We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chique place, great location, a perfect getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterlovers Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chique place, great location, a perfect getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Having lived a dozen years in Kenya and returning annually for vacations makes it hard to find new gems on the coast - luckily Waterlovers was just that, a gem right on the best beach (in my opinion), Diani Beach, south coast, Kenya. We stayed with our extended family in the villa (6 adults + 1 baby) enjoying the peace and quiet of a villa setting but also being able to use the pool and restaurant of the hotel (excellent food!). It feels very private since there are only a handful of hotel rooms and the villa at the back of the property. The place looks extremely chique, with a clear influence of Swahili design (all furniture was made of the beautiful African mwuli wood for example) and contemporary Mediterranean design. The beach is beautiful and there are plenty of activities for the active travellers (kit surfing, windsurfing, diving etc.), or one can just relax by the pool or beachside. The staff are friendly and helpful and the owners Riccardo and Valentina will ensure that your stay is more than enjoyable. Congratulations to the couple who have built and run this fantastic place.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter8877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
It was really a pleasure to host your beautifull family,
our is groing too, we have two daughters now!!
Hope to meet you again to share some good time .
All the best from Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    33
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
212
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

It looked too good to be true on the web site but we booked anyway. We arrived expecting, as one does, that it wouldn't be quite so good as depicted. We were wrong! if anything, it was better! What a location! A stones throw from white sands washed by the deep blue, Indian Ocean. Picturesque, spotless, accommodation, delightful pool and cool dining area, good food, cheerful, efficient service, charming hosts, you couldn't ask for anything better. We will be back as often as possible.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavendishthewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 December 2010
Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor!
It was really precious for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it.
We wish you a nice Christmas and happy new year!
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

On a short rough road, you would not think of what lies behind the big wooden mvuli gates. Unbeknown to a first-timer, when the gates open all you see is a small white reception building and a carport. The front of the reception boasts two Maasai sculptures proudly seated on each side of the reception desk, giving accolade to WATER LOVERS location.
Once at the reception, you are greeted by an ever-smiling receptionist, who gladly informs you that Valentina and Ricardo, the Italian owners, are on their way. Within a few minutes a smiling and jovial couple arrives to welcome you to WATER LOVERS Resort.
Their naturally welcoming and happy nature immediately makes you feel quite at home. It’s like they have known you for years.
As you leave the reception, you walk on a wooded pathway among indigenous trees and immediately the ocean breeze embraces you. The beautiful unique cottages on each side of the pathway, gives you a quiet tranquil. Their makuti (palm leaves) roofing immediately gives you the sense of how cool they are. Once inside a taste of African and Italian aura let’s you know that you will definitely be comfortable. The Swahili furniture ranging from an old canoe, to a comfortable king size Lamu bed makes you appreciate natural materials. The bathrooms are uniquely done in the same Swahili and Italian mix.
The Ocean view is awesome and the presence of beautiful white sand all around, including the whispering sound of the palm trees, gives you the best relaxation.
The pampering cuisine ranges from traditional Italian to fresh seafood dishes set individually at different dining locations within the premises.
This is a kind of resort which is conducive for every type of people, be they business executives, corporate personnel, young families, the elderly who are looking for a quiet place to relax.
In the morning Collobus and Velvet monkeys make their presence known as residents of WATER LOVERS.
If you are looking for a place that will make you feel relaxed, at home and part of WATER LOVERS community, without feeling like a guest, then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcosmoNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Wow!!!
I couldn't find such detailed description of our place
(even if we builded with our own hands), and so many nice words in a row ...
....are overwelming! ;)
Thanks a lot, we'll remember you .
One warm greeting from the Waterlovers
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

We found this place just by mistake, and like all the best thing is a hidden beauty,
I don't think is already famous on the touristic circuit, but one of the best places I ever stayed. (opened one year ago).
The best feeling is the continous discovery of new details, and the food is delicious (if you can try their homemade pasta with lobster.... and you'll see).
The owners are two italians, very friendly and always present in the place, they really made us feel at home.
We racommend this to travellers or to honeymooners looking for a 5 star service but in a relaxed enviroment.
Sorry to everybody for my english.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinzia_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
To work in the hospitality with guest like you is one of the most rewarding experience !!
Thanks for giving us the fuel to improve every day.
All the best from
Riccardo Valentina Sara Sole and the rest of the WL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

Hi all,

I stayed in Water Lovers in September with Friends and we loved it. I leave in Kenya since 2 years and I know pretty well all the hotels of Diani. I wanted to try something new and decided to test Water Lovers.
The owners are lovely people who will do everything to make you happy. The food is exquisite ( Italian oriented). There is a swimming-pool and all the rooms look out onto the sea.
This place also has a good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thanks a lot for your visit, and for spending some time to rate our small place.
It's been a pleasure to meet you, and we wish you all the best.
Riccardo Valentina Sara Sole and the WL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

After a great trip through Kenya (Samburu safari, Nairobi and Masai Mara safari), we ended up in Diani beach where we stayed for 4 days at the Water Lovers cottage on the beach. What a wonderful place to be! Great location (white beaches, palm trees, pool, ...), excellent food (combination of fresh local products with a fine Italian touch) and very friendly people. Ricardo and Valentina are a young Italian couple who left everything behind in Rome a few years ago to literally build their dream location. And it definitely became a dream location, not only for them but for everyone staying with them! They are surrounded by a friendly local staff, always ready to help out without being pushy at any time. Great stay, highly recommended place to visit!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write tjis beautifull comment,
hope to meet you again.
All the best from the staff of WaterLovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

The hotel has few elegant and spacious cottages and a luxory villa alls facing the transparent sea, that is just few steps away from your door. The place is quite, romantic and intimate. The restaurant has fine Italian food (the hotel is run by an Italian couple).
The scenary is great. The resort sits in one of the few withe beaches still without algs in Kenya. The service is very warm, everything is new, very stylish and furnished with great taste. The rates are great and very convenient compared with the food quality, the service, the beach and the resort structure. Summer time is a good period to go because the temperature is perfect to swim and have sun bath without swetting too much. For windsurfers and kitesurfers: there is always a constant wind and it's possible to go out everyday. There's also a reef just in front for kite waving. The owners to Kite and windsurf as well.
Then you can extend the sea holiday adding a safari in Masai Mara Reserve to see the Great Migration because there is a small airport in the village 15 minutes from the hotel with daily 2 hours direct flights to that National Reserve.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vdavale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Wow!
Thanks a lot for your beautifull review!!
We'll try to give our best next time we have the privilege to host you!
We really wish you all the best.
Riccardo Valentina Sara Sole and the rest of the WL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
2.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#2 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Property: Waterlovers Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites, 1 villa and the ocean penthouse) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and MP3 docking station, complimentary iPads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone with local line, private security 24/7, etc... The boutique hotel features also a spa, a small art shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing