We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almanara Luxury Villas
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights to unwind following a great safari experience, and Almanara provided the absolute perfect end to our honeymoon!

The villas are the ultimate in luxury, on arrival we genuinely thought we were standing in a grand lobby for the whole resort, not the living room to our own personal villa! Each room is immaculate and filled with the highest quality furniture and fittings - it genuinely feels like your own palace!

The facilities are great; we had the choice of lounging by the lovely pool and hot tub or taking the 30 second stroll to the stunning beach with it's crisp white sand! And also the health spa is a must visit for one of Sarah's great massages.

Without doubt though the greatest experience is the FOOD - with our own private chef and butler it was literally like having a Michelin star meal 3 times a day everyday. Patrick and Rama, thank you so much!! And of course not to forget Grace, our maid, who kept our villa immaculate throughout.

The attention to detail and care the staff gave us absolutely topped everything off for us - from fresh flowers each day to champagne on our rooftop terrace, you really made it the perfect honeymoon!

Thank you so much, Tom and Hana

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom_and_Hana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Tom & Hana,

We're all so thrilled to read your review and are extremely satisfied that we were able to provide you a great honeymoon.

And thanks for the comment on your Villa staff. I'm sure Patrick will be happy to hear the Michelin starred comment - which i will be sure to pass onto him.

They will all be here waiting for you if you decide to come and visit us again.

Best,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Almanara Luxury Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We decided to stay in Kenya for our Honeymoon this August to experience the Safari and Beach all in one holiday - quite simply, a fantatsic decision!

I must say that we were blown away by everything at Almanara and it was the PERFECT setting for a romantic honeymoon! We got picked up by one of the personal drivers from Mombasa airport, who, even though it was midnight, had a cheerful face and drove us back to our luxury villa! We were met by jacky who showed us around our unbelievable villa and explained that we would be met in the morning by our own Chef, Maid and waiter...well, I must say that nothing could have prepared us for the levels of service that we experienced!

Wolex, Rama and Mordee looked after us morning, noon and night! We could order any dish that we wanted for Lunch and Dinner, and I must say that the food was out of this world! Probably one of the best things (amoungst others) about the resort - you will not go hungry, or go anywhere near a kitchen yourself at Almanara! From seafood platters, to pasta dishes through to fresh salads - it was superb!

All of the staff around the whole resort were so welcoming and make you feel right at home! Whether you choose to spend your day beign lazy with a beer by the beach, or having a swim at the pool, there was always a friendly face to make sure that you had a beer and that you were being well looked after! The tides of the sea are also great fun at the resort - by day, the beach is pure white sands and the widest I have ever seen, perfect for beautiful strolls out to the sand banks. By evening, the waves come crashing in and perfect for some body board action! Great Fun!

The hosts, Gemma, Leo, Jacky and Luke were amazing, and even make a personal visit to your villa in the evening to ensure that all is well!...We also loved the intimate nature of the resort, and after a day...you seem to get to know most people in the other villa's - we met some lovely families!

All in all, I think you may have gathered, that this was the honeymoon of a lifetime and we loved every minute at Almanara. We would recommend to annyone that is looking to travel to Kenya!....We will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Craig & Stef,

Thanks so much for your review and kind words. I was a pleasure having you both here and we thank you both for being our "Animation Team" and helping entertain the guests!

We're so happy we could be a part of your honeymoon and do hope to welcome you back with the whole family, in the very near future.

Best,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Simply breathtaking. The villas are beautiful, the beach has the best white silty sand with little beach boy interference unlike the north coast. the service is unequalled and the food prepared by a personal chef assigned to you during your stay at your villa is better than most you can find anywhere.
The place is spotless clean with beautiful grounds, relaxing at the rooftop lounge of your villa at night having a drink is a must.
Definitely the best place to holiday at the Kenyan coast by miles.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Julius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Our stay at Almanara for the second part of our honeymoon was a fantastic experience from start to finish. From the moment we were picked up from the Ukunda Airstrip through to the moment we were dropped off at Mombasa airport a week later Almanara did not disappoint once, in fact, quite the opposite.

When we arrived we were greeted straight out of the car by Gemma who introduced us to Emily our maid, Rama our waiter (who served us with beautiful fresh passion fruit juice) and Patrick our chef. We were given a tour of our villa and introduction to Almanara and we automatically fell in the love with the place.

Our maid Emily made sure the villa was spotless and beautifully maintained each and every day and we always had our laundry back on the day it was collected! Patrick our chef produced some of the best food we have ever eaten, including beautiful fillet steak and on a couple of occasions he put together a Kenyan feast for us to experience the flavour of our East African hosts which was absolutely outstanding. The whole experience however was only enhanced by Rama, who, no matter what time of day we were hassling him with requests, was always happy and cheerful and ready to have a joke. Rama’s presence and jolly demeanour always made our villa a happy place to be.

When we weren’t being fed some of the best food in Kenya, we were normally by the lovely pool which is situated between villas and has its own sunken bar. There we soaked up the beautiful African sun and were kept company by the lovely Julius who I was pestering for a lovely Tusker beer morning and afternoon.

When we did stroll down to the beach we found it clean and clear of any rubbish, the Indian Ocean was extremely warm and clear. The only issue with this secluded part of the beach is the presence of beach boys who are insistent that they want to sell you something, we ended up just humouring them and listening to their sales pitch before returning to the sanctity of the pool and bar. There are security guards at the gate onto the beach and they normally send the beach boys on their way if they catch them hassling you.

One of the nicest touches to this resort is the attentiveness of the management team of Leo, Gemma, Jackie and Luke. Several times each day Gemma or Jackie would come around to check that everything was ok and to see if we required anything. On one occasion my wife, who has been bitten by sand flies numerous times, needed some bite relief and mentioned about going out to get some to Jackie, in the afternoon Jackie appeared by the pool with a tube of cream that she had sent a driver out to collect. First class service! On our last full day we made use of a couple of treatments in the spa which were a lovely little treat and well worth the money.

We will be looking to return to this little piece of heaven on earth at the first possible opportunity, it was simply incredible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATribbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Adam & Kelly,

Thanks for your great review. It makes us all feel amazing knowing that we contributed to your wonderful honeymoon. I have passed your comments onto your Villa staff and they simply asked me when you would be back!

We all loved getting to know you and do hope to see you again very soon.

Best,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

In short the best place I have visited in Kenya and specially on the Kenyan coast. Food, service the people all great. A place which you would want to keep visiting over and over again as you take back a lot of special moments from your holiday. Surely will be visiting again soon. Shah Family

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mital S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I think it was by Edgar Alan Poe (now I'll have to check). You can read all the reviews about this hotel - they're all on the money. The food is unbelievably good in your villa. We ate in the restaurant and spent money we need not have because you can be very specific with your chef down to a little dill a little vinaigrette and so on. If you say at 2pm - then 2 pm it will be. Fish lobster and prawns were all top quality. Vegetables cooked perfectly ( and while we are on the subject the No 1 thing that is often badly cooked is lobster and the No 2 are vegetables) Service was fabulous and friendly and with a smile.
I have actually taken pics of the intricate foldings of the lavatory paper to wind up my cleaning lady - she wasn't amused.
The ONLY caveat I would give is that as meals are taken in your own villa you can go a week without seeing other people. I'm a bit gregarious so I need people to watch, bother and criticize. I also cannot talk about the price because it was part of a much larger holiday but i would think it's on the dear side.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I'm not usually one for writing reviews but this time I have to make an exception. Almanara gave myself, my wife and our 1 year old daughter a holiday that was quite simply like no other holiday we have been on before.

We were quite wary about taking our little girl to Kenya but after listening to others who had already done it, we decided to take the plunge and booked to stay at Almanara. The hope was that a villa resort would be more relaxed than a hotel and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived it felt like everything was taken care of, sometimes before we even knew what we wanted ourselves. The staff were always friendly and our little girl loved all of the attention she got! The food was incredible. A member of the senior staff would stop by our villa every night to make sure everything was ok and to see if we needed anything else. She made us feel like proper VIP's and one night even seemed to keep rejecting what I can only imagine were important phone calls just to speak to us!

Every single meal was absolutely wonderful and eating out on the veranda of our incredible villa made it even more enjoyable. We didn't think the food could get any better. But then we ate down at their beach restaurant 'Sails'. Again, the food and the atmosphere (especially at night) was nothing short of paradise.

I could write and write and write about all of the amazing aspects of Almanara but I would be here all night! Suffice to say we WILL DEFINTELY be returning to Almanara again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sizz1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
437 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
407 reviews
6.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
208 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
#14 of 29 in Diani Beach
116 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almanara Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almanara Luxury Villas

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £616 - £635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Almanara Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Diani Beach, Kenya, Almanara offers 6 Executive Villas and 1 spectacular Presidential Villa. Complete with personal chef and butler services, this luxury collection of private houses offer guests a bespoke luxury experience whilst maintaining the genuine cultures of Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Almanara Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almanara Luxury Villas Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing