We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for your money if you want a great holiday”
Review of Zante Maris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zante Maris Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best value for your money if you want a great holiday”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We had a fantastic holiday here. We spent 7 relaxing half board days here in middle of June. The weather was really good and the sea was blue and so clear. :)
Our room had a fabulous view and was large, comfortable and clean. They changed the towels everyday. All the staff were lovely, friendly and efficient, this is a well run hotel. We tried to gave some tips for the stuff, but they never accepted it. o.O
The food was more than enough. We could choose a lot of different food from the buffet style dinner. :))
I really recommend this place, if you want a great relaxing holiday in Zakhyntos. :))

Room Tip: choose pool view room, away from the restaurant :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Balage85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    381
    128
    23
    5
See reviews for
417
588
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

August 2012 all inclusive. Fantastic place, great food, great staff. On the beach with a beach bar so you can slope off have drink or snack chill and watch the world go by. Then return to sun lounger or the sea or pool! Whatever the choice this place is heaven. See you all 2013 can't wait.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Macktheknife1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

First time at this hotel and also to Zante. Hotel was so clean and well maintained. Food was plentiful and always something to choose from, waiting staff worked very hard and constantly kept your drinks topped up.

Pool area was great, plenty of loungers and nobody seemed to be reserving them and not showing up....a personal bug bear of mine. Although the weather was hot the pool could be rather cold and the indoor (heated) pool was freezing!

Rooms were kept very clean, water replenished daily, couldn't complain at all. We had a pool and sea view room, overlooking the entertainment/main bar area so it could be slightly noisy.

Cute cats and kittens living in the hotel grounds, lots of people feeding them but they didn't bother you.

We went into the nearby shops most nights for a coffee and a cake at the local bakery...highly recommended and great place to sit and watch the world go by. Sadly the bars were all a bit tacky and mostly empty, from what we could see. Seemingly all the bars catering for the English with either X Factor or Football on the TV and serving full English breakfasts, not really our thing on holiday, you can get that at home! We ate at a fantastic Greek restaurant called The Olive Tree- highly recommended, food was the best we ever tasted and the service and surroundings were relaxed and friendly.

One downside with the hotel was the entertainment. It was all geared up for people of a certain age, with bingo, quiz night, cheesy singers. Greek dancers were a treat though. The main problem was that the entertainment didn't start until late (9:30-10pm) and went on until midnight, if you wanted an early night then there was no chance!

Overall a great weeks holiday, lovely hotel, great staff and amazing weather will definitely go back in a few years.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northlad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We returned on 23rd October from this brilliant hotel. The weather was very good, only our first day saw a little rain and after that it was sun all the way. The hotel is right on the beach and the grassed area gives the best of both worlds, near the sea, the pool and of course the bar!

As it was so late in the season the hotel was probably only half full which suited us - easy to get sunbeds, sit where you like, no queues for anything! We found the food good, it is a small hotel and even when full couldn't be expected to offer the range of choice that a few people felt they should have, maybe those people should just stick to the very large hotels? We enjoyed everything on offer!!!

Our room had a fabulous sea view and was large, clean and comfortable. Towels were changed everyday. All the staff were lovely, friendly and efficient, this is a well run hotel. It is only a short walk into the main part of Tsilivi which would be quite lively during the season, things were quiet in October but enough for us.

As we celebrated a special birthday while we were there, we went to the Shipwreck and Blue Caves with Lefis Travel. Jackie, the owner, was with the group all day and is very knowledgable about Zante and it's history, all in all an excellent trip.

We were lucky enough to meet some really good company and so enjoyed our days and evenings greatly. What a lovely holiday we've had... we will go back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woolacombelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Just returned from Zante Maris, spent 12 days all inclusive from mid Oct there. Rooms - quite large & cleaned daily(clean sheets, towels,tea, coffee, milk & 2 bottles of water) but shower over the bath flooded the floor so had to use towels to mop it up. We paid extra for pool view but not really worth it. It was end of season so pool area mostly deserted - people went to sunbeds on grassy area by beach to prevent paying 6euros for sunbeds on the beach. Pool bar was shut down half way through our stay - even more reason to go to beach area. The food was, in our opinion, pretty poor overall. Yes, there was always something that you could choose to your liking but frequently it was obvious the food was using up "leftovers" from the previous meal. Deserts particularly were very boring. Again, end of season and making use of what was left.
Entertainment was Ok most of the time but you had to wait until 10pm for it to start, when you had probably finished your meal by 8.30pm. With so few guests in the hotel why not start it earlier? - or was it so you would pay for your drinks after 11pm? Disappointing that with 3 days of rain and thunderstorms no entertainment staff to help fill the day time, except one trip to bowling alley that only a few people knew about.
The trips can be bought through Thomson rep at the hotel, but there are plenty of other companies around to choose from. As it was end of season, many trips weren't available and although you could do one to see the turtles, in fact they've gone this late in the year! Some trip organisers were honest and told you - but others didn't. We did trip around island with "special offers.com" at the top of the road - enjoyable and informative day. Local shops and restaurants closing every day and the bus service became non-existent so had to use taxis to get to other towns like Zante - about 10 euros each way.
Greek people are lovely- the staff everyone mentions Georgia, Bella, Kristos etc etc- so cheerful and as helpful as they can be.
In comparison with other 4* hotels in Greece, we don't think this one deserves more than 3stars as they have no actual entertainment staff and rely heavily on good weather.

Room Tip: Most entertainment is outside the restaurant so rooms near there are noisy until it has finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murray65minted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Spent 11 relaxing days here with friends. The hotel couldn't have been better situated; on the sandy beach and steps away from the lovely clear sea.
Our room was large and clean, overlooking the side street, with partial sea view. I think the pool view rooms could have been noisy in the season. We could have had our pick of sun loungers but, of course, we visited towards the end of the season.
One of the best cooked breakfasts I have ever eaten abroad; literally English bacon, sausages and baked beans. Lunch and dinner were fine too; always found something to our liking. The only criticism, was that the soup was never really hot (don't think other countries like it as hot as in UK) . May be a good idea to have a microwave on hand.
All of the staff were very friendly and efficient. Georgia greeted us with her smiling face in the restaurant & was always on hand for our lunchtime drink, plus Bella with her drinks trolley in the evening. Pool bar excellent for drinks & snacks ...... never been to a hotel where snack food is cooked fresh to order; yummy omelettes!
Would definitely visit again but would probably go a few weeks earlier as the weather was a little bit changeable on the last few days and hotels, shops and bars were closing by the day.
The only black spot on the hotel was that they wanted 30 euros per room to keep the room on for a few extra hours on our last day, even though no one was going into our rooms! We expected to pay something but thought they could have compromised; surely something is better than nothing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyBoothroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

just back 16/10/2012 after two lazy weeks,rooms nice size, bedding changed daily, rooms cleaned daily,bathroom ok bath on small side overhead shower in bath.food good choice variety each day,staff great in hotel all very friendly and nothing a problem,entertainment ok first week but near end of season not v/good second.beach great sea warm shallow for a good way out nice and clear.coming to end of season so places closing, restaraunts open but quiet if you like a peaceful holiday.would definetly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank racker1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.6 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Caravel Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#25 of 51 in Tsilivi
880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zante Maris Suites
Zante Maris Suites
#14 of 51 in Tsilivi
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zante Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Maris Hotel

Property: Zante Maris Hotel
Address: Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zante Maris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zante Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zante Maris
Zante Maris Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing