. With a few alterations this could be much better hotel as they already have the best staff and location.

THOMSON EXPERIENCE !!!! WHAT AN EXPERIENCE
Unfortunately on the last night a storm came,we had very little sleep as the rain came in the room. The Thomson rep waved us off at 10am to the airport knowing full well that all planes were delayed. We spent the day at the airport ,refused any refreshments from Thomson as after 8 hrs they told us they were taking us to a hotel with an evening meal that turned out to be nothing more than slops. We were all treated like trash by Thomson ,( not one of the reps at the airport knew anything about anything !!! and they all told a different story about what was going on.) At 8pm we were taken to a twenty,s hotel where we got no sleep thanks to drunk/fighting/foul mouthed yobs.It was terrifying, my husband is 69 and we were afraid that our door was the next they would try to kick down. Then we were up for a 5.30 am pick up that turned out to be 3 hours later. We have travelled with Thomson for 14 years , noone could help the weather but they should show their paying customer just a little respect. When we have been delayed before we have been kept at the hotel we were staying in and taken to the airport when the plane was certain to arrive. In this economic climate i should have thought you would want good customer feedback but perhaps Thomson Tui is just to big to care anymore, we shall be sure to think very hard before we choose to travel with them again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lincswolfie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Just returned from the zante maris, myself and my wife spent two lovely weeks enjoying the hospitality of this hotel. The staff, from the management to the room maids were brilliant nothing was to much trouble, not that we had any. The hotel was kept clean and tidy and the rooms were big and airy with plenty of space for everything. The restaurant was really clean and tidy and the food was pretty good too, always hot with a reasonable choice. The theme nights held in the beach bar were a nice change, barricue, mexican, italian and greek nights, again good food and well worth a visit. The resort its self has plenty of tavernas and bars all within strolling distance, it is not loud or roudy its nice and friendly with the waters asking you if you would like to try their menus, but no hassle, a polite no and its have a nice evening and maybe tomorrow.
The beach is really good and only two steps from the hotel, the sea is really shallow and warm with easy access and a sandy bottom, nice and safe even if you are a non swimmer.
The bar servise is good with nice staff, the drinks are not bad ether.
The entertainment was better than average for a holiday hotel aswell,
Over all we had a fantastic stay and would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone, we will be going back again for sure. Try it you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpfbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Spent the last two weeks of august at the Zante Maris....we too booked because of the fab reviews. The positive things about the hotel were, it's location, our room was a ten second walk from the beach. The staff were really friendly. The rooms were comfy and kept fresh and clean by the really hard working maids. Now, for the not so good....the most disappointing thing had to be the food. It was pretty grim, after the first few days the smells from the restaurant actually made me want to walk out again....and we love our food! Don't consider ourselves to be fussy at all, but was really bland. Funny meat, in strange sauces, horrible salads, old George, who's been made to seem like he's a top chef, is just seen occasionally carving a dodgy joint of pork! The wine was vile! So drank the odd vodka, which guests helped themselves to....I actually prefer being served a drink, often saw lots of ants around the bottles at the beach bar, which helped me drink less! The entertainment started too late, i think, and was so loud. Our room was quite a long way away from the action, but the sound boomed into our room until 12 o clock every night and with a four year oll, thats not ideal. The resort itself was nice and lively, good to be able to stroll around the town. Shame to see the restaurants so quiet, am sure the food would have been a vast improvement on George's! Has, I'm afraid to say, put us off of ever going all inclusive again. Hate to moan, we spent a nice few quid on this holiday, and really had high hopes....we did still have a lovely time, but wanted to give an honest and straight forward review.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
0.1 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#23 of 49 in Tsilivi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Zante Maris Suites
Zante Maris Suites
#17 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
6.0 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#8 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zante Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Maris Hotel

Property: Zante Maris Hotel
Address: Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zante Maris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zante Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zante Maris
Zante Maris Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing