We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place to Stay”
Review of Balcony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balcony Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We have just retuned this evening from a wonderful stay at Balcony Hotel and have to write about it.

The Balcony Hotel is a very special place to stay. Set on a beautiful cliff top, by itself with commanding views over the Bay of  Tsilvi, the deep blue Ionian sea and distant mountain range. There are no sun beds or poolside bars here. It offers a sophisticated atmosphere that would appeal to the discerning traveller. 

There is a large tastefully landscaped terrace from where to have breakfast and another romantic open air terrace tastefully lit for evening meals. One could be forgiven for mistaking the views with that of a cruise liner at night in harbour. The hotel itself has only 3 stories and we were on the first floor. The beauty of this hotel is that almost every room we are told has (stunning) balcony views directly of the sea; and with it comes the gorgeous evening sunsets set behind glistening distant mountains. The backdrop is simply so romantic. We stayed in room 214 (the hotel has 30 rooms in all). In our case we could view the sea lying on our pillows, through the patio door and sculpted balcony. Air conditioning was very effective and came as standard as did a large fridge in the room and WiFi. The latter being worth its weight in gold. The connection worked directly from our bedroom, unlike some hotels where you have to go to the lobby to get a signal. There was plenty of lighting in the tastefully decorated mature pink bedroom and it was very spacious indeed. The room above us was also available on the top floor, but set out with brown furniture. As my partner preferred the white look we stayed put. The bathroom was dated, but immaculately clean and not off putting. Bathrooms in other other rooms have been renovated to a high and tasteful standard and some have baths, ours only had a shower - but no hardship for either of us. 

This is a family run business, originally started by the proprietor's father. Everything about the hotel says they will make your stay special. And they do. Every hotel has its own USP, some give great meals, some great service, some have fantastic location, but the Balcony Hotel has it all at exceptionally modest prices. I made a number of requests during our stay. The proprietor, Eleni is calming and easy to be around and granted each one of our requests with a smile and a "Can Do" attitude - and that included helping us make sandwiches from the morning buffet menu for our return flight. I didnt feel they were simply trying, or trying too hard, I got the impression this is their way of life. What a refreshing and wonderful take on an often tired industry. It certainly made all the difference to the quality of our stay, something different to the cattle market style hoteliers we have come across in the past.  The food was plentiful and extensive at breakfast and the Greek Yoghurt and honey a simple delight. The evening meals were just stunning and we both regretted not spending more nights eating there by moon light. (We normally check with a moon calendar to try and coincide our stay with a full moon for that special touch). We have both agreed we will simply need to go back and have more meals there by moon light!

Visit the Balcony Hotel. It truly is something special in today's fast, quickly fatigued, lifestyle. 

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VicDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and really, our stay was wonderful ...
Clean and comfortable room, with daily cleaning service, nice shape, new furnitures, a great white TV, dryer, fridge and everything you could need during your stay in a hotel .. From our room, although it was situated on the ground floor, we had a spectacular view of the Ionian Sea.. On the negative side? The café-restaurant-bar of the hotel was not open between 10:00-14:00 so, as we used to wake up late, we couldn't drink our "morning" coffee ... Also, on the in-room menu there were not prices ... Otherwise ... Certainly much more than 2 * hotel, will definitely go again and again and of course I would recommend it to all ...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fotini_gr_piraeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

In this hotel we stayed for three days. The first day we had a very nice room with a terrace and spectacular views of the sea, other days we had a room without a view, but even if not so nice (especially the bathroom), everything was clean and tidy. Service, especially the hotel manager and receptionist was very helpful, incredibly nice and accommodating. Breakfast varied, fresh and taste great. TV and air conditioning work.
I do not know when I will come again on Zakynthos, but I certainly know that I come again, and so I know that I want to stay again in Hotel Balcony.
For a pleasant stay thanks Lucie and Pavel - 110th room

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were married at the Balcony on 10th June 12, and it was perfect.

There were 8 of us altogether in our group so it was just a intimate wedding but it was lovely.

The views are outstanding and our photos turned out brilliant. We had our wedding breakfast there and chose of their main menu, the food was lovely.

The owner and his family were very friendly and made it special for us. The table was beautifully decorated, we ate inside then went outside on their terraced to see the sun set and have more drinks.

We didn't stay at the balcony but the reception area and toilets were very clean so I expect the accomdation would have been great too.

I would definitely return & visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank clairebear1973Grays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I have stayed there for a week and we've loved it. Our room had a nice balcony with the perfect view overlooking the sea. Very romantic. The hotel has a very good location. The sandy beach is just bellow - you need to walk for only cca. 5 minutes. The touristy center of Tsilivi is close, but still far enough to enjoy some peace and privacy. Thank you, Eleni! We will defenetly come again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Svetjelep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

We Stayed 1 week. We had a great stay - the view from our balcony was amazing. The staff were very helpfull, and also the breakfast were ok with coffee, thea, scrambled egg and bread. The surroundings were quit, and once more the position of the hotel is amazing - we enjoyed every day - and we would like to go back for another holiday. The restaurant is very ordinary, but there is a lot of very good restaurants at the beach and the town.



  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ebbep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

we have just returned from a four night stay at the balcony hotel, perfect welcoming staff, lovely location, good sized family room with balcony
breakfasts had a Good choice buffet continental style from fruit and greek yogurt too boiled egg,ham ,cheese and OLIVES
RECOMMEND THIS TO FAMILIES AND COUPLES

Room Tip: room 208 is a family room, over looking tsvili and hotel gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsilivi
1.1 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#11 of 51 in Tsilivi
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,302 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Hotel

Address: Akrotiriou - Gerakariou, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Tsilivi
Price Range: £51 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balcony Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Balcony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing