We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zante Maris Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$225
US$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Pallas Hotel(Tsilivi)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anetis Hotel(Tsilivi)(Great Value!)
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zante Pantheon Hotel(Tsilivi)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Spiros(Tsilivi)(Great Value!)
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Zante Star(Tsilivi)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,309)
Filter reviews
1,309 results
Traveller rating
741
401
139
23
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
741
401
139
23
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthemed nightschef georgeevening entertainmentmexican nightmain restaurantnext yearlovely hotelindoor poolgreat holidayambrosia restaurantgreek dancerstwo weeksdaytime activitieshalf boarda sea view roomall inclusive hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,035 - 1,040 of 1,309 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We booked this trip late due to the poor British summer. We chose this hotel because of its location next to a sandy beach; it looked a reasonable standard and the reviews on trip advisor were very positive. My husband and I travelled with our 2 children aged 13 and 11. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The pool area was kept clean and tidy but was packed with too many sunbeds, which people reserved with towels very early. We booked half board. Breakfast was good (but not the coffee!) with a good choice. The evening meal was a bit canteen like with the same sort of things each night. It was disappointing that there were few Greek dishes. Even moussaka didn't make it on to the menu! The evening entertainment was more Butlins like and you were encouraged to join in, even when you didn't want to. It always started late and sometimes the language and tone was slightly off considering there were lots of children around. The Greek Dancing was the best and the swing singer would have been better as background music rather than encouraging everyone to join in. We hired a car for a few days and visited the sites of the island, this was when we really relaxed. The hotel felt too much like a holiday camp, backed up by constant music throughout the day from the two bars which you could not get away from if you were by the pool. Even though the choice of music was fine (mainly 70s and 80s hits) It was not a tranquil place. Also there were too many smokers! Ash trays everywhere, and although kept clean by the diligent staff, when you were sitting outside, you could always smell smoke. In summary this hotel was OK for the week, the B&B option would have been preferable and we should have asked if there were any non smoking rooms. Unlike a lot of other people who seem to revisit this hotel regularly - we will not.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eliza248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed at the Zante Maris for the first time in August 2009. It was a lovely clean and friendly hotel in a very good location, right on the beach. The bar staff were great, especially Jack, Bella and the Greek barman (sorry, forgotten his name). We stayed on a B&B basis which was sufficient as there are numerous restaurants and cafes to eat in. Our favourite was Sweet Revenge (we ate there 3 times which is unusual for us!), Nemesis (Greek restaurant) was also really nice. I can recommend watching the sunrise from the beach. We also managed to watch the sun set from a hotel called The Balcony Hotel which was open to all. We hired a quad bike from Theo’s rentals which was good fun –we got to see a lot more of the island than we would have done otherwise. I can certainly recommend this hotel and should we return to Zante then we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samanthajane67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

As a family of 9 with an accompanying grandma with children from age 16 down to 2 we appreciate it is a tall order to satisfy all our needs. We also booked this holiday late so didn’t have chance to do our usual research on the hotel and resort. However given the ecstatic reviews on this site, we arrived with very high expectations.

Firstly the hotel is a 3 star in terms of quality and luxury but punches well above its weight in terms of service and cleanliness. The enthusiasm and the dedication of the staff are very impressive. However the hotel is primarily geared towards the middle income- middle aged market-ideal for parents with older teenagers- before they establish their own independence and head off to party in resorts such as Laganas and beyond.

It is a safe friendly atmosphere but predominantly adult orientated. This is not an ideal hotel for young children. Toddlers are politely tolerated rather than fussed. There is just no space either around the pool or indeed on the very crowded nearby beach. Hotel entertainment at night does not start before 10pm if there is a visiting cabaret artist and much later if it is solely being organised by the hotel. This involves Cash Bingo and quizzes etc and whilst it doesn’t go beyond midnight is very loud and not ideal. We answered most of the questions and reluctantantly sang along with the songs whilst tucked up in bed with our 2, 5 and 7 year old. Even the sports activities during the day which are organised by the ever present and ultra competitive maitre Ditran tend to exclude anyone under 12. We saw 2 girls unceremoniously told they couldn’t join in the daily pool volley ball because they were too young (ages 12 and 11). Ditran because of his singular focus and enthusiasm is loved by the teenagers and adults but the younger children are just not his gig and he sets the tempo and agenda for the whole hotel.

The rooms are spacious but the bathrooms badly designed and pokey. The food at breakfast and evening meal is good and kept us interested all week. The pool is very clean although access for children to the paddling pool not easy.

The resort is very busy and somewhat tacky having been commercially developed on the basis of the popularity of the beach. Don’t expect to use words such as ‘sophisticated’ ‘luxury’ or ‘charming’ here. The sky sports bars, football shirts and tattoo count is very high but there is enough enthusiasm and effort to try and cater for all tastes and is a primarily family orientated resort.

The sea is lovely- crystal clear, shallow and warm( ideal for toddlers) but the beach is narrow and stony on entry just outside the hotel although fine and sandy 50 metres to the left. European habits die hard and with the constant smoking and packed sun beds- the beach is littered with cigarette butts-hardly bucket and spade territory.

Excursion wise, only staying a week we missed out on a trip to the Kerri caves to see the turtles because given the breeze which was a godsend most of the time ,the sea was too choppy. However, as stated by others we heard good reports about the Levante Power Boat trips led by Captain Spiros and less enthusiasm about the glass bottom turtle trips where 5 or 6 commercial boats seemed to be chasing one turtle. We would really recommend the water park as a half day trip- discount prices after 2-30 pm about 12 euros by taxi- not a massive park but very pleasant and enough variety to keep all ages happy.

Our older children loved the hotel aged 16, 14 and 12 , and 11 and made some lovely friends and our younger children loved the clean pool but overall we were a tad disapponted and wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vontrap9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Myself and teenage daughter spent a week there in august 09, on a half board basis this is a first class hotel with friendly helpfull staff, with rooms cleaned every day, the food was always good with plenty of choices, the pool area is great and we never had a problem getting sunbeds, some days towels placed on beds before 9am were removed
The only dissapointment was the evening entertainment, just two so called singers that were poor, but that did not spoil our evenings as we met some great people

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kev59_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Stayed at this hotel for one week in August,we were very pleased with the clenliness and overall presentation of the hotel. Only gripewith regard to hotel features would have to be the bath & shower ( suitable for persons below 5ft i.e midgets) however this certainly didnt spoil our holiday.
We stayed B&B because we love to sample the local cuisine when we travel & we were rather mortified at what was available to eat in the immediate vacinity of the hotel......chips,chips and more chips....followed by a lovely helping of frozen pre packed veg ( avoid the majestic, but most of them are the same) however we did have a nice meal in Sweet Revenge.
The trick is to ASK......we picked the brains of the locals as to where they liked to eat and we were told ot a fantastic taverna called AKROTIRI ( short taxi ride costing 14 euro round trip ) the food was fantastic, real greek cuisine, you sat amongst the olive and lime trees in what felt like someones garden.....wouldnt even bother with a main meal as the selection of starters was amazing, you can create your own mezze, well worth a visit indeed.
Nick ,the First Choice rep also booked us a table at The Balkony and if you get there by 7.30pm you can watch the sun setting and it is a beautiful sight, food is also nice.( again a short taxi ride 10 euro round trip, but you could walk if you wanted)
The young girl at reception also advised us to go to the nearby town of Bohali and eat in The House of Latta.....the view of Zante is incredible and the food was also very good.

The absolute MUST DO is to take a trip with Levente boat trips captained by Spiros,the guy is a legend who passionately loves what he does and it shows. His boat is flat bottomed and can take you right onto the beach where the famous shipwreck is situated,it is a fantastic value for money fun and informative trip ( we heard of other people who took a similar trip wih First Choice and were very dissapointed)

Summing up i would say that the hotel is great,the location is great, but if you are like us and want to experience a little bit more of traditional Greece, do your research and travel a bit further afield.
Hope this info helps.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SevenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews