We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it!!”
Review of AfroChic Diani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AfroChic Diani
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is one of the places to visit when you are at the South Coast of Kenya. The service is awesome and the crew here are almost perfect. They are so unobtrusive you will barely see them.

The food is awesome, and I lack superlatives to describe Afro Chic! My wife and I do an annual visit to this very lovely place.

I would recommend Afro Chic any day!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Excellent boutique hotel. Good service, good food, privacy and wholesome relaxation.
Definatley recommend for a couple lookng to get away.
Prices are very fare and staff go out of their way to look for something that they may not have, e.g. Incase they do not have your favourite drink, they will go and source it just for you. Awsome place.

Room Tip: Good for a couple needing to romance and just get awa. My wife amd i loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Aside from the obviously beautiful estate that AfroChic inhabits, the true "cherry on top" of the experience was the impeccable attention to detail by each member of the staff: from the driver pick-up at the airport with cold towels and water bottles, to security's toothy smile and "karibu" while unlocking the gate, to front desk's personal welcome in the foyer, to F&B's welcome fresh juices, to the cookies and swahili sayings put on your pillow at turn down, and the GM - Richard's personal dedication to ensuring every semblance of a need is exceedingly fulfilled. Each meal was delicious and any special requests off the menu were always met without a fuss. Richard, Jeremiah, Betty, Norman, John, Rama, Donald, Kesia, Beatrice, Joseph, and the rest of the staff, a big ASANTE SANA for a wonderful AfroChic experience. I had stayed at other "luxury" hotels during my time in Kenya, but AfroChic has redefined the standard due to the altruistic staff's dedication to ensuring the ultimately relaxing guest experience. I will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have a high ceiling and much more privacy. My favourite was Lamu, which was also in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed for a weekend back in July. Food is amazing, service amazing, sheesha, beach! You feel at home.
All rooms, I believe, have sea view.

Expensive but worth it! Ive had one of the best joggins of my life in the pristine Diani beach! You can jog to a small river that flows into the see that is aprox 2km from the hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Maesparz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We arrived after a very long day, 14 hours, tired, exhausted, sweaty and looking like two tramps after a weeks safari, to be greeted by Richard who welcomed us as if we were his best friends and not looking at all dishevelled. We were greeted with refreshing towels, sparkling wine and a fabulous menu and if we had decided to eat at midnight there would not have been a problem.

The hotel seemed like your own villa especially as when we arrived we doubled the occupancy. We were very fortunate to be upgraded to an ocean view room, but most of the rooms were left open when unoccupied to allow for ventilation and all the rooms looked very welcoming with no two rooms the same, all with an African theme. All rooms looked spacious with large bathrooms, we had bath and shower plus bidet. Towels were in abundance with large bath towels. The air conditioning was very efficient and was much appreciated as it was hot and humid. Most important item was our bed which was very large with a very comfortable mattress and pillows, with good quality bedding. The balcony had chairs and lounger with large umbrella.

Service is on a 24 hour basis with no set times for dinning, you eat when you wish to. Menus are provided after breakfast to choose lunch and similar after lunch to choose for dinner at a time to suit you. This may seem strange but there is varied menu with few guests so this way provides very fresh food and some meals require time to marinate. If there is nothing you like just speak to the chef to discuss alternatives. We ate by candle light in the evening, very romantic.

Afternoon tea was most welcome and the Kenyan tea was delicious, no need to take your own tea bags. Drinks and wine were very reasonable.

Sun beds came in various forms from the usual to the double swinging beds with thick mattresses with clean covers.

Jeremiah and all the staff were well trained with nothing being too much trouble.

We have stayed in some very good accommodation on our travels, but this was the best beach holiday venue we have stayed at. It was so relaxing we did not budge just a walk down to the ocean. We would definitely return if time allows.

So thank you all
Julie and Harry

Room Tip: If possible choose an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J-H-alwaysonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

travelled in september 2013 and we wee amazed at the beauty and simplicity of the place. the place actually looks just as it does in the pictures on the elewana website (we've travelled to places that really were not as they purpoted to be).
the reception was so cool, especially the fact that richard took the trime to come and meet us at the entrance, made you feel so valued. the room was cool though would have loved one with a bathtub but that was taken by the time we arrived. meals were done fresh to order which was a good change from annoying buffets in other places, and guess wat you colud have your breakfast, lunch or dinner anywhere in the compound and at any time at no extra cost. rama, zipporah, bernadette and the whole crew were very attentive to our every need..thank you for a spectacular holiday... for room options pick kaskazi.

Room Tip: for best room choose kaskazi or the suite on the top most floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiakaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was the most memorable family reunion my family has ever had! From the service, to the rooms, to the food, we will never forget this fabulous trip to AfroChic.

Upon arrival at AfroChic, we were greeted by Doris, who gave us cold towels. Doris sat down with us, along with her associate, Zipporah, and told us everything we needed to know about this fantastic boutique hotel. Then, Tazim, the general manager, came over and we gained even more knowledge about this hotel! Once finished, we were escorted to our room, Punda Milia, on the top floor. It was a connecting room as we were a family of four meeting up with everybody. The room was very spacious with a TV, huge king bed, and great bathroom!

Immediately, the kids wanted to go swimming. The pool is cleaned during every meal time (when no one is in it) and is great for swimming laps, playing games, and even just relaxing on the stools. Although AfroChic doesn't have a private beach, there are still sun beds for you to lay on that are part of the AfroChic property. These are very comfortable, and there are no beach boys coming to bother you. Beware of sea urchins when you go down to the water!

The food at this hotel is the best hotel food we have ever had. The chef catered to our every need! For example, one night we wanted a black forest cake for my in-laws' 50th wedding anniversary, and all we had to do was tell the chef 24 hours in advance! We were also celebrating my brother in-law's birthday and that night was amazing! There were profiteroles, cakes, and much more! The staff and chef all came out and sang a special song for him. This showed they truly cared about all of us, and they went out of their way to make sure this night was special!

The general manager, Tazim, was attentive to everything, and she was always checking up on us to make sure this vacation ran smoothly. This adds to the superb service that was provided by the staff members!

Overall, we couldn't have asked for anything better, and this boutique hotel definitely went above and beyond our expectations! We will surely be back sometime in the future! Thanks to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParagShah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
446 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
299 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
568 reviews
4.9 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £316 - £735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AfroChic Diani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the white sands of the sparkling Diani Beach, AfroChic dazzles with views of exotic, ancient dhows in full sail. The graceful curve of the Diani shoreline tempts all to walks in the warm shallows along the edge of the African continent. AfroChic offers ten individual, uniquely-styled rooms with ocean and garden views. This 'home-from-home' retreat will see you return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your AfroChic Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing