We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and great food”
Review of Cavo Barbaro

Cavo Barbaro
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Avlaki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Set on the only road through Avlaki opposite the beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great views and great food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a very relaxing restaurant in a great location. The atmosphere is wonderful and the views stunning. If you want a relaxing setting, you will not find a better one. The service is great. I was also impressed with the food. Good Greek food with some middle eastern touches.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corfiot60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    52
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped here twice after a swim in the sea. Nice setting with great views. The lunchtime food was superb - the best Crab Cakes ever with a lovely beetroot salad accompaniment, washed down with a bottle of Mythos. Great value, nice relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff. What a great way to spend a couple of hours on a holiday afternoon

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MikeH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey,uk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, views and price”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from dining here. We went on a TA recommendation and we were not disappointed. The views at absolutely stunning, right opposite the beach. The service is great and the food is simple but beautifully presented and tastes great. We had a two course meal for 4 which cost 60 euro which was very reasonable. Also there are a family of cats which seemed to mastered the art of begging for food, my kids thought it was so cute.

If you are from the UK and using your mobile the carrier seems to automatically switch to Albanian telecom because you are only a few miles from the Albanian coast.

As they are not in the eu the mobile companies charge a fortune for data etc. you just need to ensure you change the carrier selection options from "automatic" to manual, and choose a Greek telecom provider.

This is obviously nothing to do with the restaurant, more to do with proximity to Albania.


As for the restaurant we will be going back later in the week as it was so good.

Helpful?
Thank djoSurrey_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious food and a stunning view”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

One of two excellent tavernas on the edge of the lovely Avlaki beach, we preferred the slightly more relaxed atmosphere and extensive menu of Cavo Barbaro, enjoying both lunch and supper at this stylish restaurant during our stay in the north of the island.

The views across the cove are simply stunning, and a refreshing breeze from the sea makes this a fantastic spot for an evening meal. Friendly, attentive service, excellent local wine (the carafe of local rose was delicious and great value), and lovely food, with a twist on the traditional Corfiot menus and generous portions made this a popular choice for everyone, and the restaurant was packed at lunchtime and in the evenings.

We enjoyed sampling a wide variety of delicious fresh dishes - the mezedes were gorgeous: a delicious aubergine and feta stack, fresh beetroot and walnut salad, and succulent squid particularly tasty; and we loved the spicy prawn saganaki, aromatic seafood linguine and stuffed Corfiot beef. The generous portions of honeyed baklava were just divine.

A great restaurant, with a lovely atmosphere thank you for some memorable evenings!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Tranquil.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

One of only two tavernas at Avlaki we had a delicious lunch here on a day when the heavens opened and we thought we'd do some exploring.I had a salad (fattoush?) which was wonderfully fresh tasting and perfect with a cool drink while gazing out to sea.There are no sunbeds on the beach due to some local politicking so maybe Avlaki attracts less visitors than previously but I'd make the trip again just to visit Cavo Barbaro.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Winkergeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavo Barbaro also viewed

 
Kassiopi, Corfu
Agios Stefanos, Kassiopi
 

Been to Cavo Barbaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing