We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply idyllic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almanara Luxury Villas
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply idyllic.”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Let me start by this by saying we had an amazing experience with Almanara and we have already recommended the villas to friends, who are traveling there in the next few days.

When looking for a place in Kenya we were originally going to stay in Malindi, however on performing a Tripadvisor search I stumbled across Alamanara. After discovering they don't publish prices on their website I thought we'd never be able to afford this kind of luxury,and so emailed them for a quote just for a laugh. We were very pleasantly surprised, and after weighing up everything that's included, eg transfers from Mombasa, all meals, wine, beers etc, it actually worked out to be a very reasonable price. Especially considering you are waited on hand and foot throughout your stay!

We stayed from 25 November-2 December 2012, which is actually the lowest tourist season, however for us this was perfect. No kids, empty flights and bright blue skies with 30 degrees Celsius day and night. Perfect. In fact for the first 2 days of our stay we were the only guests in the entire complex.

From the minute we were greeted at Mombasa airport by our driver with a bottle of ice cold water, we knew we were in for a treat, and we were not disappointed. Throughout our entire stay we were made incredibly welcome, with daily visits from our hosts Luc and Jackie, just to check if we needed anything. Nothing is too much trouble and it really isn't intrusive at all. After leaving our iphone on the incoming BA flight to Nairobi, we needed to report it to the police for the insurance claim. On talking to Luc, we had our driver waiting and we were there and back within an hour. I might add that being escorted by a local is very helpful in these situations, although be prepared to sweeten the deal with the police chief with a few folding notes!

Anyway, back to the villas, you get a housekeeper, chef and butler. I imagined it would be very awkward, but it really wasn't and you get used to it very quickly, which is a bit of a shock when you get back home and have to cook your own breakfast! Each day you get asked what time and what you want for breakfast/lunch/dinner, which is perfect for people that really don't like to get up too early and conform to hotel's strict dining timings. Each meal is as many courses as you can fit in, and each chef and butler when not working in the villas works down at Sails on the beach. We were invited to a complimentary dinner here one night, with our staff serving and cooking for us (they generally follow you throughout your stay). Drinks are also included throughout your stay at Sails and the pool bar (not spirits).

I highly recommend a seafood platter, filled with lobster, king prawns, snapper and all sorts of other loveliness that would cost the Earth in England. You get all soft drinks, red and white wine included (which is South African and very good), spirits aren't included, but we bought a bottle of Tanqueray from the airport and asked for tonic and limes to be stocked in our fridge in advance, and each night before dinner Rose our waiter made us a mean G&T.

The best part about our holiday was the simplest thing. There was a washing basket outside our room and every morning our maid took our washing, by about 3pm it was washed, ironed and hung back in our wardrobe. Which of course meant we had nothing to do when we returned home except wash the clothes we travelled in. Brilliant!

What else can I say? We booked this villa independently, and so had to arrange payment on our own. After expressing concerns about transferring money to an account in Kenya, incurring charges, and let's face it, for us this was done on face value of a website. We were told we could pay when we got to the villas if it made us feel more comfortable. Therefore I can reassure everyone, this is a totally legitimate company and you can pay over the phone by credit card to their UK number, which is a company Leo owns, or when you get there.

On the whole a great place to stay with total luxury, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLCD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Your own luxurious, beautifully designed, air-conditioned villa; your own personal chef, housekeeper and butler; meals made to order; a great pool (and pool bar); gorgeous white sand beach; water sports; spa treatments; just everything you could possibly want from a luxury beach break. The rooms are kept spotless - I really appreciated that.

We were there for three nights and four days and can't overtstate how lovely all the staff (Rama, Wolex, Grace, Sarah, Kennedy, Julius, Jackie) were and how welcome and pampered they made us feel. Right from the bookings, to airport transfers and billing, Leo, the owner, was very efficient and always happy to answer any queries.

We didn't eat at Sails, which looked beautiful, because the food at the villa was just fantastic so we didn't really see the need.

We took a wind-surfing class, which was loads of fun - Hamisi is a great teacher. You can also take the dhow to an island not too far during low tide and have a small picnic or cocktail while you snorkel off the shores of the island.,

I will most definitely be coming back to Almanara - ahsanteni sana!

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 3, which is very close to the pool - ideal for a water baby like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keishamaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Keisha,

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to pamper and satisfy all of our guests and are thrilled to know that you left us, relaxed and happy.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best,

Leo Giovando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khartoum, Al Khartum, Sudan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

To start the reception with such hospitality at the door of your own personal Villa with the head of the management , a personal chef, a personal house keeper and a personal waiter, has been amazingly astonishing and a wonderful joy to our finale vacation in Kenya. From the wild bushes of Africa at the Masai Mara to the white sands of Diani in Mombasa.

The place is awesome , fanatically clean, air condition in each room and sitting hall, wonderful chef with a splendid food of your choice.

My wife & kids really enjoyed our stay...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khalididris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Jambo (Hello in Swahili)!! Wow....It’s hard to sum up in words how amazing this place really is. Following 3 long days on Safari, Myself and my partner stayed here from the 23.09.12 - 30.09.12 and can quite honestly say this was our best holiday yet. We are both under the impression that you only get so many holidays in a lifetime so therefore we like to broaden our horizons and try new places, however Almanara has changed our perception of this and we will return here, it will be hard to find a place that tops this.

Our villa was extremely spacious, given there was only two of us with 3 large bedrooms, all with on-suite was great. This felt like home from home, not your typical hotel room which you find in many places.

Food - well, what can i say, some of the best food we have sampled....and we like our fodda!! Patrick our chef was very talented in what he did, every single dish was tasty and to our liking. The seafood was to die for, biggest prawns i've ever eaten, Lobster, calamari, squid, octopus, oysters, whatever you wanted. If on the other hand you are not a seafood lover, then there are plenty of other dishes to choose from, pasta, steak, lamb, chicken kebabs....I can go on. The Swahili dinner is a must, but make sure you're hungry as it’s a BIG dinner! Thanks to our waiter Rama who worked very hard and provided us with many evenings of laughter.

The staff here is what makes this place so great, Gemma, Jackie & Leo (Managers/owners), Jayne (Maid), Julius (Pool barman) and as previously mentioned Patrick & Rama. Thank you all so much. Just the little things, such as popping by for a glass of vino and a general chit chat made this place feel like home with friends. We had an incident whereby after a few too many cocktails made by Julius at the pool bar, we dropped our camera in water, within 5 minutes Leo had brought us his laptop to our villa, so that we could check that our memory card wasn't damaged and following that, 5 minutes later a car was waiting for us outside to take us to the local shopping centre to purchase a new one. 1st Class Service!

I could go on forever, this place is a must try, you will not be disappointed!! Enjoy.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.

Dean & Kayleigh

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Kayleigh & Dean,

Thanks for your feedback, and great news that you had such a wonderful time with us. It was so much getting to you know both and we're expecting to see lot's more of you!

Julius will be standing by - perhaps with a good balance of cock & mocktails! Although i'm glad we managed to sort the camera issue out!

See you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our 5 days at Almanara was a joy. Beautiful location (the beach is simply spectacular), and the resort itself is well appointed and clearly thought through to allow it to feel expansive and luxurious without being stiff or too exclusive.

The villas have everything you could need, and the staff make absolutely sure you're looked after, going out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
In addition to this, the hosts and resort managers are approachable and make a point of checking in regularly to see if there's anything else you might need (this was a lovely touch to make the place feel welcoming).

We ate like kings throughout our stay, and such amazing seafood. Our chef cooked a variety of meals, things we'd particularly requested, but also local dishes which were fantastic. You would not go hungry!

The pool is lovely and secluded, but with a bar to offer refreshment throughout the day. And there are beautiful plants across the resort, with the occasional friendly monkey to keep you entertained for when your books gets a little dull.

And despite being relatively low key (on the scale of spa offerings in some resorts), Sarah provided excellent massages, better than many I've paid a lot more for in London!

We were incredibly lucky to hear about this resort, so thanks to our agents in London, Imagine Africa for suggesting. There are a number of resorts in the same area, and we'd looked into a few, but for the additional luxury we were looking for for this particular holiday (it was our honeymoon), I'm really glad they encouraged us to go to Almanara.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Hi Kate,

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon. It was a true pleasure to have hosted you both and we do hope to see you back here again soon.

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This review is long overdue, because we have wanted to keep Almanara to ourselves since "discovering" it 4 years ago! There is truly nothing to fault with this very special place. The villas are beautiful and spacious, the staff efficient and friendly, the food delicious and plentiful and the management superb. On top of that it's located on the most beautiful beach in the world! Over the years we have had every type of holiday at Almanara; family birthdays, romantic breaks, golf trips, as the tail end of safaris as well as travelling with friends and young children and every single time Almanara has provided the perfect backdrop for the perfect holiday. Our children have grown up with Almanara and it is now our family benchmark for beach holidays. So far, nothing else has measured up. It is truly and incredible experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you so much for your review and kind words.

We truly enjoy hosting you and your family each year, and appreciate that you keep coming back to us. You guys have brought a fantastic atmosphere to Almanara on each of your visits going back 4 years now, and we're already looking forward to seeing you all again soon.

Best,

Leo Giovando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
233 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Been to Almanara twice and loved it. Fabulous beach home staff and food. Can't complain.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amrita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
417 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
3.4 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
149 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almanara Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almanara Luxury Villas

Property: Almanara Luxury Villas
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Almanara Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Diani Beach, Kenya, Almanara offers 6 Executive Villas and 1 spectacular Presidential Villa. Complete with personal chef and butler services, this luxury collection of private houses offer guests a bespoke luxury experience whilst maintaining the genuine cultures of Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Almanara Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almanara Luxury Villas Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing