We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere!”
Review of Shambani Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shambani Cottages
Ranked #7 of 21 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I just came back from Shambani Cotteges and I want to share my good memories :) We spent there one week and I truly recommend that place to couples, families with children and people who don't like crowded hotels. The place is quite and beautiful, there's all you can need when you want to relax - great staff (many thanks to Maureen who took care of our cottage, Ali who cooked delicious meals for us and of course Salim - our driver and a real friend), amazing views and friendly atmosphere...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorota2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

After spending more then one week at Shambani we can give the warmest recomendations
to spend your holliday here. The personal service given by the staff is the best ever experienced. It is a memory for the rest of or life that we for sure will return to. The warm climat and beautiful suroundings is something we must experience again.


Fam. Gustavsson/Strid Sweden

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamStrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We were looking for a place to rest for a week during European winter and found this place in Shambani. Not far from the beach and a nice clean pool to cool down and relax. The house (Baobab Villa) is not only spacious from the inside, but outside we found several places to read and relax (even sunbathing on the roof!).
The staff is friendly and experienced, they keep everything clean and well organised.
We took a risk by booking through the internet, but can no say that we are very happy that it exeeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjsnoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We spent a week at Shambani and everything was better than expected, the lodge, the gardens, the position and most of all the friendliness of the staff who were always more than helpful. The beach is only 5 minutes away and the matatu to go to the southern beaches and to the shops stops in front of the gate.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We greatly enjoyed our one-week stay at Shambani Cottages. The surroundings are gorgeous with native trees and plants between the cottages. Beautiful pool and beach area nearby. Very private and peaceful. It is geared toward spending quiet, private time, rather than social events. We took a group safari which was nice, but it may be worth spending more money to have the private safari that Shambani offers, due to the personal attention given. Our cook and cleaner were very good and attentive, and were easy to understand. Overall, we highly recommended Shambani.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gshapcrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed at Shambani cottages, in the Baobob villa. We found it to be a lovely and spacious accommodation; perfect for a large family. The air conditioning in the bedrooms was especially appreciated. The pool onsite is close by (approximately 500 m) and is very private since it is only shared with the 7 other cottages on site. The many small gardens and open spaces on the grounds makes the place feel very welcoming – it does not feel like a large resort or compound. The staff is friendly and complete daily check-ins to make sure you are having a wonderful vacation and if repairs are needed they are handled promptly. The driver, Salim picked us up at the airport and took us to the grocery store on the first day to get the bulk of our groceries, since we had a hired a cook through the cottages. This option was greatly appreciated because we did not want to take a taxi or rent a car.
Diani beach is a short walk away from the compound and is clean, safe and good for swimming and walking. Overall, we enjoyed our time here immensely, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e_fougere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed in Shambani during cristhmas and new year 2010-2011 with to of my friends. The cottage was nice, people are very friendly. Pool is ok, expect that more than once during the best swimming time there was some clening going and you couldn't use the pool. Security is good, 24 hours the day. If you are a light sleeper that might be a problem çause there are quite many dogs that sometimes bark really loud during night. Location isn't the best possible, nearest beach is quite rocky and all the places where tourists hang a round (like 40 thieves) are many kilometetrs away. But shop is quite near and if you mostly want to hang in pool and stuff it's really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellavTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
440 reviews
6.9 mi away
PrideInn Express Diani
PrideInn Express Diani
#19 of 29 in Diani Beach
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
#11 of 70 in Diani Beach
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambani Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambani Cottages

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Price Range: £30 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shambani Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shambani Cottages Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing