We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Zante Maris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zante Maris Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is the second time at the Zante Maris, the first time being in 2011 and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay which is why we returned. However, this time it was different. The staff at reception, pool bar and restaurant were wonderful, apart from having to wait ages to be served a drink in the restaurant unless you sat in the right place. Our room, cleanish. Plumbing in bathroom appalling. After using the sink to wash hands or have a shower the waste water rose up through the grill on the bathroom floor, not what is expected from a 4 star. The bathroom floor got flooded every day. The water from the shower was hot one second and ice cold the next. Really uncomfortable. The air conditioning unit even on the coldest setting was inefficient and did not cool the room we asked to have this looked at but no change, friends of ours A/C worked and cooled their rooms properly. After showering in the evening we had to leave as soon as possible because the room would not cool down. Entertainment, dire. On our previous holiday Dritan organised the entertainment and was fantastic this year he was so subdued. Dan an entertainments rep was brought in from another hotel but lacked energy and personality. In the pool was volleyball or water polo, not for young children as this got quite rough. Don't expect entertainment for children under 14 years. Evening entertainment should have started at 9.45pm more like 10pm which was too late, average singers, bingo (3 nights a week), best night Greek night (all inclusive drinks stop at 11pm!). The room for playing table tennis was dull and dirty and used for storing chairs and other hotel equipment. The main part of the hotel is nice but the rooms and bathrooms are dated and need attention. The food quality was not up to standard this year. The beach is near it has sand but also has a lot of stones. The hotel is in a good position and the First Choice rep, Hattie is friendly and very efficient. This is a truthful assessment it is quite a nice place but not worth 4 star money.

Room Tip: Top floor away from restaurant/bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Xxcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    355
    119
    23
    4
See reviews for
390
553
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just returned from this hotel yesterday after two weeks in the glorious sunshine and beautiful island that is Zante. I stayed here last year and had the most amazing holiday, so the day after returning we went straight to the travel agents and booked again for this year. I can not fault this hotel in any way at all and overall i enjoyed the holiday just as much, if not more as my first stay here a year ago.

As soon as we checked in this year it was like being at home. Georgia and Kostas (Staff) greeted our family straight away as they remembered us from last year - which made us feel welcome and reminded us why we had booked to stay here again. All the staff are absolutely brilliant and go out of their way to meet everyone's needs to allow holidaymakers to have the best experience. All the student waitresses and waiters were always smiley and happy even though they work stupidly long shifts - big shout out to Ana Maria who never stopped from morning to night but always had a smile on her face and a great manner.

Both our rooms were big and looked out onto the "road" and the hotel opposite and from the balcony we could see the sea. Our room was cleaned every day and we were always left bottles of water to keep in the fridges that come in the rooms (by the end of the holiday we had 12 bottles of water). My only minor complaint about the bedroom i stayed in is that the bathroom sink tap was faulty and the water ran very slowly.

The food is great and just as yummy as last year. Although this year i never had breakfast and would just eat at the beach bar in the day as this is open 10.30am - 1pm and 3pm - 5pm and the food is beautiful and tasty. The evening meals were lovely and on a Sunday the chef serves a traditional roast beef dinner, which for a English northerner like me was an absolute treat and a bonus, especially as there were yorkie puds!! As returning guests we were also invited to the Aqua Bay Hotel in Planos for a 5 star A la carte three course meal - which was all free and again was delicious.

The hotel is in the best location, smack bang on the beach and only a short walk into the town of tsilivi.

Overall my family and i had a brilliant stay at the Zante Maris Hotel and we are already contemplating returning for a third time next year as we were made to feel at home.

PS: ignore the negative "terrible" reviews as they really are not a true reflection of this hotel, its location or of its brilliant members of staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BethTorrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Visited Zante for the first time and booked the "Zante Maris" based on recommendations from family
The hotel was great our room overlooked both the pool and sea with a 30 second walk to the beach this was great. The staff were friendly and worked hard throughout the day every day
Food was good generally however we did venture out on the evenings to visit local tavernas to break the monotony - overall great location,great people recommended for young and old

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Shutz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is beautiful, and looked after very well. Food and drink is quality and not cheap alternatives, serves Pepsi in all inclusive.

Location is fantastic, right on the beach, and 5 mins walk to Tsilivi centre.


Cannot recommend this hotel enough, will definitely be returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelaround86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week at the end of July 2014 with two 14 year old boys. The boys were fully occupied with the pool and the fact that the sea was so close and participated in most of the water sports on offer there. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, with a view of pool and the sea. The food was excellent, we did plan to eat out some nights even though we went all inclusive with First Choice, but we didn't feel the need to as the food choice was varied and of good quality. The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants, bars and tourist shops which are all open until late. The wet and wild water park is really worth a visit, a huge hit with our teenage boys, but also suitable for families of all ages. We went on the turtle boat trip booked through our First choice rep, (Hattie, who really does deserve a mention, so friendly welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for her), the whole day was well worth the money, seeing the turtles and the added bonus of dolphins. we got to swim in a quiet cove too, top tip, sit at the front of the boat for a great experience, but be prepared to get wet!
We thoroughly enjoyed our week from start to finish, once you get your head around what bar serves what and when, my personal favourite being the self service bar, where you can mix your own cocktails!
There is evening entertainment, ranging from singers to quizzes, but it was tasteful, the only evening we didn't stay for the entertainment was the karaoke night, but that's because it's just not our thing!
Would recommend this holiday to families with older children and couples.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one week, no complaints. 30 mins from the airport then hotel a stones throw from the shops! Entertainment is repeated on a weekly basis. Beach gorgeous soft sand and shallow for a good way out. Food well cooked with a good selection. Would go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Les262015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was our 2nd holiday away abroad with First Choice / Thomson All Inclusive compared to Turkey it was completely different this hotel was more like a 3 star food was very average food and drinks had to be paid for after 11pm which is not what we expected as there so called entertainment did not start till 10.45 Bingo and quiz's are not what we expected although Saturday night Greek night was fantastic. Hotel staff were lovely and all spoke English hotel very clean as well, did not know about there toilet system over there either we had orange water in taps on nights and no water at all one evening so no showers for us we expected a bath but only had a shower in our room .As it was a family hotel there was no entertainment or kids club so one very bored 12 year old until she made friends 5 days in .Feet away from lovely beach although there is a charge of sunbeds on beach they do not belong to hotel so don't get caught out .we heard about trips outside and can totally recommend Nefis Travel half the price of hotel trips from Thomson Reps all in all we had a fantastic time weather was very hot .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annie66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
0.1 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#23 of 49 in Tsilivi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Zante Maris Suites
Zante Maris Suites
#17 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
6.0 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#8 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zante Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Maris Hotel

Property: Zante Maris Hotel
Address: Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zante Maris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zante Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zante Maris
Zante Maris Tsilivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing