We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST...dont even bother somewhere else...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AfroChic Diani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AfroChic Diani
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“THE BEST...dont even bother somewhere else...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

They only have 10 rooms which means the service is so personal and special....staff was WOnderful!
Rooms are big, clean and comfortable, we had kusini and simba rooms, very nice, both with connecting balconies.
The pool is perfect temperature, beach is clean and breathtaking! Food is the best! And because there are so little guests they ask during breakfast what you want for lunch and dinner from the menu, where in the hotel you want to eat and at what time...so you dont worry about that anymore...you can eat anywhere from your room, the small sitting area, the garden, by the pool, etc....
We stayed here 3 days and we did not want to leave! It really really felt like home!
Staff is lovely with children, and they prepared food specially for my daughter a few times ( she is very picky) ....they can arrage a taxi if you want to go shop or do something else, and they have lots of movies and books you can borrow during your stay, you wonder why would you need them, but trust me, the place is so unbelievably relaxing that you need something else to do other that sit around by the sun or sleep and eat all day haha.....thank you to everybody that made our stay wonderful at afrochic!

Room Tip: I would ask for a view to the ocean,,, so beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabs g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
84
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This hotel is amazing! Actually it doesnt feel like a hotel at all, more like at home with friends. I am a flight attendant and stay in many different hotels around the world. Having some days off this time in Kenya I decided to leave Nairobi going to the beach. Arrived at AfroChic after a short flight with Safarilink from Nairobi's Wilson Airport I was amazed by the welcoming and the super friendly staff who seemed just to feel what I needed. The interieur, a very tasteful selection of african art, beautiful furniture and flower arrangements made me feel more like in a Spa than in a hotel. Stefan, the German manager, gave me great advise on what to see and what to do in and around Diani. You should definately experience the Sacred Forest and the sunset near the Kongo mosque. Truly amazing. If you need to recharge your batteries or if you are just looking to be pampered by great people and deliscious food then this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kukli-DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here after safari in the Masai Mara for 6 days. It was the perfect way to wind down and relax after long days of game drives! The staff here is exceptional. All my best to Tziporah and the rest of the staff. They are the warmest, most welcoming people. We felt like family - very well taken care of. They really go out of their way to make you happy and they did a great job! Wonderful people!

This property is more like your own private villa. When we were there - there were only a few other guests there, so we had the place mostly to ourselves! The pool, lounge chairs/beds on the beach were perfect. This place is a cross between a Miami South Beach hotel and an upscale B&B with amazing African art throughout. Casually elegant and so incredibly chic!

The food was phenomenal. You are provided a menu with a vast range of selections, no matter what your food choice/preferences. You order what you want, when you want and eat it where you want. It is gourmet quality food. Fantastic! We had full board which was more than enough food for both of us. We simply could not eat three full meals a day as there was so much delicious food! The beauty of it is that there are no set "meal times" and no pressure to do anything - except enjoy the beautiful property and the Indian Ocean and each other.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a large bath with separate shower and tub. There is a large deck overlooking the grounds. Lovely! The only area I can see room for improvement is with the bedding. It wasn't the best. Considering the quality of everything else, I was surprised the sheets weren't a higher quality (softer) and that there wasn't a mosquito net over the bed. This would've made a huge difference as the mosquitos loved to visit us in the night. These are two things that are minor in the scheme of things, but I just wanted to mention it.

Don't be afraid to venture out of the hotel. The beach is gorgeous - you can walk for hours. Ignore the boys that try to sell you things. Don't even engage or you won't get rid of them! Remember to barter if you consider buying anything from them. Also, be aware that the ocean here is very tidal, so you have to be aware of this if you want to swim or dive. The hotel posts high tide/low tide every day.

We really loved this place. We were sad to leave. We have traveled extensively all over the world and were very impressed. It's a great find! Don't hesitate - GO! You will love it!

You will think about this place long after you leave - it stays with you. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katmo1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Turn off your phones and take off your watches at this wonderfully relaxing boutique hotel on Kenya's south coast. The service was impeccable with meals, meal times and dining location choices for dining completely at our discretion and choice. The full a la carte menu allows you to choose what you want to eat and craft it to each individual's taste. AND... the chefs are amazing, capitalizing on the freshest catches of the day. The rooms are well appointed and spotless with lots of little extras (like straw bags to carry things to the beach or pool.) The entire place is spotless and the service is unobtrusive but attentive to every need. The pool is large enough for quiet lap swimming in the early mornings and is beautifully maintained. The towels are large and fluffy and only accent the depth of service as well as the relaxed atmosphere. My friend had a massage and she highly recommended it. They have created their own strip of beach so you can be on the beach but not bothered by the beach boys. It truly is paradise in paradise.

Room Tip: Room tips: There are 7 rooms facing the sea and 3 facing the garden - all have verandas although so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The last destination of our honeymoon and we are very glad we chose to stay at Afrochic! With only 10 rooms and a very relaxed atmosphere it was exactly what we were looking for. The staff were all very friendly and service-minded and went out of their way to surprise us with a new setting of our dining table every night and honeymoon decorations in our room upon our return from dinners. The GM, Stephan, and his team, Zephora and Sylvia, were very welcoming and helpful. The food and all the service was impressive - Jeremiah will tempt you with the menu every few hours!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andsager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at AfroChic for 3 nights with our baby in the Punda Milia suite and it was one of our best holidays in Mombasa yet! The room was very spacious and clean and over looking the pool and with a beautiful sea view.

The service is personable from the start, Zipporah is doing a brilliant job - nothing was ever too much trouble for her or for anyone else - Fiar, Norman, Jeremiah - thank you all for such great service. Fiar - thanks for keeping our baby entertained while we ate!

The concept at AfroChic won us over - no time pressure, eat what you want when you want - everything at your own leisure.

Being a small boutique hotel on small grounds meant that our baby monitor worked too, so after we put baby to sleep my husband and I could go and enjoy dinner by the pool knowing we could take our time but have 'one eye' on baby too.

The food was fantastic, the chef's specials change everyday and the rest of the menu is extensive enough to be able to try a variety of dishes.

Gorgeous, clean beach with not too many beach boys and a very inviting sea. Lovely day beds by the beach too for lounging on. The pool is very well kept too.

Thank you to the afrochic team for a wonderful family holiday, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Punda Milia is the executive suite - fantastic if you require a very spacious room. Ocean Gift would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

From the moment you arrive at AfroChic you are transported into a world where relaxation and pampering are the norm. It is here my husband and I spent our Honeymoon. On arrival we were greeted with a cooling drink and introduced to the concept at AfroChic – a home away from home. Here there is no time pressure, no noise and nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful staff.
You eat what you want from their extensive menu, where you want, and best of all, when you want. Raj and I are both vegetarians and this did not pose a problem for the kitchen team during our 5 day stay. We managed to eat different foods for every meal and what wonderful food it was. Our favourite was the vegetarian Swahili dinner under the stars on the beach! Everything is cooked with the finest and freshest ingredients available at the market and our only regret was we could not stay longer to sample even more the chefs had to offer.
The rooms are spacious and clean. Whether your balcony is overlooking the swimming pool and beach or the pond and garden, there is always something to spot – tropical birds, monkeys, butterflies. The swimming pool is well kept and wonderful swing-beds and loungers surround it. The beach too is equally impressive with white sand and clear waters.
Nothing though trumps the amazing staff at AfroChic . Stephan and his team were professional and friendly at all times and looked after us as part of their family. We couldn’t be more grateful to each and every member of the team who made our stay memorable.
AfroChic is the perfect holiday destination and we highly recommend it. Everything about it is perfect. We can’t wait to be back! Raj and Minnie

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.7 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Property: AfroChic Diani
Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AfroChic Diani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the white sands of the sparkling Diani Beach, AfroChic dazzles with views of exotic, ancient dhows in full sail. The graceful curve of the Diani shoreline tempts all to walks in the warm shallows along the edge of the African continent. AfroChic offers ten individual, uniquely-styled rooms with ocean and garden views. This 'home-from-home' retreat will see you return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your AfroChic Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing