We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea ”
Review of Zante Maris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zante Maris Hotel
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea ”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is a review of both hotel and holiday.

Star rating is just of hotel. I've thought long and hard about this review and what to put.

Went 6th June to 20th June. All inclusive.

*flight was fine, on time, no dramas on the way. The return was delayed as some idiot was hammered so held up plane whilst paramedics dealt with him. Zante airport is poor. Huge cues, felt dirty. Toilets on par with festival toilets.
*Weather was brilliant. Only 2 half days of rain, a couple cloudy bits hear and there.
*transfer was ok. If your a nervous passenger getting on a bus in zante is a no no, or a taxi, or moped. Greeks can't drive.
*hotel room was a good size, fantastic view straight onto beach, bed was ok, cleanliness could of been better though, bathroom always felt grubby, patches of mould, drain full of gunk, toiletries not stocked up, robe and blanket taken but not returned, staff said they had returned but hadn't, stupid argument.
*hotel food was a mix. Some days great, some days ok, always something to eat and never went hungry but it's all Inc so to be expected.
*drinks had to be watered down. No way can I drink a bottle and a half of tequila and live to tell the tale.
*shipwreck cove was ok, It's a container ship on a beach that's all rusted. If you expect anymore than that you'll be disappointed. There is some beautiful scenery to and from though.
*Sun loungers were crammed too close together.
*smoke is everywhere. If you suffer with asthma you may struggle
*hotel staff. We start to go a little off here. Most staff were friendly and helpful. Some weren't great and a couple were lucky to escape with there lives. Some were rude, maybe didn't understand English much, weren't happy I don't know. It was a weird mix. They definitely need to improve staff training from management down to the floor. Yelling at staff in front of customers isn't acceptable, staff complaining to customers about management isn't great either. Staff being rude to customers isn't acceptable.
*WILDLIFE! If you love animals you might struggle. Lots of strays, some in ok looking Nick, others not soo much. Lots of tiny (4-12 week old) kittens, same goes for puppies. In fact we're in the process of adopting a 4-5 week old pup who was left in a box on the beach. You CANNOT escape the strays. They were everywhere, even if you don't go looking for them they'll find you. They're not like wild dogs, they're like pets that have had a home and been thrown out. Add to this, staff members telling you about puppies being drowned in paint, shot for fun, poisoned by the government, and worse.
We also witnessed a staff member strangling a kitten. He said he wasn't and that he loved cats but I've never seen someone hold a cat with both hands round it's throat, legs hanging limp in a loving way. Also overheard another staff member say "no don't kill it". It was bizarre but ultimately I believe my eyes over someone else's pleas of innocence. Add to that the other witness who saw and heard the exact same thing.
Even more so when so called animal loving staff say they've been told by management to get rid of certain dogs/cats and then being unable to answer me when I ask "what do you mean by get rid of?".

If smoke being blown over you constantly, poor treatment of animals doesn't bother you, your not to fussy with your food and don't require much from your holiday. Just a bit of Sun is your idea you might like it.

If not I'd save up a little more money and go elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank KBeacham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    364
    121
    23
    4
See reviews for
398
570
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Horrendous !
We ve. Stayed here for a week but really disappointed with quality and service for money paid
1. Food - same every day- morning, lunch an dinner - after 3 days we had to go and eat outside real food. The chef cooked very very bad and the restaurant supervisor wasn't what she tried hardly to be: funny
2. Entertainment = 0; a very tired entertainer, who was more clearing tables or checking room numbers for different nationalities food themed nights - another fiasco
3. Drinks - vvvv poor quality;
4. Customer service non existent : Zoe front of house manager has no customer service at all, probably is counting the days till retirement, the young receptionist are following her non customer experience by speaking in Greek in front of guests
5 had to pay for chairs and umbrella on the beach
All in all - don't go to this hotel; you can easily find cheaper accommodation in the area and the food in the town is excellent

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank coponte123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A clean and friendly hotel but the food service times in the Ambrosia Restaurant were very short. Dinner finished at 9.00 which for us is too early. The food selection was ok but nothing special but the service area was kept very clean. We spent two nights at the beach bar, one for the Barbie and one for the Mexican night, both started at 7.30 and finished at 9.00, the bar was then closed so you had to go to the main and very packed bar area outside the restaurant to get a drink. Our room was cleaned daily but it had a very musty smell so we had to keep the door open most of the time. Towels down at the crack of dawn around the pool, it also had a very small grassed area near the beach but you were packed in like sardines. If you wanted to go on the beach just outside the hotel you had to pay 6 euros a day for two beds and an umbrella which we did to get some space. We went to this hotel because it had a fitness room, but the main weight machine was very old and broken so we couldn't use it. The town is as you would expect, bars and small shops. A very crowded beach although you could walk along for miles. Hattie our rep was very cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: I hope you don't get a room looking out to the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moores77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just back from a 10 night stay at the Zante Maris. Found the hotel to be perfectly situated. Tsilivi is a nice area for all ages with bars and restaurants and less than 30 minute transfer from the airport. The hotel staff are very friendly and Driton, the entertainer, works tirelessly. The evening entertainment (when we had stayed in) was very good. The rooms are comfy (best beds we have ever had!) and adequate, but bathrooms could do with a revamp. Good to have a kettle and fridge in the room. Air con was free from 15th June, which was very much needed due to the lovely weather. Food is fine, plenty of choice - little disappointed that there was no speciality cooking e.g. food prepared in front of you that we have always experienced in a 4*. My main problem was the drinks. They have the usual soft drinks on tap but unfortunately not Diet Coke. They can only offer full fat Pepsi. The diet version was Cola (cheap option) and this was served from a 2 litre bottle so was flat! Had to buy my own Diet Coke and just had the local spirit from the hotel. Just a small gripe due to my preference. Drink prices in the resort were reasonable (€3 for a beer, €4 spirit and mixer). One of our party can only drink decaf coffee (no decaf options available in the hotel) so our First Choice rep, Hattie, purchased a tub from the shops for her. Always worth asking. We went on the 'back to the roots' tour with Nefis (the tour shop just along from the hotel) and Jackie, our guide, was excellent and made a very enjoyable day out. Worth checking out, nice to see around the island. We all had a lovely holiday and would certainly go back and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane62Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our second stay it was so dissapointing my husband broke a glass in our room and we notified room service immediatly and they said they would send someone to clear it up,it was still there on the day we left 7 days later.The hot food was luke warm, we had taken our daughter and husband as a special treat as she has not been well. she was twice ill with an upset stomach
we all had a dodgy tummy along with several other guest we spoke to. The entertainment manager was constantly bawling at the staff in front of the GUESTS. It was quite clear that left over food from the night before was used in the lunch time dishes the following day including chicken fish and rice which probably accounted for the upset stomach,s. We had to have many meals out but should not have had to as we had paid nearly six thousand pounds for this holiday. then had to spend another nearly seven hundred pounds on food and drink by eating out to avoid my daughter getting sick. the hotel rooms are looking very tired and in need of refurbishment.eg. no lock on the bathroom door, no bug screen on the door to the balcony, warped doors to bathroom and main hallway, marks on walls and floor, cracked tiles on bath surround and floors, the wardrobes were falling apart , we had paid extra for this room as it had a sea veiw and was meant to be a special holiday as it was also my husbands 50th birthday treat. it is a shame that the hotel is just a cash cow and has,nt been mantained as it has a lovely position on the beach. It is also disgusting that the older receptionist smokes behind the reception desk as non smokers we found it stank in that area when she was on duty some of the bar staff also smoked behind the counter in between serving customers i did mention it to the rep but she said that it was acceptable and that,s just what they did! She did,nt seem to care either..

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacqui a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I had a week here in June. Beautiful clean hotel, rooms cleaned every day. We had a sea view room, would definitely recommend this for the view. Lovely being right on top of the beach as did feel that the hotel sunbeds were squashed together a little bit too much. Food good but found the drinks arrangement at dinner a little lacking. We had one waitress with the drinks trolley walking round to serve everybody, so sometimes the wait for a drink was a little long! Despite the above would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely a sea view and a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtyarmouth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penarth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just back from 2 week stay with hubby
Hotel spotless and staff lovely
Stayed here before on halfboard, sadly the food has gone downhill
Couldn't stomach the food, by the end of the 1st week had to eat out
Breakfast was ok, but I just ate toast, ctoissants and hubby ate full english
Desserts look nice, but after 3 days felt like eating a bowl of synthetic cream
Shame they have gone inclusive the standard of food not the same in my opinion
Restaurants great value and highly recommend Yum Yum and Nefis Travel

Room Tip: Rooms 380 onwards lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PenarthJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsilivi hotels
0.1 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#25 of 50 in Tsilivi
824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 50 in Tsilivi
1,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 50 in Tsilivi
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 50 in Tsilivi
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zante Maris Suites
Zante Maris Suites
#20 of 50 in Tsilivi
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Caravel Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zante Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Maris Hotel

Property: Zante Maris Hotel
Address: Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zante Maris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zante Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zante Maris
Zante Maris Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing