We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
435
34
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
34
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater loversitalian couplebeach bagbar stoolsrooms are beautifully appointedthe turtle shaped poolunbelievable foodgrass umbrellasrooms surroundlovely detailsthe penthouseitalian touchswing bedsmall hoteleach cottagedhow safaribig trees
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Nice hotel, in a very nice beach, where swimming is always possible with high or low tide.
The hotel is beautifully designed, and rooms are spacious and pleasant. There is an attention to the details in the decoration not only in the rooms but also the common places. Good to have complimentary wi-fi. However no mini bar/fridge in rooms and mattress very hard.
On the low side, disappointing hospitality, Waterlovers is not a guest house nor a real hotel and there is somehow an absent or loose management. Food overpriced and not corresponding to the choice available or the gastronomy standards ( better restaurants several steps higher in gastronomy and lower prices exist in the neighborhood). For example the need to decide in the early morning on what to eat at lunch and diner is not so pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pietisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Waterlovers Beach Resort, Kenya.
At our small place, we always seek opportunities to excel and consistently strive to exceed the expectations of our guest. As our valued guest, your feedback is extremely important to us.
We're glad to read that you liked our place, the location the details and the rooms, and we re ready to get suggestions to make it better. Sorry if some of the services were not at your expectations. Regarding the mattress we have the possibility to change them on request (soft to midium to hard). For the prices of the meals some clients says that we're cheap and some says that we're expensive, but of course we think it depends a lot from the clients expectations.
I can see that I mentioned the prices for the meals already before your arrival in an email directly to you, and we discounted the baby dinner from your bill for the 1st night, on your request. Fortunately as you say there are many restaurants and beach bar around as an alternative, so everybody can find a good solution for their pockets. For the minibar we'll consider you suggestion to add it in our rooms, thanks.
For the booking of the meals in the morning, we try to do a healthy cooking, so we get the fresh fish and all other fresh ingredients from the fishermans and from the market in the morning,
trying to give you the best quality (we avoid frozen food as much as possible). In case our clients are not sure in the morning time, we're still flexible to have the order placed in the arch of the day (as long as we have the time to get it done properly). Time is precious for us in order to serve a good meal since many of our plates request long procedures to come out the way they are (like the home made pastas, or the long marinated seafood).
Alternatively we also have a snack menu, were is possible to order last minute dishes, like hamburghers, salads, tempuras, fruit plates, ice creams etc. Regarding the variety, being a small place we decided to give priority to the quality,
(again is a specific choice) so we have a set menu with an alternative between seafood and non seafood, with a vegetarian menu on the side for vegetarians. Having only 8 rooms we had to choose if we wanted to serve a selected, good and sometime sophisticated food, or do a lot of meals but without the same result on the quality.
Regarding the absent or loose management we don't understand, since we have two available and kind managers all the time on duty , plus we (me and my wife) live on the site 24 hrs, and we remember clearly that we asked you at least once a day if everything was going fine and if we could do something else for you.
Anyway we'll keep treasure of all your advices, hoping to be better at your next visit .
All the best.
Riccardo and Valentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Hey!! Stop searching!! I found it, paradise. It is here!!

Amazing place... 6 days there my family. Lovely couple that has the place and has built it on the beach. Very nice cottages with AC. So relaxed and friendly. Food is cross african and italian, top european standard.

//Staffan

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Wow! What a great review!
Thanks a lot, you'll always be welcome here!
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the WL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

So many pluses for this hotel because its a small one. First the food was not served buffet as most hotels in Kenya, they use Table d'hôte menus for lunch and dinner and the food was always fresh and tasty. At breakfast there was variety of cereal, cookies, yogurt etc tea, coffee and bacon, eggs and sausage served on request, they got it right when it came to food.
The rooms were big, clean, wonderful views, nice big comfy bed, and air conditioning and a fan, WiFi, iPod docking station, and enough storage space.
The service was good, very personal and the dinners were set up very well, candlelit, in the sand facing the ocean or at the top of the tower with a view of the whole place, very private, romantic, quiet with the sound of the ocean, just perfect!
They have an infinity pool and the pool area had hammocks, swing beds and seats, seats with foot pool?, they put a lot of thought into comfort, luxury, and privacy.
Our only issue with this hotel was the food and drinks were a bit pricey.
All in all we had a perfect honeymoon, Diani is a very beautiful place and this hotel was the icing on the cake for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a perfect view of the ocean, clean and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear friends,
thanks for this beautifull feed-back.
Your time to leave it is one of the biggest award for our job.
Hope to have the chance to meet you again.
Good life!
Riccardo Valentina Sara Sole and the rest of the WL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My Husband and I have just spent 11 nights in this wonderful place, It is without a doubt, the best place the stay in Diani Beach, the best beach resort we have ever stayed in.

The website gives you all the info you need, The pictures are true, and in person the place is even more magical. The rooms are just beautiful, cleverly designed and beautifully decorated, and very clean. Take a look at the selection of leaflets in the room as they have taken the time to create a photo book of the construction from August 2007-July 2008, very impressive,

The food here is just delicious, Valentina has created all the recipes herself from her 'passion for cooking' the portions sizes are great, so you never go hungry. Breakfast is a treat as well, mini croissants and quiches, with all the usual cooked breakfast and fresh fruit. Dinner is served outside on the beach area and tables are moved around every night so you get to experience different views of the resort at night, very romantic :)

Nothing is a problem, any question or query is assisted with a genuine smile and a helpful answer. The staff are just lovely too, really friendly people who all seem very happy which is nice. The ground staff will help with anything while you're relaxing in the sun, moving your sunbed, helping with the free kayaks etc. you're made to feel special The owners also come around and introduce themselves, have a chat, get to know you, and everyday will pass by and say hello.

The place is great to see the family of Colobus monkey's running and jumping around the palm trees, vervet & sykes monkeys are always on the look out for food which can be quite amusing they are all located in the trees on the man made beach which is what the cottages are built on.

We wish Riccado & Valentina and their lovely family all the best and send best wishes for the safe arrival of baby in July, as they really have put in the effort, we hope to have the opportunity to visit Waterlovers again.

Mary & Trevor Wilson

Room Tip: We had the Hippo cottage, beautiful ground floor room with lovely views, all rooms are good, if you want to photograph the monkeys the top floor is better but can be a bit noisy when they decide to run and jump on your roof.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice-Maude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Wow!! Thanks for taking the time to write down this really nice and detailed
comment about your stay with us.
This is one of the best we ever received!!
I could go on thanking you for a while, but the true is that we really enjoyed your presence,
and we hope to have a little bit of it again.
You'll have always a special room waiting for you in case you decide to come back to this corner of the world.
All the best, and more!
Riccardo Valentina Sara Sole and the rest of the WL staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The best boutique hotel we have stayed in- immaculate service, friendly staff, the place is spotless, the rooms are well designed and spoacious, and the overall experience was magnificant. Ricardo and Valentino's personal attention was just the right balance. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris2010hendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Southafrican friends,
it's been really nice to have you here.
Your words are the best reward for us..
You'll always be welcome in our small place.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the Waterlovers team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews