We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, unique & in a class of its own”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Almanara Luxury Villas
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is by a mile the finest beach resort I have stayed at in Africa and I have been to many. It is extremely private and with the highest possible standards and attention to detail. Cleanliness, charming and discreet personal staff, a stunning beach and the total absence of hassle make this a place I will come back to again and again. It is a high-end and high-class destination that is worth every penny. Go!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Edward,

Thank you so much for your kind words and review. It is a great compliment that you consider us to be up there with the very best on offer in Africa. I'm extremely glad that you've found us and do hope to see you back again, and again and even again some more!

We'll be happy to host you anytime.

Best,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Only stayed here one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Our own very nice chef and maid who made us feel very special. Lovely beach and pool. Probably best to go in a group or as a honeymooner as it is very secluded and could be lonely. Amazing place though; a must.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank woody5333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This family owned location has to be experienced to appreciate this ideallic setting. The villas which include a personal butler, chef & housemaid are supported by the best beach in the world, a great holiday recipe. The quality of the food provided by your own chef is comparible to the best restaurants in London & designed to your own personal request. The villas are furnished to a very high standard, bathrooms are exquisite & extremely spacious.
The swimming pool is a good size with very friendly pool staff serving you with drinks & snacks. The beach restaurant " Sails" is a very friendly meeting place serving lunch & dinner if you prefer to eat at the beach instead of in your own villa. You can even take your own chef to cook for you, if you request it.
So overall, it really is a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have just returned after spending a delightful week at Almanara. The attention to detail is outstanding. The location and quality of villas is simply spectacular. The grounds have been transformed into an incredible oasis that is without question one of the finest vacation destinations that we have ever visited. For us, it was a perfect week of relaxation and gourmet heaven.

Almanara's real value is in their people. We were spoilt rotten and were treated to a week of being pampered by Dorcas, Cathy, Morddie and Julius. We had read on many reviews that the food was excellent, but it is hard to actually describe what that really meant. Dorcas, our chef was five star. We enjoy seafood and had a week of gastronomical bliss, eating seafood platters, lobster, shrimp, crab, calamari and some great fish. The highlight was an incredible tuna carpacio that was delicately seasoned and tasted amazing. Cathy pampered us with her great service and Julius ensured that our many lazy visits to the pool were always refreshing. Morddie is a wiz with her flower art and we delighted in her daily surprises.
Nothing was too much trouble and to see the staff so happy in what they do, really makes the experience much more enjoyable.
I could go on and on but I will simply say that this is a hidden gem and worth every penny we spent.
Thank you so much to all at Almanara.

Room Tip: All the villas are spectacular. We were in number 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEAMBKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

There are 6 spacious 3 bedroom villas at Almanara and the two families in our group took one each. Frankly we had paid far less attention to this than to the other parts of our safari holiday and finding out how genuinely great Almanara was was a pleasant surprise for all of us.

Almanara also has a beach restaurant called Sails and direct access to Diani Beach.

At Almanara you enjoy a personal butler, chef and housekeeper and your meals are prepared according to your wishes. Rama our friendly butler and Patrick our chef cooked up a storm for us, sourced the ingredients we wanted and the quality of food was genuinely superb - breakfast, lunch and dinner. They made us feel totally at home.

The friendly and attentive service continued from Julius at the pool bar who mixed milkshakes, cocktails and our first espressos for a week.

Sara the masseuse in the healthclub is world class, and Jane our housekeeper kept everything spotless.

Our friendly host Jackie helped us with all manner of potential excursions to gyms, restaurants, fishing and snorkelling. The latter trip by local sailboat is well worth it.

Almanara was a perfect place to wind down post-safari. Could it be improved?

The only suggestion I have is one that Almanara has no control over which is Diani beach itself.

We were there in low-ish season which probably meant that we were one of few targets but found the attentions of the local "beach boy" hawkers a bit frustrating. You can't go for a stroll on the beach without being harassed to buy a wood carving or something more. There's no physical threat, and it's all playful, but it's an irritant. The hotels should band together to drive it away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindfieldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The iPad is a wonderful device until it starts doing things you don't want into do, such as erasing my draft entry for the Almanara. Twice. Consequently I now have to rely on memory instead of the impressions I was able to form while still there. The good news is that my memories of this wonderful place are every bit as good as my impressions when I was there.

Every now and then you arrive at a holiday destination and almost instantly know that you've chosen well, or that you've struck lucky, or both. Well, take those feelings and pump them up to about 100 times the size and you may get close to how it feels when you first step into a villa which is so big and so well-appointed you may feel like asking when all the other guests are due to arrive; or feel like saying nothing in case the staff realise you've been put in the wrong place.

Pictures don't really do justice to the scale and quality of the accommodation, starting with a huge sitting area with all accessories, skirted by a full-length patio area with the biggest sofas I've ever seen, enough of them for you to use a different one almost each night out of seven. Upstairs, three monster bedrooms, each of them en suite, again have every extra you might want, while the rooftop terrace has an array of giant day beds, sofas and all manner of other what-nots. It really isn't hyperbole to say that the first and subsequent impressions are jaw-dropping.

This small but immaculately appointed resort boasts six of these villas in all, all discretely positioned, plus a presidential one of gargantuan proportions, a delightful pool and a restaurant that you're unlikely to use: well, why would you? Each villa has its own chef and waiter, as well as its own maid, to see to your every mealtime need. And so, at your behest, you can work your way through everything on the Sails Restaurant menu - the red snapper on a mango and chilli salsa is the pick of a very fine bunch - or you can go off piste and ask for anything you like, including (as we did) local dishes, which I strongly recommend, especially the local curries and samosas, which are as good as anything you'll get anywhere. Heck, you can even have the local maize meal ugali if you want it, but make sure you have something flavoursome to go with it, since it's the local filler.

This is all done with an easy informality that swiftly forges delightfully friendly relationships with all of the staff who, without exception, are polite, informative and genuinely welcoming. This also extends to the two-couple management team who take the time and trouble at all times of day to ensure that everything is right but do so in a relaxed manner that puts you completely at ease. No amount of time or effort is too much trouble.

The resort fronts a virtually deserted, immaculate beach of the softest white sand that allows for delightfully long walks, untroubled by waves of tourists or large numbers of the beach boys out to sell you practically anything in the busier areas.

This place is a haven among havens, up there with (and, in many aspects, ahead of) the very best places you can stay at, anywhere. Honestly. If I could give the place six stars, I would. There are no downsides whatsoever, not even after the recent tragedy in Nairobi; for if we were to religiously apply the logic that an outrage defines the country in which it occurs and makes it too dangerous to visit, we would never again visit New York, take the tube every day in London, hop on a train in Madrid. These things don't, can't, stop us from experiencing places and people as delightful as these in this wonderful country.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hubdub39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words, which are extra special considering you had to re-write them several times. Although i'm sure version three was the best of all!

We are all thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time and are extremely flattered by the list of compliments you have offered our services, our beach and everything else you have mentioned.

I would like to personally thank you for your comments regarding the recent incident in Nairobi, and other similar incidents around the world. Such a positive and logical view is hard to come by these days and will - i'm certain - offer a vote of confidence to other travellers looking to visit our beautiful country.

We hope to see you both back here again soon.

Many thanks.

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights to unwind following a great safari experience, and Almanara provided the absolute perfect end to our honeymoon!

The villas are the ultimate in luxury, on arrival we genuinely thought we were standing in a grand lobby for the whole resort, not the living room to our own personal villa! Each room is immaculate and filled with the highest quality furniture and fittings - it genuinely feels like your own palace!

The facilities are great; we had the choice of lounging by the lovely pool and hot tub or taking the 30 second stroll to the stunning beach with it's crisp white sand! And also the health spa is a must visit for one of Sarah's great massages.

Without doubt though the greatest experience is the FOOD - with our own private chef and butler it was literally like having a Michelin star meal 3 times a day everyday. Patrick and Rama, thank you so much!! And of course not to forget Grace, our maid, who kept our villa immaculate throughout.

The attention to detail and care the staff gave us absolutely topped everything off for us - from fresh flowers each day to champagne on our rooftop terrace, you really made it the perfect honeymoon!

Thank you so much, Tom and Hana

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom_and_Hana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Tom & Hana,

We're all so thrilled to read your review and are extremely satisfied that we were able to provide you a great honeymoon.

And thanks for the comment on your Villa staff. I'm sure Patrick will be happy to hear the Michelin starred comment - which i will be sure to pass onto him.

They will all be here waiting for you if you decide to come and visit us again.

Best,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
446 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
426 reviews
6.1 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,355 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
#15 of 29 in Diani Beach
116 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almanara Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almanara Luxury Villas

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £631 - £647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Almanara Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Diani Beach, Kenya, Almanara offers 6 Executive Villas and 1 spectacular Presidential Villa. Complete with personal chef and butler services, this luxury collection of private houses offer guests a bespoke luxury experience whilst maintaining the genuine cultures of Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Almanara Luxury Villas Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing