We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury, relaxation and superb service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterlovers Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury, relaxation and superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is simply paradise. The hotel is small and luxurious, and the service it top quality in every aspect of the hotel from porter to management - even to the extent that they anticipate what the guests may want/wish for and provide it.
Everybody at Waterlovers went that much further to make over stay there memorable and unique.
Thank you!

Room Tip: We loved having the lower room in the bungalows, but really all rooms are fab. All have see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders_ChristensenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
We're really happy to read your nice feedback,
it gives us the energy to improve more and more!
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    33
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
212
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and spent 6 nights at Water Lovers after safaring in the Masai Mara and we are so glad we did! This is something I would highly recommend, any Safari trip should be accompanied by some r&r at the beach. From the moment we walked into the Water Lovers resort we fell in love with it, the setting and environment is perfect. There is tremendous attention to detail in the rooms with hand craved ornaments, door nobs and statues in every room. We thought the food was delicious and pass this onto the pass and on our last day they presented us with a beautiful recipe book. One of the aspects we loved the most was the intimate feel of the place, making it a perfect getaway for couples. Even though it was fully occupied throughout most of our stay it never felt crowed, in fact most of the time it felt like we had the resort to ourselves. To add to this the owners and the staff were all lovely.
My only word of warning would be to watch out for the monkeys, they can smell a banana from a mile away so don't leave any fruits unattended :)

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thanks for taking the time to put this great comment,
we really enjoyed to meet you (also the monkeys did!)
Hope to see you again.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after attending a 3 day wedding in Nairobi ie just what the doctor ordered. Super relaxing and stress free. Lots of r +r - Very lazy days with no guilt!
Stunning setting. Attention to detail throughout was amazing especially with all the bespoke furniture. Run by a lovely couple who had the right balance of friendliness without being in any way intrusive. Staff were also so friendly and v professional.You can borrow the kayaks and go snorkelling out at the sand banks only 10min rowing!! Then back for some well deserved tuskers! We found the food to be excellent so we didn't bother leaving water lovers as nothing nicer than wandering down for dinner barefoot! Most of all we loved the size of this resort....small and intimate!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sterrin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave this beautifull feedback,
it's been nice to meet you, and hope to see you again.
You'll always be welcome here
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

After 3 nights in Nairobi followed by 10 nights in tented camps, we were extremely happy to find ourselves at one of the most beautiful locations on earth - Waterlovers Beach Resort. The rooms are lovely, the view is unbeatable, but most important the staff and owners are attentive and helpful. Put all of this together and you have an ideal beach resort. We ate breakfast and lunch at the resort but ventured out for dinner every night. The owners gave us dinner recommendations while the manager made reservations and ordered a taxi for our group of 6. I gave the resort 5 stars but I would increase the rating to 7 stars if the rooms had a small frig and a hot pot for coffee/tea.

TIP: Get up early and enjoy the sunrise - it was stunning.

I want to address a couple of the concerns that other reviewers have voiced. One reviewer said that there was "nothing to do". We found lots to do - people watching, reading a great novel, kayaking, swimming, long walks, talking to other guests from around the world, cocktails by the pool, and wonderful meals.

Regarding the beach boys and venders - we did not have any problems. We went for long walks every morning starting at sunrise. We saw a few venders on the beach at that hour but most just said Jambo. One morning I walked by myself and was approached by a couple of beach boys. I said hello, told them I was exercising and that I wanted to walk alone. Everybody was friendly and everyone let me walk alone without any harassment. We were friendly and courteous to the venders but told them that we aren't shoppers and didn't intend to buy anything. They said hello as we went to the beach but nothing more. We spend time at many beaches in developing countries and beach venders are everywhere - Diani Beach actually had relatively few venders.

Good job Ricardo and Valentina - you have a wonderful resort with fabulous staff and we hope we have the opportunity to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Well, don't know what to say, your comment is just beautifull!
Thanks a lot. It was really a pleasure to meet you.
This is the first time that somebody takes also the time to read and to answer to the other feedbacks.
We really appreciate it. Hope to be able to host you again.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at Waterlovers for 4 nights after an exhausting 7 days on safari and it was the perfect place to relax. It only has 8 rooms which means it is not crowded, very quiet and great customer service. I read another review about the detail in Rhino cottage - we were in Elephant cottage which had a large wooden elephant statue and elephant handles on the wardrobes so I guess all rooms have that individuality. The Italian owners built it themselves a few years ago and the place is amazing in design - we loved all the wood used in different ways (even down to the towel rail in the bathroom). There are many different seating places with their own quirks which is novel. We never sat on a normal sunbeds the entire time we were there as there was more interesting seating to use which were in the shade which was what we wanted. The food was lovely and you select what you want at breakfast so they can cook it fresh - I lived off the seafood dishes in the evening which were all delicious and my partner went for the meat option each time which were equally as good. I love the fact they seat you in a different place each evening (all outside) and on your last evening you get to dine on your own in the open air room above the bar - it makes you feel very special. My partner is not good at relaxing but he sat for hours just staring out to sea, I have never seen him so chilled. Just what we needed after the hectic week we had just had so a big thanks to everyone who made it so relaxing for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
With feedbacks like this, we just started looking for new things to surprise you at your next visit!
Wish you all the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

A wonderful end to our holiday, we stayed here for 3 nights to relax after a busy 6 days safari. The attention to detail made it a very special place, and the owners' personal design was truly individual. For the small number of guests, Waterlovers is set in ample space, giving a spacious and exclusive feel. The staff were very friendly and the food was fabulous (despite the fairly slow service). Some water sports available if you want to be active, but always something going on on the beach if you just want to laze around!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank VickiPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thanks for this beautiful feedback,
it's nice to read that you really enjoyed our small place.
Hope to have the chance and the privilege to host you again
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
119 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The first thing: the average rating is most probably comes from a personal taste and has nothing to do with the quality.

We stayed here for four days. The hotel itself is very nice all rooms are looking at the sea. Even the little details were worked out very nice in the room (ie. we stayed at the Rhino cottage and we had a huge rhino statue and the handle of the doors were shaping a rhino face... I liked that). I did not like that the floor is made of (very nice) stone, but I guess that is the only way to do it if you are a resort.

We had half board, food was plenty and tasty.

The only issue is that there is nothing to do there. Nothing. You can lay around on the beach and look at the sea. So after two day I started to be extremely frustrated. Also it is very little. So there is a very slight chance that you will find people there who you can talk to.

If you want to go to the sea, you have to struggle yourself through the people trying to sell you stuff. Therefore I was playing a little game: when they were not looking I was running to the sea and I only came back when they were not looking again, since before you reach the steps of the hotel, they literally run to sell you something.

Outside the hotel there is a small shopping area with a decent supermarket. There you can buy what you need and there is also a reasonably priced gift shop. (It takes 3 minutes to get there, pretty disappointing way... Security guards, hawkers everywhere...)

I also think that the hotel is very expensive, however maybe it was due to the season.

So overall: only go if you are planning nothing else but sleeping and enjoying the sun. For that it is perfect, but if you like things going on I do not recommend.

Ps.: The monkeys are cute in the garden. However you are not allowed to feed them :( (Okay, that is understandable...)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bumbi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear guest,
thanks for your feedback. We are happy for your appreciation of the location, the rooms and the details.
We can see that your majour concern were the activities and the beach boys on the public beach.
Regarding the activities to be done here, really sorry if you didn't find the ones for you.
Infact we moved here from Italy and started the resort back in 2008 just because of the many possibility you have to enjoy the outdoors activities all year round in this corner of the world (also our name, Waterlovers, comes from our passion for the Ocean and the watersports).
There is an information booklet in every room with the possibilities in the resort and in the area. We're also available to provide extra information to all our guest on request.
Starting with the watersports for example, you can enjoy kitesurf, since we have a kite center directly at our beach house, for rentals and lessons (H2O extreme). Then we have a Windsurf center just next door (lessons and rentals available). You can also enjoy diving (Diani Marine and Diving the Crab working with us , and they come and pick all our guest divers for their dives almost every day directly from here). Then we have deep sea fishing partner (in the rooms we have the brochure for Get Hooked fishing professionals, they also come to pick our guest with their boat directly here). Then you can visit the coral reef or the sand bank in front of us with a ngalawa (traditional wooden boat, approx 7 euro per trip for the all boat, we organize it) or with our kayaks (included for our guest free of charge). Also practicing golf is just nearby (3 kms from us). Snorkeling is fantastic too and we provide the equipment free of charge. If you don't want to walk, you can rent mountain bikes (we bring you the bikes directly here) and you can ride them on the beach (really cool), and in low and medium tide you can visit all 25 kmts of white pristine Diani Beach and stop for a coffee or an Icecreams at some of the beach bars along the way (cost is approx 13 euro for 24 hrs rental per bike).
Otherwise you can go for daily excursions: one option is a wonderful safari aboard a dhow, the typical Arabic sailboats, to visit Wasini Island and Kisite Marine Park, where you can see dolphins in their natural habitat, and if you're lucky, you can swim with them; another beautiful excursion is to go to Funzi Island, where you visit a fishing village, relax on a sand bank and see a wonderful mangrove landscape; you can finally go for a short daily safari to Shimba Hills to visit the Elephant Sanctuary or the Shimba Hills Natural Reserve. Other interesting excursion
is the one to the old town in Mombasa. Also just nearby we have a couple of property with an interesting architecture that you can visit (even at a walking distance)
For the social life, it's true that we're a small resort, and this is a choice that our guest know from the beginning, but we believe that exactly in a small resort the social life can be better than the big and spersonalized hotels. First of all with us (as you saw we meet personally all our guests) and then also for the intimate and casual environment we offer here.
Regarding the problem of the beach boys it's something going on outside of our property, so we cannot take any responsability for that. Anyway, we still want to give you our opinion, since it's an issue raised also from other guests.
We have a private beach inside WL and then there is a public beach down to the sea.
We don't allow beach boys (or any other outside guest) in our private beach, which is exclusively reserved for our in-guest, and they can enjoy it all day (sunbeds, beach
bar with music, swimming pool, table with small pool on the feet
level, hammocks, swinging chairs, restaurant etc).
Anyway we cannot stop the beach boys to do their business on the public beach,
since it's out of our property, in the public land.
First of all, we can definitely say that there is no safety concern
walking on this area of Diani beach. It's not that these beach boys
are criminals and they can aggress you in the middle of the day in the
middle of the beach. That's never happened, even because on the beach
there are always a lot of people, and there is our beach guard looking
at our guest from the resort edge . For a kenyan to talk to tourists is not illegal.
The fact is that selling is part of the swahili culture, you cannot change it,
infact , travelling to this country, you should be aware if this aspect.
This people have been influenced by the arabs during the many invasions of the last centuries.
Like the arabs (especially the kenyan at the coast) the commerce is
one their first ability and resource for survival. Said so, my wife,
blonde and white like a german, goes walking everyday on the beach
(this for the last 6 years) , and she looks at them and tells them
that she's not interested to buy anything from the beginning, and they
stop following her .
Hope these words can be an inetersting prospective for the rest of the possible and past clients following us on Tripadvisor.
Thanks for giving us the opportunity to talk about it.
We hope to have the pleasure toi meet you again, and maybe enjoy some activities together here at Waterlovers Beach Resort.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the Waterlovers Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#11 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Property: Waterlovers Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites, 1 villa and the ocean penthouse) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and MP3 docking station, complimentary iPads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone with local line, private security 24/7, etc... The boutique hotel features also a spa, a small art shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing