We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Great But Not 5 Star”
Review of AfroChic Diani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AfroChic Diani
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Afro Chic hotel has recently changed ownership and one gets the feeling that the new management team is trying very hard to make this a super hotel. The setting is nice on the beach but with a lovely green garden with lounge "tents" as well as regular sun beds and a lovely pool. The restaurant is located both in the garden and inside for guests preference. The rooms are reasonably large to large and absolutely great ( but not luxorious) with Wi-Fi, cable TV, DVD, minibar and all bathroom things.
Where I believe that the hotel can do much better is in regards to the food as well as the servicing of the food. We barely ever got the food at the same time even though there were only 5 in our party and I think that the food can be described as at best average. The menue is excessively long which might make it too difficult for the kitchen so it might be worthwhile for the management to consider a shorter menu every day.
Overall a very nice place to stay though the beach is not great at Diani and all the local sales people on the beach are rather irritating but they are not allowed in the hotel garden and can therefore easily be avoidable. On a final note, Afro Chic is located among larger hotels and it is therefore an easy walk to another hotel for a drink or to use a gym etc. Water scooters, wind surfing etc is available on the beach and the golf club is a short walk or taxi from the hotel.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank BBostrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2011

Afrochic in one word would be AFROCHICHOLIC!!

Now this friendly hotel is addictive for its charm, amazing friendly faces and the quality of 5 star service.

Being in Diani, South Coast, Mombasa. AfroChic is the place to get away from the daily life. The two times I have stayed there, I cannot forget the wonderful time I have had. Starting from the welcome I had upon arrival. The little things makes all the difference.

A small boutique hotel with personality that is larger than life! This is the feeling you get from the ever attentive Mr. Stephan who is the General Manager and his wonderful team of people who made my two stays at AfroChic a memory to talk about to all.

Its a 10 room hotel which means that the level of attention given to every guest is amazing. You are made to feel at home and once you are in the hotel, you are treated as "family" and so do all the staff make you feel just that. Not a guest but a part of family!

Not to forget, the quality of food and the concept of "dine at your convenience" and where you want to dine. Be it on the beach or the garden with the refreshing view of the Indian Ocean is what gave me the time to walk on the beautiful sandy beaches of Diani or just relax on one of the day beds. Or you can choose to cool off in the pool.

I have had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful 5 star boutique hotel twice and besides I never realised that writing reviews to help others would be the better part of the "post" experience of staying in this beautiful hotel.

I personally am looking forward to my home away from home and the familiar yet friendly faces :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allure0733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Afrochic is a piece of heaven on earth. A small hotel with only 10 rooms i think so you feel like you have walked in to your rich friends house. The manager Stephan is exceptional and the service from his staff was extremely friendly and the attention to detail was unparalled. The garden and the pool is gorgeous and it is directly on the white sandy beach. You can eat a la carte when and where you like. the menu is huge and the food is as amazing as the hotel itself.
It is amazing for couples, not so great for children and it is very romantic and lush.
One of our best trips.
This place is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jett123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We just had a blast in AfroChic, finishing our honey moon trip in this cosy and so friendly boutique hotel. This is honestly a new hotel experience, with great staff and high-touched services. They make you feel special, with high attention to details (which you can only find in top-notched hotels in Europe/US!) and you just feel that you share a very nice villa with friends. So much better than any large resort hotels!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pyl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

This boutique hotel was all that I wanted and more... The staff was friendly and provided phenomenal service. We wanted for nothing. After 8 days on Safari I was looking forward to some R&R on the beach and that is what I got. I wanted or needed for nothing. It was the perfect spot to end an amazing vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammy7173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week stay at Afrochic Boutique Hotel where we spent an extremely wonderful holiday. From the day we arrived until our departure, we were treated as royalty. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff very attentive to even the smallest details, therefore we felt like part of a family . Being a small hotel we could even have our meals at our convenience, this we appreciated very much. The well kept pool, the manicured garden and the beautiful white sandy beach contributed to make our stay very relaxing. A definit for a coastal holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmokeyManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We spent a week in Afro Chic Boutique Hotel for our honeymoon and had a perfect time.
The place is lovely, with only 10 bedrooms in this boutique hotel, with a very dedicated and friendly staff.
Very flexible organization (have your meal any time you want, anywhere in the hotel: near the pool, on the beach, on your balcony...)

A great place to go with your spouse/ partner, especially if you are looking for something else than a big resort. All activities are available even if hotel size is limited

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliveParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
471 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
475 reviews
6.1 mi away
Almanara Luxury Villas
Almanara Luxury Villas
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,408 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
316 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £339 - £690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AfroChic Diani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the white sands of the sparkling Diani Beach, AfroChic dazzles with views of exotic, ancient dhows in full sail. The graceful curve of the Diani shoreline tempts all to walks in the warm shallows along the edge of the African continent. AfroChic offers ten individual, uniquely-styled rooms with ocean and garden views. This 'home-from-home' retreat will see you return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your AfroChic Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing