We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AfroChic Diani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AfroChic Diani
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a find!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We arrived after a very long day, 14 hours, tired, exhausted, sweaty and looking like two tramps after a weeks safari, to be greeted by Richard who welcomed us as if we were his best friends and not looking at all dishevelled. We were greeted with refreshing towels, sparkling wine and a fabulous menu and if we had decided to eat at midnight there would not have been a problem.

The hotel seemed like your own villa especially as when we arrived we doubled the occupancy. We were very fortunate to be upgraded to an ocean view room, but most of the rooms were left open when unoccupied to allow for ventilation and all the rooms looked very welcoming with no two rooms the same, all with an African theme. All rooms looked spacious with large bathrooms, we had bath and shower plus bidet. Towels were in abundance with large bath towels. The air conditioning was very efficient and was much appreciated as it was hot and humid. Most important item was our bed which was very large with a very comfortable mattress and pillows, with good quality bedding. The balcony had chairs and lounger with large umbrella.

Service is on a 24 hour basis with no set times for dinning, you eat when you wish to. Menus are provided after breakfast to choose lunch and similar after lunch to choose for dinner at a time to suit you. This may seem strange but there is varied menu with few guests so this way provides very fresh food and some meals require time to marinate. If there is nothing you like just speak to the chef to discuss alternatives. We ate by candle light in the evening, very romantic.

Afternoon tea was most welcome and the Kenyan tea was delicious, no need to take your own tea bags. Drinks and wine were very reasonable.

Sun beds came in various forms from the usual to the double swinging beds with thick mattresses with clean covers.

Jeremiah and all the staff were well trained with nothing being too much trouble.

We have stayed in some very good accommodation on our travels, but this was the best beach holiday venue we have stayed at. It was so relaxing we did not budge just a walk down to the ocean. We would definitely return if time allows.

So thank you all
Julie and Harry

Room Tip: If possible choose an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J-H-alwaysonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
82
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

travelled in september 2013 and we wee amazed at the beauty and simplicity of the place. the place actually looks just as it does in the pictures on the elewana website (we've travelled to places that really were not as they purpoted to be).
the reception was so cool, especially the fact that richard took the trime to come and meet us at the entrance, made you feel so valued. the room was cool though would have loved one with a bathtub but that was taken by the time we arrived. meals were done fresh to order which was a good change from annoying buffets in other places, and guess wat you colud have your breakfast, lunch or dinner anywhere in the compound and at any time at no extra cost. rama, zipporah, bernadette and the whole crew were very attentive to our every need..thank you for a spectacular holiday... for room options pick kaskazi.

Room Tip: for best room choose kaskazi or the suite on the top most floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiakaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was the most memorable family reunion my family has ever had! From the service, to the rooms, to the food, we will never forget this fabulous trip to AfroChic.

Upon arrival at AfroChic, we were greeted by Doris, who gave us cold towels. Doris sat down with us, along with her associate, Zipporah, and told us everything we needed to know about this fantastic boutique hotel. Then, Tazim, the general manager, came over and we gained even more knowledge about this hotel! Once finished, we were escorted to our room, Punda Milia, on the top floor. It was a connecting room as we were a family of four meeting up with everybody. The room was very spacious with a TV, huge king bed, and great bathroom!

Immediately, the kids wanted to go swimming. The pool is cleaned during every meal time (when no one is in it) and is great for swimming laps, playing games, and even just relaxing on the stools. Although AfroChic doesn't have a private beach, there are still sun beds for you to lay on that are part of the AfroChic property. These are very comfortable, and there are no beach boys coming to bother you. Beware of sea urchins when you go down to the water!

The food at this hotel is the best hotel food we have ever had. The chef catered to our every need! For example, one night we wanted a black forest cake for my in-laws' 50th wedding anniversary, and all we had to do was tell the chef 24 hours in advance! We were also celebrating my brother in-law's birthday and that night was amazing! There were profiteroles, cakes, and much more! The staff and chef all came out and sang a special song for him. This showed they truly cared about all of us, and they went out of their way to make sure this night was special!

The general manager, Tazim, was attentive to everything, and she was always checking up on us to make sure this vacation ran smoothly. This adds to the superb service that was provided by the staff members!

Overall, we couldn't have asked for anything better, and this boutique hotel definitely went above and beyond our expectations! We will surely be back sometime in the future! Thanks to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParagShah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had an amazing time in Afrochic Diani. The service was excellent, in fact the best that we've experienced in Africa so far. They had us from the moment we landed in Ukunda airport, where we were greeted with lavender-scented towels and a bottle of water by our smiling driver. The moment we arrived at the gate with the most amazing guard, to the time we stepped in and received a briefing from Ziphora at the reception (with Spumanti!), who said to my honey, "take off your watch sir, you don't need it here" we knew that this was a special place with attention to details.

We stayed in Kaskazi room, which we loved but hardly used because the lull of the pool, the beach beds and the sound of sea were such stiff competition. We stayed for four nights (the last night was free!) and it seemed like an eternity.

There are many things to love about Afrochic, but our favorite times were mealtimes, which we could decide in our own convenience. The only dilemma we had was deciding what to eat for each meal, because everytime we sample something from the chef's kitchen, we want to have a repeat of everything we ate - the beef and tuna carpaccio, seafood platter, the pasta, the catch of the day - all were extra delicious. We requested for lobster and oysters and we got them! Three of four kilograms gained after four days, but we're not complaining, we're happy campers.

Keep up the great work - lovely men and women behind Afrochic. We will truly come back again.

Cheers,

WK and LR

Room Tip: Get the seaview room! Kaskazi was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vagabondinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

I love this hotel.

It was my first time travelling alone and I have to say, AfroChic will be an annual event for me. Staff are genuinely friendly, the rooms are beautiful and above all clean. I love the fact that I get my own DSTV decoder :-). And even though it rained a few of the days, it never felt dull. I am used to large hotel buffets and so an al a carte menu was a refreshing change and made my dining experience exciting at every meal.
I stayed during the low low season and that works for me.
I would recommend this to anyone who just want a low key, high relaxation holiday.
Thanks to all the staff who made my stay oh so special.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful pre honeymoon here. the place is just lovely decoration wise. the service is superb and the rooms are so nice that that even the rainy season is a good time to stay there. we loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jatanu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I didn't realize until I arrived how small the hotel is - about 12 rooms, and I loved it. It is THE way to end a safari.... lots of relax time in the pool, the swinging beds by the sea, or pool. Be warned though, you are likely to gain 2 kilos..... the all inclusive meals are lovely, and it is hard not to 'try ' everything on the menu :)

2 nights flew by, even though we didn't leave the immediate area, we appreciated being 'cared' for, the great food, and doing nothing! There are excursions which can be arranged - but we were happy relaxing. Love the fact it is a 5-10 min ride to the airport!

i was very touched by the front desk manager who gave me a big hug upon leaving!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Service_Sommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.7 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
#12 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Property: AfroChic Diani
Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AfroChic Diani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the white sands of the sparkling Diani Beach, AfroChic dazzles with views of exotic, ancient dhows in full sail. The graceful curve of the Diani shoreline tempts all to walks in the warm shallows along the edge of the African continent. AfroChic offers ten individual, uniquely-styled rooms with ocean and garden views. This 'home-from-home' retreat will see you return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your AfroChic Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing