We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almanara Luxury Villas
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This was our second visit to Almanara. The first was a valentine weekend for two, we enjoyed it so much that we decided to being our children (14 and 12) and mother along second time around.
One cannot compare the serene, quiet, peaceful ambiance to anything on the south coast.
The villas are spacious and you do not get the feeling of being crowded even when you are a full house.
The personal chefs allocated to each villa that prepare all meals to your personal liking are unrivaled. The food divine. The service from the housekeeper to the assistant chef/ waitress friendly and you are left with the impression that nothing is too much to ask for. Pampered in a word.
The beach is like no other, the main restaurant excellent and the hospitality from Luke, Jackie, Gemma and Leo is very personalized and non intrusive.
Perfect getaway, and we will be back.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre, but you have a whole stretch of beach that you can get a good run or wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind works. It means a great deal to hear that our food, setting and service pampered you!

We loved looking after you guys both times and are sure that we'll be seeing much more of you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burwash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our fourth visit to the Almanara when we stayed for two weeks over Christmas and New Year. We are well travelled but it is always a real treat to come back here. You will initially be thrilled by the spacious villas, beautiful gardens and, in our opinion, the best beach in the world! We have always loved the attentive and friendly staff in our villa, who work to a very high standard. The food is excellent and your personal chef will prepare whatever you wish. My family enjoyed the use of the watersports centre which has a variety of windsurfing boards and is well prepared for the kitesurfing seasons also. The swimming pool together with a swim up pool bar is a very pleasant area and the massages at the beauty room are superb. All the staff, including management take great care of you and nothing is too much trouble. I only wish it was time for another visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMPringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words and wonderful review.

It is always a true pleasure to host you and your family and we do hope to see you back very soon. Perhaps twice this year (once for a birthday and once for Christmas!) Julius will be waiting by the pool bar and your usual team of staff will be standing by to greet you.

And of course Peter is ready to further those kite surfing skills!

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived @ Almanara Villas @ 12:30 am due to flight delays and all of the staff stayed up waiting for us with a complete dinner ready. Our villa was perfect, had everything we wanted and more. You don't have to think here, that is taken care of by the staff. Perfect place to go after a Safari. Luke and Jackie are so attentive to all of your needs and the food is amazing. We will return!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you kindly for your review.

We're happy to hear that we met all of your needs - and possibly anticipated a few also! Both Jackie and Luke send regards and really enjoyed hosting you.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Leo Giovando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is by a mile the finest beach resort I have stayed at in Africa and I have been to many. It is extremely private and with the highest possible standards and attention to detail. Cleanliness, charming and discreet personal staff, a stunning beach and the total absence of hassle make this a place I will come back to again and again. It is a high-end and high-class destination that is worth every penny. Go!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Edward,

Thank you so much for your kind words and review. It is a great compliment that you consider us to be up there with the very best on offer in Africa. I'm extremely glad that you've found us and do hope to see you back again, and again and even again some more!

We'll be happy to host you anytime.

Best,

Leo Giovando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Only stayed here one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Our own very nice chef and maid who made us feel very special. Lovely beach and pool. Probably best to go in a group or as a honeymooner as it is very secluded and could be lonely. Amazing place though; a must.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank woody5333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This family owned location has to be experienced to appreciate this ideallic setting. The villas which include a personal butler, chef & housemaid are supported by the best beach in the world, a great holiday recipe. The quality of the food provided by your own chef is comparible to the best restaurants in London & designed to your own personal request. The villas are furnished to a very high standard, bathrooms are exquisite & extremely spacious.
The swimming pool is a good size with very friendly pool staff serving you with drinks & snacks. The beach restaurant " Sails" is a very friendly meeting place serving lunch & dinner if you prefer to eat at the beach instead of in your own villa. You can even take your own chef to cook for you, if you request it.
So overall, it really is a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have just returned after spending a delightful week at Almanara. The attention to detail is outstanding. The location and quality of villas is simply spectacular. The grounds have been transformed into an incredible oasis that is without question one of the finest vacation destinations that we have ever visited. For us, it was a perfect week of relaxation and gourmet heaven.

Almanara's real value is in their people. We were spoilt rotten and were treated to a week of being pampered by Dorcas, Cathy, Morddie and Julius. We had read on many reviews that the food was excellent, but it is hard to actually describe what that really meant. Dorcas, our chef was five star. We enjoy seafood and had a week of gastronomical bliss, eating seafood platters, lobster, shrimp, crab, calamari and some great fish. The highlight was an incredible tuna carpacio that was delicately seasoned and tasted amazing. Cathy pampered us with her great service and Julius ensured that our many lazy visits to the pool were always refreshing. Morddie is a wiz with her flower art and we delighted in her daily surprises.
Nothing was too much trouble and to see the staff so happy in what they do, really makes the experience much more enjoyable.
I could go on and on but I will simply say that this is a hidden gem and worth every penny we spent.
Thank you so much to all at Almanara.

Room Tip: All the villas are spectacular. We were in number 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEAMBKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
417 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
3.4 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
149 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almanara Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almanara Luxury Villas

Property: Almanara Luxury Villas
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Almanara Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Diani Beach, Kenya, Almanara offers 6 Executive Villas and 1 spectacular Presidential Villa. Complete with personal chef and butler services, this luxury collection of private houses offer guests a bespoke luxury experience whilst maintaining the genuine cultures of Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Almanara Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almanara Luxury Villas Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing