We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, peaceful, fun, friendly and beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Mare Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bella Mare Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Avlaki B&B and Inns
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful, fun, friendly and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Bella Mare is a pretty hotel of studio apartments in a nice, unspoilt setting. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The pool is gorgeous, and steps away from the sea. Really relaxing and easy. Oh, and there is free wireless, if you want it.

The beach is long and sweeping, with good snorkelling, and windsurfs and sailing boats (from Jan, pronounced 'Yan'), and pedalos or kayaks to hire. While Bella Mare is normally sheltered from the wind, at the other end of the beach and furthur out in the bay there's enough wind for sailing and surfing. Like most of Corfu's beaches, this one is stony.

Bella Mare's buffet breakfasts were good and, for non-coffee drinkers, they even had proper tea (PG, rather than insipid Lipton)! There was fresh bread, honey and jams, cereals, watermelon and other fruit, delicious homemade Greek yoghurt, cheeses, Greek breakfast cake, and a different type of egg and bacon/sausage each day, and probably more that I've forgotten! There is a pretty outside terrace to eat at.

You could get nice snack lunches at Bella Mare from the poolside bar. Also both the Tavernas on the beach were really good - some of the best we tried in Corfu. Cavo Barbaro was relaxed, friendly and traditional, with fantastic Greek dishes, and Avlaki Taverna was slightly more geared to tourists but still quite traditional and had a more diverse selection of delicious dishes.

There are also very pretty headland walks from Avlaki towards Agios Stephanos via wild flowers and scrub and secluded bays only accessible by foot or by boat. We hired a car, and much of the coastline either side of Avlaki and the nearby mountains is unspoilt, with pretty villages to explore.

Our one niggle was that the beds are really hard. We put the duvet (it was far too hot for us to need it) between the matress and the sheet, and that helped quite a lot. We suggested they get new matresses or at least some matress toppers, so hopefully they'll do something like that and it'll be more comfortable when we return next year..! It is a gorgeous place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mnachester
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

We have just returned for a weeks stay at the Bella Mare Hotel in Corfu. Really it is a collection of low rise apartments in a pretty setting. There is a hotel reception area and a pretty courtyard where breakfast is served, but really its apartments.

We had a two bedrommed apartment which was a slight misnomer as really it was a one bedroomed apartment with two single beds made up in the kitchen/diner area where the kids , 9 and 13 slept. Having said that it was fine, clean comfortable and really as the weather was so lovely it was basically a place to sleep, with a kitchen for drinks and snacks.

The pool area was very nice, its a really good size and there is a little pool bar serving drinks and lunches which was great. The week we stayed was exceptionally quiet. We were suprised that we were the only family staying there on a jam packed flight from Manchester.

This is the sort of place to stay if you really want peace and quiet. The hotel is also just on the beach at Avlaki which for my husbad and i was perfect as we enjoy swiming in the sea. The water is crystal clear.

The beach has a couple of pedaloes and wind surfing. We took a pedaloe out three times at a cost of 7 euros a time and we all really enjoyed it.

We organised a taxi from the airport through Agni Travel who we booked with - in the end though we did hire a car for 4 days and for a little variety it is well worth it. We hired it through the hotel it cost 110 euros for 4 days which we thought was quite good value.

We went to Kassiopi a few times , a very pretty town with a lovely harbour, and San Stephanos which is only about 2 km away in the next bay. This is definitely worth visiting. Lovely tavernas on the water and typically Greek. We also hired a boat from here for the day and again it was well worth it. We had a lovely time visting lots of coves and beaches. We had lunch at a taverna called the White House which is famous as the residence of the Durrell broethers who lived on Corfu for a number of years.

There are 2 Tavernas on the beach at Alvaki - both of which we ate at and enjoyed very much.

So if your not after bright lights and just want something low key and relaxing this is definitely the place. My two kids aged 9 and 13 really enjoyed it.

Any questions just ask.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulineManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

My wife and I don't as a rule return to the same holiday destination more than once. Bella Mare is our exception, and we have spent a week here every year for 6 years. The location, literally steps away from the beach at Avlaki is superb, with a good sized swimming pool with bar and gardens. The welcome is always friendly, the rooms clean and the ones we've stayed on fairly big.

Avlaki is very quiet, and apart from villas dotted around has two tavernas, boat hire and windsurfing - and that's it. Although the tour guide recommends Taverna Barbaro, we much prefer the family run Taverna Avlaki.

The resort of Kassiopi is a 20 minute walk away, with supermarkets on the way.

For a peaceful, relaxing holiday I don't think this place can be beaten!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSniff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, Shropshire, SY11
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

Booked a studio here through Agni Travel who were excellent in all respects. Avlaki is a beautiful bay which we first discovered 25 years ago when it was only accessible by a rough track, but, even though there is now a road passing through, the bay remains peaceful and largely undeveloped. Bella Mare itself is just as the previous correspondent described it, fitting unobtrusively into one corner of the bay, with a large pool in the grounds and virtually a private stretch of the beach just beyond. It is an ideal place for a relaxing holiday, but if you want more activity Kassiopi is only a mile or so away. The studio was perfect for us with very comfortable, if firm, twin beds. It had one of the smaller balconies, but still with plenty of room and wonderful views across the pool and the bay to the mountains of Albania beyond, plus the spectacle of migrating swallows dipping across the pool for refreshment. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were invited to keep our room till mid-afternoon on the day we left without any extra charge, as the room was not needed next day. Cooking facilities are limited and a bread knife would have been useful, but apart from that everything was perfect. There are tracks at the other end of the bay through woods and scrubland that take you to other bays inaccessible by road, yet the complex is no more than a kilometre from the main East coast road. We'd happily go back there anytime, if the flights to Corfu were cheaper and if we didn't seem to cast a jinx on homeward flights from Corfu airport (2 long delays on consecutive visits!)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

Stayed here for 1 week whilst in Corfu for a wedding. Avlaki bay is stunningly beautiful, a couple of kilometres out of Kassiopi, and very quiet with just 2 tavernas on the beachfront. The hotel is really apartments all laid out in individual buildings very tastefully styled like villas. There is a lovely pool area and a snack bar which wasn't open while we stayed. The hotel does breakfast, included in the rates, which was fairly basic buffet style but perfectly adequate (cheese, bread, preserves, fruit, coffee). The staff were very friendly and approachable. The apartment itself (we had a studio) was reasonably large, although I have a few gripes - hard uncomfortable bed, very small and poorly equipped kitchenette (but with a lovely cool fridge), and room very humid so when floor was mopped you risked breaking your neck on the slippy floor! Mind you they did clean it every day and do a towel/bed linen change twice in the week. There was a spacious balcony with a good view of the pool/bay (see pic).

We were there during a heatwave (temps of 30-plus all week, mid to high 20s at night) which brings me to my major gripe....no air conditioning except during the months of June, July and August! (although it was June by the time we left and still no signs of it coming on). When I asked why I was met with a blank "it's not on yet". Now given we were staying there with a very hot, very grumpy baby, I was a concerned, but we just kept the balcony doors open and shutters shut overnight and managed to get them to provide a fan for the room. It was a bit uncomfortable at times but we managed! I was just a bit annoyed as this isn't made clear on the website - although I have since found it in the small print. Maybe it's standard for Corfu.

All in all probably not where we'd have chosen now we have a baby but good value for money (about £70 a night), great pool area and lovely staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s13Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avlaki
1.1 mi away
Melina Bay Hotel
Melina Bay Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kassiopi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
18.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
2.4 mi away
San Antonio Corfu Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
15.6 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
8.8 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Mare Hotel

Property: Bella Mare Hotel
Address: Avlaki 49 100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Avlaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Avlaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Mare Corfu Hotel is located on the beautiful island of Corfu, on the north-eastern coast, 1,5 km away from Kassiopi Village.It's a small family run hotel, set in a calm green scenery right on the magnificent beach at Avlaki. With friendly staff, extensive landscaped gardens and a huge pool, Bella Mare Hotel is an ideal location for thoroughly relaxed holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Bella Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Mare Hotel Corfu/Avlaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing