We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest boutique hotel in Kenya”
Review of AfroChic Diani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AfroChic Diani
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is one of the best rated hotels in Africa and certainly the best boutique hotel in Kenya. The hotel makes its best to tailor your stay around you and your needs. They have a huge menu to choose from that covers every taste and certainly you will find whatever you want. They can also add whatever you want if you gave them enough notice. The hotel is a small building that has few rooms so not that much company, when we stayed there were only five rooms filled. The pool is great and the hotel is directly on the shore so you have the best view of the ocean. I loved the beds on the sand so we enjoyed relaxing on the sand so much. The hotel serves three meals and 5 o'clock tea so plenty of food of excellent taste. This is a remarkable experience that we don;t think we can find anywhere else...

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are ocean view so ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EgyptianJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

Do you want a perfect place to spend a vacation while enjoying one of Kenya’s most beautiful beaches? Definitely stay at AfroChic! My wife and I just returned from four days in this quiet beach-front paradise. Arriving at this cozy ten-room hotel, you’re welcomed warmly by the manager or one of the gracious staff members. The rooms are tastefully and elegantly decorated with a mix of modern amenities and local themes. The front yard contains a large pool, a naturally shaded dining area, and a variety of covered swinging beds, lounging nooks, and tanning chairs. All meals are a la carte with a wide variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, and desserts to choose from when composing your three-course meals. The special evening meal provides a perfect conclusion to a relaxing day. With the soothing roar of waves breaking on the beach and the soft wind rustling through trees as background, you dine at tables set with romantic candlelight among silhouetted coconut palms under the stars. One of the nicest things about AfroChic is the superb service. A cadre of courteous, motivated, and well trained staff attends to your every desire with quickness and class. They know when to be present and when to be unseen—a rare, but welcomed talent. It was very difficult to leave AfroChic because this unique hotel felt as comfortable as home, but with five-star rooms, consistently delicious meals, and impeccable service. I’d go back in a heartbeat—it’s that good!

Room Tip: Ask fir the Punda Malia suite--it's wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

AFROCHICHOLIC! That is what I have become after staying there. I have been travelling frequently and finally managed some "ME" time. Decided, I needed the chill out time and go away to "my home-away-from-home."

Having stayed there previously I took a break of 4 nights, 5 days this time.

Arriving at the main gate of the premises, I was greeted by a very familiar security guard with a smile on his face and the warm welcome.

Once inside the hotel the usual Afrochic Hospitality started. I did notice some nice changes to the premises. The garden has been well maintained and very relaxing to walk around, the new addition on the side of having a small boutique with some really good quality stuff to take home.

I was greeted by the Manager for some welcome refreshments by the pool. Had to tell him that it was good to be back home and I see another familiar face, Donald. He comes over to say hi and welcome back. I do feel at home here.

The room was very nice with all the comfort of RELAXATION kept in mind, spacious with a large balcony over looking the breezy ocean.

As always, the food is amazing, prepared fresh and dine at your leisure is great. The chef was happy to prepare a different meal and the very fresh juices.

Try the sun-downer DAWA! Its addictive! And the bar has had a make over. The day swing beds are a great way to spend the day gazing over the beach or jump in the pool to cool down.

My days went so fast but I was energised and felt spoilt for the few days of my stay there. I did not want to leave!

I cannot wait for my next time there. The staff and the approach to the guests of making them feel at home is something special which makes me want to come back again and again!

I hope to be back soon. Thank you Mr. Manager and the team for making me feel at home again!

Room Tip: Ocean facing room to enjoy the view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allure0733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

AfroChic is far the most impressive hotels I have been to in south coast. The staff were friendly and so organized. The rooms were to die for, spacious and meticulously arranged to the last detail. I will definitely go back.. its heaven on earth.

Room Tip: Junior suite was beautiful with the view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radhia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Afrochic Diani is truly heaven. From the moment we arrived and were greeted, not at a reception desk, but seated on beautiful couches, given iced-water, lavender soaked wash towels, and served fresh-squeezed passion fruit juice, everything was perfect. Every room is spacious, beautifully decorated and meticulously clean. We enjoyed massages in our room, but, for the most part, we spent our days on the large, wonderfully comfortable, beds under canopies that look out over the pristine Indian Ocean. The service is impeccable. And just when you don't think it can get any better, the food is some of the best we've experienced anywhere in the world. I only wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: The garden room has only a small balcony - not facing the ocean - and may be noisy as it's at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Perfect eye for detail, without it ever being 'too much' or fake! Great rooms, great beds, great food, great showers, great swimming pool, great location, great staff, everything great... These people understand hospitality! Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WouterVZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This is one of the best hotels we've stayed at in Mombasa! The staff is very friendly and helpful! The chefs are very good - they can make for you whatever you need! The ambience is amazing! Loved the swing beds by the beach! The rooms were great! Overall we absolutely loved it! We's definately go back to Afro Chic whenever we go to Mombasa!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scorp1on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
444 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
299 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
568 reviews
4.9 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £316 - £735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AfroChic Diani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the white sands of the sparkling Diani Beach, AfroChic dazzles with views of exotic, ancient dhows in full sail. The graceful curve of the Diani shoreline tempts all to walks in the warm shallows along the edge of the African continent. AfroChic offers ten individual, uniquely-styled rooms with ocean and garden views. This 'home-from-home' retreat will see you return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your AfroChic Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing