We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beach getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Highly recommended. Went with my boyfriend for some R&R. Wonderful. Beautiful setting, well-accommodated rooms, intimate, small hotel that is very well taken care of. Right on the beautiful beach. Fun bars and restaurants in walking distance, or cheap, short taxi ride. The staff was super friendly and managers were very helpful in assisting with day trip plans and meals (and cabs to get there) elsewhere.

Restaurant at hotel was inconsistent and generally not worth the high price, especially for lunch and dinner. Bar closes very early.


Tip: the guys on the beach who are based next to the hotel selling their crafts will leave you alone once you buy something. We waited a couple days, but would suggest you buy something right away for peace during the rest of your stay when you go to and from the ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizabetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write this beautifull review,
your suggestions are also welcome to improve our services.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the WL staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

The layout and setting of this resort is brilliant. With the pool overlooking the sea, white powder sand all over and terrific seating areas, this is one of the nicest resorts we have been to. Perfect for those who like small hotels and personalised service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KilifisWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thanks for taking the effort to write your nice review.
It was really nice to meet you and your beautifull family.
Hope to see you again.
All the best
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The owners at Waterlovers, Riccardo and Valentina, should be proud of themselves for creating such a well designed and creative small hotel. There is attention to detail in every little thing.
Just with 1 villa and 8 rooms, by the beach, it is a very private and exclusive environment.
Food and service are very good. However, recommend to not take full-board option, and allow yourself to experience other restaurants in the area, such as Sails at Almanara, just a few kms down the road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoseHenriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thanks for your beautifull words,
we're happy to read that you noticed the details of our small place,
and glad that we've been able to provide a good time for you here with us.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Nice hotel, in a very nice beach, where swimming is always possible with high or low tide.
The hotel is beautifully designed, and rooms are spacious and pleasant. There is an attention to the details in the decoration not only in the rooms but also the common places. Good to have complimentary wi-fi. However no mini bar/fridge in rooms and mattress very hard.
On the low side, disappointing hospitality, Waterlovers is not a guest house nor a real hotel and there is somehow an absent or loose management. Food overpriced and not corresponding to the choice available or the gastronomy standards ( better restaurants several steps higher in gastronomy and lower prices exist in the neighborhood). For example the need to decide in the early morning on what to eat at lunch and diner is not so pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pietisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Waterlovers Beach Resort, Kenya.
At our small place, we always seek opportunities to excel and consistently strive to exceed the expectations of our guest. As our valued guest, your feedback is extremely important to us.
We're glad to read that you liked our place, the location the details and the rooms, and we re ready to get suggestions to make it better. Sorry if some of the services were not at your expectations. Regarding the mattress we have the possibility to change them on request (soft to midium to hard). For the prices of the meals some clients says that we're cheap and some says that we're expensive, but of course we think it depends a lot from the clients expectations.
I can see that I mentioned the prices for the meals already before your arrival in an email directly to you, and we discounted the baby dinner from your bill for the 1st night, on your request. Fortunately as you say there are many restaurants and beach bar around as an alternative, so everybody can find a good solution for their pockets. For the minibar we'll consider you suggestion to add it in our rooms, thanks.
For the booking of the meals in the morning, we try to do a healthy cooking, so we get the fresh fish and all other fresh ingredients from the fishermans and from the market in the morning,
trying to give you the best quality (we avoid frozen food as much as possible). In case our clients are not sure in the morning time, we're still flexible to have the order placed in the arch of the day (as long as we have the time to get it done properly). Time is precious for us in order to serve a good meal since many of our plates request long procedures to come out the way they are (like the home made pastas, or the long marinated seafood).
Alternatively we also have a snack menu, were is possible to order last minute dishes, like hamburghers, salads, tempuras, fruit plates, ice creams etc. Regarding the variety, being a small place we decided to give priority to the quality,
(again is a specific choice) so we have a set menu with an alternative between seafood and non seafood, with a vegetarian menu on the side for vegetarians. Having only 8 rooms we had to choose if we wanted to serve a selected, good and sometime sophisticated food, or do a lot of meals but without the same result on the quality.
Regarding the absent or loose management we don't understand, since we have two available and kind managers all the time on duty , plus we (me and my wife) live on the site 24 hrs, and we remember clearly that we asked you at least once a day if everything was going fine and if we could do something else for you.
Anyway we'll keep treasure of all your advices, hoping to be better at your next visit .
All the best.
Riccardo and Valentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Hey!! Stop searching!! I found it, paradise. It is here!!

Amazing place... 6 days there my family. Lovely couple that has the place and has built it on the beach. Very nice cottages with AC. So relaxed and friendly. Food is cross african and italian, top european standard.

//Staffan

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Wow! What a great review!
Thanks a lot, you'll always be welcome here!
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the WL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

So many pluses for this hotel because its a small one. First the food was not served buffet as most hotels in Kenya, they use Table d'hôte menus for lunch and dinner and the food was always fresh and tasty. At breakfast there was variety of cereal, cookies, yogurt etc tea, coffee and bacon, eggs and sausage served on request, they got it right when it came to food.
The rooms were big, clean, wonderful views, nice big comfy bed, and air conditioning and a fan, WiFi, iPod docking station, and enough storage space.
The service was good, very personal and the dinners were set up very well, candlelit, in the sand facing the ocean or at the top of the tower with a view of the whole place, very private, romantic, quiet with the sound of the ocean, just perfect!
They have an infinity pool and the pool area had hammocks, swing beds and seats, seats with foot pool?, they put a lot of thought into comfort, luxury, and privacy.
Our only issue with this hotel was the food and drinks were a bit pricey.
All in all we had a perfect honeymoon, Diani is a very beautiful place and this hotel was the icing on the cake for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a perfect view of the ocean, clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear friends,
thanks for this beautifull feed-back.
Your time to leave it is one of the biggest award for our job.
Hope to have the chance to meet you again.
Good life!
Riccardo Valentina Sara Sole and the rest of the WL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My Husband and I have just spent 11 nights in this wonderful place, It is without a doubt, the best place the stay in Diani Beach, the best beach resort we have ever stayed in.

The website gives you all the info you need, The pictures are true, and in person the place is even more magical. The rooms are just beautiful, cleverly designed and beautifully decorated, and very clean. Take a look at the selection of leaflets in the room as they have taken the time to create a photo book of the construction from August 2007-July 2008, very impressive,

The food here is just delicious, Valentina has created all the recipes herself from her 'passion for cooking' the portions sizes are great, so you never go hungry. Breakfast is a treat as well, mini croissants and quiches, with all the usual cooked breakfast and fresh fruit. Dinner is served outside on the beach area and tables are moved around every night so you get to experience different views of the resort at night, very romantic :)

Nothing is a problem, any question or query is assisted with a genuine smile and a helpful answer. The staff are just lovely too, really friendly people who all seem very happy which is nice. The ground staff will help with anything while you're relaxing in the sun, moving your sunbed, helping with the free kayaks etc. you're made to feel special The owners also come around and introduce themselves, have a chat, get to know you, and everyday will pass by and say hello.

The place is great to see the family of Colobus monkey's running and jumping around the palm trees, vervet & sykes monkeys are always on the look out for food which can be quite amusing they are all located in the trees on the man made beach which is what the cottages are built on.

We wish Riccado & Valentina and their lovely family all the best and send best wishes for the safe arrival of baby in July, as they really have put in the effort, we hope to have the opportunity to visit Waterlovers again.

Mary & Trevor Wilson

Room Tip: We had the Hippo cottage, beautiful ground floor room with lovely views, all rooms are good, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice-Maude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Wow!! Thanks for taking the time to write down this really nice and detailed
comment about your stay with us.
This is one of the best we ever received!!
I could go on thanking you for a while, but the true is that we really enjoyed your presence,
and we hope to have a little bit of it again.
You'll have always a special room waiting for you in case you decide to come back to this corner of the world.
All the best, and more!
Riccardo Valentina Sara Sole and the rest of the WL staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
2.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,371 reviews
2.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,023 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £212 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites, 1 villa and the ocean penthouse) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and MP3 docking station, complimentary iPads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone with local line, private security 24/7, etc... The boutique hotel features also a spa, a small art shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing