We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, peaceful little gem on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2010

If you want to get away from it all and spend some time in beautiful, relaxed surroundings directly on the beach, Waterlovers it the place. The resort has only 8-9 spacious cabins, making it a small and personable place. The owners are Italian, so the food is far better than most places in the area.

It is also the place if you're into watersports. The owner himself goes kiting every afternoon, and you can rent boards and kites.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OsloLiNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor, It was very precious for us,
and many guest are booking because of it.
We wish you a happy Christmas.
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2010

We went to Diani Beach for Easter break and stayed at Waterlovers. The place was exactly what we expected: great service, great food, and perfect for a relaxing vacation. Each night the dining set up was different so that each guest could enjoy different views ranging from dining under the stars to dining on the "tower". The only thing we thought could be improved were the pillows and mattress, which were uncomfortable. The cottages were very well decorated with superior taste and quality. Overall, we had an amazing experience and would recommend this place over any other hotel in Diani Beach.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor, It was very precious for us,
and many guest are booking because of it.
We wish you a nice Christmas and a happy new year!
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I had a great time at Water Lovers. The place has a great beach, beautiful pool and rooms with a fantastic view of the sea.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcleeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor, It was very precious for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it.
We wish you a happy Christmas and New Year.
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

This is the ultimate experience - wonderful, personalized service without the formality that sometimes comes along with it. Everything is built so tastefully, with incredible attention to detail and with respect for the nature emersing the buildings. Monkies live in the trees. The constant breeze makes this the perfect base both for beach vacations and water activities. The white sand is less hot than the typical beach sand and adds to the beach experience.

Ask the staff to teach you the local game of boa when you need a break from the sun. Go on the Pilli Pipa-excursion. I will never forget swimming with wild dolphins - ever! Also safaries are within close reach + there are direct flights to Nairobi, Masai Mara etc from Diani Beach.

staying at the place itself is an experience, adding the food, the staff, riccardo and valentina + the great activities within reach of the resort you have an unforgettable vacation ahead of you.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
Thank petterjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor!
It was very precious for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it.
We wish you a happy Christmas and happu New Year.
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We can 100% recommend WaterLovers. It is exclusive with 8 spacious rooms – all beach facing with large balconies – all approx. 20 metres from the sea. All rooms have AC, individual design, large four-poster bed and are very clean.

It is run and owned by an extremely friendly and knowledgeable young kite-surfing Italian couple, and a team of friendly and capable local staff.

The whole experience is fantastic, the food is Italian influenced and matches the best European standards, the wine list is also good. The views are outstanding and every aspect of the hotel build is stunning down to every last detail – they also have 2 friendly boxer dogs as security guards.

We would definitely go again – you wont want to leave… in our experience it is by far the best option along Diani.

FYI: We strongly recommend flying to Ukunda / Diani if possible and miss out the ferry from Mombasa airport as you can queue for a few hours here

FYIFYI: From WaterLovers it is a 5 minute stroll along the beach to Forty Thieves Beach Bar and Disco

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCole99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor!
It was really precious for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it.
We wish you a nice Christmas and happy new year!
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We went to Kenya on safari before heading down to Diani Beach for 9 days. We had the pleasure of meeting Ricardo & Valentina (the owners) and spending our last few nights at Water Lovers.
This is a great alternative to the larger slightly soulless hotels which dominate the Diani Beach strip. As there are only 8 rooms you get a total feeling of privacy and seclusion despite being right in the middle of a bustling tourist area. Especially liked the swimming pool which feels like you're looking over the sea, and the other quirky and cool design features in the main area. Food was very good and staff were excellent (thanks to Lawrence, Michael, Bahari, Richard, Sudi and the rest of the team there). We borrowed the kayak one day and headed out to the reef which was fun.
Ricardo and Valentina's passion for hospitality really shines through - we definitely look forward to visiting WaterLovers and them again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor!
It was really precious for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it.
We wish you a nice Christmas and happy new year!
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

me and my wife arrived there on the 12th jan and were promptly met at mombasa airport by taxi sent from waterlovers as promised. accomodation is very good as is the food if one wants to eat there.the location cant be any better right on diani beach.,i used to have a swim every morning before b fast as the sea is only 2 minutes away from cottages. staff very good and very very friendly.hello to grace, ronald ,saidi michael and the rest of staff.only 2 things we missed a small fridge and a coffe maker in the cottage.ricardo the owner did say he was thinking of putting them in soon.i would recommend waterlovers very highly.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank woodhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor!
It was really important for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it.
We wish you a nice Christmas and happy new year!
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
453 reviews
2.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,362 reviews
2.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
290 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £215 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites, 1 villa and the ocean penthouse) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and MP3 docking station, complimentary iPads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone with local line, private security 24/7, etc... The boutique hotel features also a spa, a small art shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing