We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

A wonderful end to our holiday, we stayed here for 3 nights to relax after a busy 6 days safari. The attention to detail made it a very special place, and the owners' personal design was truly individual. For the small number of guests, Waterlovers is set in ample space, giving a spacious and exclusive feel. The staff were very friendly and the food was fabulous (despite the fairly slow service). Some water sports available if you want to be active, but always something going on on the beach if you just want to laze around!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank VickiPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thanks for this beautiful feedback,
it's nice to read that you really enjoyed our small place.
Hope to have the chance and the privilege to host you again
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    34
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
220
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The first thing: the average rating is most probably comes from a personal taste and has nothing to do with the quality.

We stayed here for four days. The hotel itself is very nice all rooms are looking at the sea. Even the little details were worked out very nice in the room (ie. we stayed at the Rhino cottage and we had a huge rhino statue and the handle of the doors were shaping a rhino face... I liked that). I did not like that the floor is made of (very nice) stone, but I guess that is the only way to do it if you are a resort.

We had half board, food was plenty and tasty.

The only issue is that there is nothing to do there. Nothing. You can lay around on the beach and look at the sea. So after two day I started to be extremely frustrated. Also it is very little. So there is a very slight chance that you will find people there who you can talk to.

If you want to go to the sea, you have to struggle yourself through the people trying to sell you stuff. Therefore I was playing a little game: when they were not looking I was running to the sea and I only came back when they were not looking again, since before you reach the steps of the hotel, they literally run to sell you something.

Outside the hotel there is a small shopping area with a decent supermarket. There you can buy what you need and there is also a reasonably priced gift shop. (It takes 3 minutes to get there, pretty disappointing way... Security guards, hawkers everywhere...)

I also think that the hotel is very expensive, however maybe it was due to the season.

So overall: only go if you are planning nothing else but sleeping and enjoying the sun. For that it is perfect, but if you like things going on I do not recommend.

Ps.: The monkeys are cute in the garden. However you are not allowed to feed them :( (Okay, that is understandable...)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bumbi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear guest,
thanks for your feedback. We are happy for your appreciation of the location, the rooms and the details.
We can see that your majour concern were the activities and the beach boys on the public beach.
Regarding the activities to be done here, really sorry if you didn't find the ones for you.
Infact we moved here from Italy and started the resort back in 2008 just because of the many possibility you have to enjoy the outdoors activities all year round in this corner of the world (also our name, Waterlovers, comes from our passion for the Ocean and the watersports).
There is an information booklet in every room with the possibilities in the resort and in the area. We're also available to provide extra information to all our guest on request.
Starting with the watersports for example, you can enjoy kitesurf, since we have a kite center directly at our beach house, for rentals and lessons (H2O extreme). Then we have a Windsurf center just next door (lessons and rentals available). You can also enjoy diving (Diani Marine and Diving the Crab working with us , and they come and pick all our guest divers for their dives almost every day directly from here). Then we have deep sea fishing partner (in the rooms we have the brochure for Get Hooked fishing professionals, they also come to pick our guest with their boat directly here). Then you can visit the coral reef or the sand bank in front of us with a ngalawa (traditional wooden boat, approx 7 euro per trip for the all boat, we organize it) or with our kayaks (included for our guest free of charge). Also practicing golf is just nearby (3 kms from us). Snorkeling is fantastic too and we provide the equipment free of charge. If you don't want to walk, you can rent mountain bikes (we bring you the bikes directly here) and you can ride them on the beach (really cool), and in low and medium tide you can visit all 25 kmts of white pristine Diani Beach and stop for a coffee or an Icecreams at some of the beach bars along the way (cost is approx 13 euro for 24 hrs rental per bike).
Otherwise you can go for daily excursions: one option is a wonderful safari aboard a dhow, the typical Arabic sailboats, to visit Wasini Island and Kisite Marine Park, where you can see dolphins in their natural habitat, and if you're lucky, you can swim with them; another beautiful excursion is to go to Funzi Island, where you visit a fishing village, relax on a sand bank and see a wonderful mangrove landscape; you can finally go for a short daily safari to Shimba Hills to visit the Elephant Sanctuary or the Shimba Hills Natural Reserve. Other interesting excursion
is the one to the old town in Mombasa. Also just nearby we have a couple of property with an interesting architecture that you can visit (even at a walking distance)
For the social life, it's true that we're a small resort, and this is a choice that our guest know from the beginning, but we believe that exactly in a small resort the social life can be better than the big and spersonalized hotels. First of all with us (as you saw we meet personally all our guests) and then also for the intimate and casual environment we offer here.
Regarding the problem of the beach boys it's something going on outside of our property, so we cannot take any responsability for that. Anyway, we still want to give you our opinion, since it's an issue raised also from other guests.
We have a private beach inside WL and then there is a public beach down to the sea.
We don't allow beach boys (or any other outside guest) in our private beach, which is exclusively reserved for our in-guest, and they can enjoy it all day (sunbeds, beach
bar with music, swimming pool, table with small pool on the feet
level, hammocks, swinging chairs, restaurant etc).
Anyway we cannot stop the beach boys to do their business on the public beach,
since it's out of our property, in the public land.
First of all, we can definitely say that there is no safety concern
walking on this area of Diani beach. It's not that these beach boys
are criminals and they can aggress you in the middle of the day in the
middle of the beach. That's never happened, even because on the beach
there are always a lot of people, and there is our beach guard looking
at our guest from the resort edge . For a kenyan to talk to tourists is not illegal.
The fact is that selling is part of the swahili culture, you cannot change it,
infact , travelling to this country, you should be aware if this aspect.
This people have been influenced by the arabs during the many invasions of the last centuries.
Like the arabs (especially the kenyan at the coast) the commerce is
one their first ability and resource for survival. Said so, my wife,
blonde and white like a german, goes walking everyday on the beach
(this for the last 6 years) , and she looks at them and tells them
that she's not interested to buy anything from the beginning, and they
stop following her .
Hope these words can be an inetersting prospective for the rest of the possible and past clients following us on Tripadvisor.
Thanks for giving us the opportunity to talk about it.
We hope to have the pleasure toi meet you again, and maybe enjoy some activities together here at Waterlovers Beach Resort.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the Waterlovers Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Had a wonderful 2 night stay here in Aug 2013.
Top things I liked :
1. The location, lovely beach front property. Could hear the waves throughout the day even in our room.
2. Good shopping nearby for curios, good supermarket nearby all at walking distance
3. Comfortable rooms, decorated with good taste
4. Lots of trees
5. Not crowded
6. Good service. One slight suggestion - the wait for some of the meals could have been shorter, but overall a very positive experience.
7. The staff was very polite and made us feel welcome and comfortable.

Thank you Waterlovers for a wonderful experience !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thanks for your positive feedback and for your precious suggestion too.
It was really nice meeting you.
Hope to see you again.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for four nights but wanted more... Perfect quiet location on the white sands of Diani beach, spacious and Swahili-style decorated rooms, good food, very helpful staff and plenty of nice little touches that make the difference when you are on holiday!

Would definitely go back again - Christian & Anna

Room Tip: We stayed in "Elephant Room" with lovely view of the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind feedback,
it was nice meeting you.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again,
since you'll always be welcome here!
All the best.
Riccardo and Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at Waterlovers for 5 nights on a B&B basis to round off our honeymoon in Kenya. The private beach area is fantastic to really relax (which we appreciated as there are a significant number of hawkers on the main beach itself). There is a small pool to cool off in, and plenty of loungers and swing chairs to take your pick from. We ate lunch here every day, enjoying really fresh salads and smoothies. We also had dinner at the resort a couple of times, and it was excellent quality in a beautiful setting. The resort had a nice feel, particularly helped by Richard being so cheerful and helpful, particularly if you wanted to go kayaking, and the managers booking meals out and organising taxis for us. A fantastic way to end our honeymoon!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 696Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thanks a lot to you for choosing us for your honeymoon,
we're really honoured to see that you enjoyed your special trip here with us.
We wish you all the best for your new life.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the Waterlovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This was our 5th visit and again it was outstanding!! It still feels like a little paradise for us :-)
What more can you want then a quite, romantic and intimate place with a beautiful furnished room, good food and a very friendly staff, always ready to help but never being pushy. With views of a white beach, the deep blue ocean, palm trees and colourful local Kenyans. What more could you wish for………………like I said before: “a little paradise”. We really are able to completely relax and unwind while staying here.
Thanks Riccardo, Valentina and the rest of WL staff, we really enjoyed our stay!!!
See you ....Jet&Jack

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
The fact that you came back to stay with us again is already the biggest privilege for someone working in the hospitality. A deep thanks to our bigger supporters of all time.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WLovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We visited here late May and its in a lovely location on the beach. The rooms are well positioned and we had a gorgeous view of the sea. The sand is used for floor covering between the bar, restaurant and rooms, with only one wooden walkway, so you do feel as if you're on the beach. The room was a decent size with a good balcony and a good sized en-suite. The decor is very rustic and I would have preferred smoother floor tiles in the rooms that could be washed more easily, from a practical point. The staff were helpful and brought drinks to the room if asked. The manager was very nice and she made herself available by working in the dining area. It was nice to see and hear the owners young children playing as it gave the place a family feel.
There was access to snorkling equipment and a kayak and possibly more, free, so it was fun to go out to the coral reef and watch the fish, (my first time snorkelling). The staff also arranged for someone responsible, to take us out to the reef as we were beginners, in a hollowed out mango tree canoe their grandfather had made, to be recommended.
If there was anything that I didn't like it was the waterlovers branding on the bed, chairs, towels etc. and I would have liked more seafood, simple, without too many sauces. Otherwise go and have a lovely relaxing time, but watch out for the mozzies as eating is in the openair.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Myra68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thanks for the nice review and for the precious advice on what to improve.
For the food the only thing we can add to your feedback is that we offer (on request),
to cook custom special meals. So to prepare something like a simple grilled fish or beef fillet, or anything simple if requested, is not a problem for us.
Hope to have the chance to host you again.
All the best
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
995 reviews
2.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
205 reviews
2.5 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
160 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Property: Waterlovers Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites, 1 villa and the ocean penthouse) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and MP3 docking station, complimentary iPads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone with local line, private security 24/7, etc... The boutique hotel features also a spa, a small art shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing