We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW WOW WOW”
Review of Bella Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Mare Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Avlaki B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have just returned from staying at the Bella Mare for our Wedding. We have had the most amazing time, We booked along with a lot of our guests for our wedding to stay here. Firstly I found this hotel from visiting Avlaki on previous years and wanted a hotel for our guests to stay at that was a short walk from Cavo Barbaro restaurant. They didn't disappoint. Irene from reception right from the very first conversation back in April has been fantastic and has looked after all our guests from their very first contact. Andrassos from the pool bar was funny and welcoming (just don't play board games with him). The hotel itself is very clean and tidy and is perfect directly onto the beach they supply an amazing breakfast and We would like to say a BIG THANK YOU to all the staff at Bella Mare (not forgetting the housekeeping). Highly recommend this small intimate hotel for your stay on Corfu. A little Tip ROOM 309 is fab.

Love and thanks to you all.

Room Tip: Front facing so you get the view. ROOM 309 xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEIGH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holt, Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Bella Mare is a restful oasis in NE Corfu. There is tat in Corfu. This is certainly not it. The two excellent Taverna really are two minutes walk away. The bay of Avlaki is beautiful sheltered water to swim in. The staff of the Bella Mare are ever friendly and helpful, even noticing when our hire car was making ominous noises.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike_Wool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We've been to Corfu, more particularly the North East tip of Corfu, half a dozen times in as many years and we wish we'd found Bella Mare sooner. It's an oasis of old-school service in an area where mass tourism is slowly making it's presence felt.
The rooms (and balconies) are spacious and spotless. The included breakfast is first class although as is always the case in this area towards the end of the summer, the wasps think so too!
Two good restaurants/tavernas within three minutes walk and the sea is 10 paces outside the hotel grounds. The pool looks lovely but with the sea so close, we didn't actually use it.
If we return to this area of Corfu, we'll definitely be staying at the Bella Mare.

Room Tip: The hotel is set at roughly right angles to the sea and while all rooms appear to have a sea view, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Although some ratings I am about to give are not good, I very much recommend Bella Mare hotel to everyone who seeks a quiet place with clean pools and beach in a walking distance.
Avlaki is great place especially if you travel with small children. It is quiet, no busy and noisy nightlife. The sea in the bay is calm without waves so it is perfect for the little ones.

Hotel: very nice, beautiful garden, great pool with sunbeds + one pool for little ones, bar by the pool, a small gate behind the pool leads directly to the pebble beach (you would need some shoes but you could buy them for 5-7 euros in Kassiopi for instance)

Apartment No. 301: the living room is quite small and the bedroom is unnecessarily big comparing to the living room, kitchenette is well equipped (no microwave though), and the bathroom is big enough. If you do not plan to spend too much time in the apartment, it would be OK for you. Otherwise you may consider to book apartment 303 instead. It is bigger. The air-condition works well but there is a musty stink which cannot be ventilated even if you let the balcony doors open the whole time. The beds are too hard. We all suffered from back pain after two nights.

Service: they did not clean the floor too often and they did not take the trash away more than 2 times a week (the waste bin in the bathroom was too small and thus it was always full and so was the trash bin in the kitchen). I would have appreciated if there was a bucket with a mop so I could mop the floor whenever necessary.

Amenities: 2 tavernas in walking distance and one supermarket (Nikos) in driving distance (2-3 min. drive uphill), everything else could be found in Kassiopi (max. 5 min. drive)

Room Tip: Apartment No. 301 is fine but you may consider to book Apartment No. 303 instead because it's li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NawalSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The above says it all really. It was just what we were after for 4-5 days of relaxation. It is great value for money with sizeable rooms and balconies. Very large garden with pool large enough to do proper laps and also steps from the sea. The hotel isn't five star but doesn't pretend to be and you certainly get more than you pay for. The staff really are very friendly and accomodating. Cavo Barbaro taverna in the middle of this quiet bay is minutes away and is very good indeed. We ate there most days. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We spent a week at the Bella Mare at the end of August and would echo everything that is said about the place. Its a lovely hotel set in a wonderful position right next to the sea on Avliki Bay.
We had an apartment with a bedroom for us and two beds in the kitchen diner for the kids. Air con throughout and everything is superbly kept,clean and well maintained. The whole place is well decorated in a sparse kind of fashion, but in really hot weather that is what you want.
The hotel complex is a series of apartments with their own balconies: lovely for sipping a cold beer after a long day in the sun.
You get breakfast downstairs on the terrace, with a choice of hot and cold dishes. We even had bacon and fried eggs one day! But ,to be honest, I've never found that the Greeks really " get" breakfast in the way that Brits do, so don't expect too much. The coffee was great, though.
There is very little development along Avlaki Bay, just two tavernas, some grand villas, and a small sailing school. There is a horse riding place a bit further up the road to Aghios Stephanou.
Even at the height of the season it is very quiet and a bit upmarket. The beach is mostly pebbles, but does get a bit sandy at the far end away from the hotel.The pool is large and there are plenty of parasols and sunloungers.
We ate in both tavernas and found them both to be really good, friendly and with some lovely food. Sitting on the terace with some freshly caught grilled fish and a glass of white wine, looking over the bay to the Albanian mountains beyond is a memory I shall cherish for a long time.
Its an easy walk to Kassiopi ( about 20 minutes) to the nearest supermarket(s). Nicos Supermarket is a legend , apparently, and certainly has a good choice of food etc and decent prices.A bit futher on into Kassiopi you hit the bars and "all day breakfast" tavernas, but the area around the harbour is really charming.
Back to the Bella Mare, the staff are charming and helpful, the owner is lovely and very proud of her hotel which she emphasises is "very calm and quiet" . We really could not fault it.
Our only complaint was the wasps which were everywhere at the end of August, making breakfast on the terrace a bit unpleasant

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Bella Mare is the only hotel on an enchanting little bay encircled by steeply wooded slopes and Avlaki beach, facing the mountainous coastline of Albania in the distance. There are two tavernas just two minutes walk away both serving excellent food, much of it locally produced, a man renting canoes and dinghies and a horse riding place. And that's it. Remarkably undeveloped - just a few rather grand villas tucked discreetly away up in the hills behind the beach. Lots of walking paths leading to different bays and other villages.
The hotel is a collection of low rise apartments, each with its own balcony and most of them overlooking the extensive grounds and the sea beyond. They are practical, spacious and well appointed. The manager, Sassi, is an elegant and amusing woman and all the staff are friendly, polite and helpful. Andreas manages the poolside bar with aplomb, providing basic, freshly prepared light meals to order. He caught an impressive octopus during our stay though it didn't make an appearance on the menu. Our only quibble was with the lack of fresh fruit at breakfast - apart from watermelon - though we were consoled by generous amounts of yoghurt, honey, eggs, cheese and tomatoes.
The grounds of Bella Mare lead straight onto the beach so you have a choice of sparkling pool or equally sparkling sea - or both, as we did each morning for our pre-breakfast swim.
There are a couple of supermarkets and bars 15 minutes walk away and a little further on the town of Kasiopi - usual tourist shops and a very pretty and tranquil harbour.
We were there with a group of friends in May, just before peak season, and it was ideal, with plenty of scope for both privacy and socialising, depending on your mood.

Room Tip: Pick one facing over the grounds, pool and sea. Avoid the one at the far end nearest the sea as it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avlaki
18.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,170 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Melina Bay Hotel
Melina Bay Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kassiopi
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
San Antonio Corfu Resort
4.6 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,011 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Mare Hotel

Property: Bella Mare Hotel
Address: Avlaki 49 100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Avlaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Avlaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Mare Corfu Hotel is located on the beautiful island of Corfu, on the north-eastern coast, 1,5 km away from Kassiopi Village.It's a small family run hotel, set in a calm green scenery right on the magnificent beach at Avlaki. With friendly staff, extensive landscaped gardens and a huge pool, Bella Mare Hotel is an ideal location for thoroughly relaxed holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Mare Hotel Corfu/Avlaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing