We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just loved it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Almanara Luxury Villas
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a wonderful week in Almanara. The interior of the villas are beautifully desinged, the garden is very well kept. The staff is without exception well trained and helpful in every possible way - you feel the good management in the background. The food is excellent. The beach is perfect and the kiting conditions were fantastic. We are both kiters, the little house at the beach is very practical to store the kiting material. Peter of the sportscenter helped us with handling the kites. And not to forget the massages done by Sarah, do not miss them!
We will come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octavia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thanks for your lovely review and indeed for choosing to come and visit us. Sorry we didn't get a chance to meet officially, but i'm certain we'll see you back here very soon.

I'm glad the wind stayed strong throughout your stay and will pass your compliments onto Peter, and indeed onto Sarah.

Thanks again!

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

This was our second visit to Almanara. The first was a valentine weekend for two, we enjoyed it so much that we decided to being our children (14 and 12) and mother along second time around.
One cannot compare the serene, quiet, peaceful ambiance to anything on the south coast.
The villas are spacious and you do not get the feeling of being crowded even when you are a full house.
The personal chefs allocated to each villa that prepare all meals to your personal liking are unrivaled. The food divine. The service from the housekeeper to the assistant chef/ waitress friendly and you are left with the impression that nothing is too much to ask for. Pampered in a word.
The beach is like no other, the main restaurant excellent and the hospitality from Luke, Jackie, Gemma and Leo is very personalized and non intrusive.
Perfect getaway, and we will be back.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre, but you have a whole stretch of beach that you can get a good run or wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind works. It means a great deal to hear that our food, setting and service pampered you!

We loved looking after you guys both times and are sure that we'll be seeing much more of you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our fourth visit to the Almanara when we stayed for two weeks over Christmas and New Year. We are well travelled but it is always a real treat to come back here. You will initially be thrilled by the spacious villas, beautiful gardens and, in our opinion, the best beach in the world! We have always loved the attentive and friendly staff in our villa, who work to a very high standard. The food is excellent and your personal chef will prepare whatever you wish. My family enjoyed the use of the watersports centre which has a variety of windsurfing boards and is well prepared for the kitesurfing seasons also. The swimming pool together with a swim up pool bar is a very pleasant area and the massages at the beauty room are superb. All the staff, including management take great care of you and nothing is too much trouble. I only wish it was time for another visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMPringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thanks so much for your kind words and wonderful review.

It is always a true pleasure to host you and your family and we do hope to see you back very soon. Perhaps twice this year (once for a birthday and once for Christmas!) Julius will be waiting by the pool bar and your usual team of staff will be standing by to greet you.

And of course Peter is ready to further those kite surfing skills!

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We arrived @ Almanara Villas @ 12:30 am due to flight delays and all of the staff stayed up waiting for us with a complete dinner ready. Our villa was perfect, had everything we wanted and more. You don't have to think here, that is taken care of by the staff. Perfect place to go after a Safari. Luke and Jackie are so attentive to all of your needs and the food is amazing. We will return!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you kindly for your review.

We're happy to hear that we met all of your needs - and possibly anticipated a few also! Both Jackie and Luke send regards and really enjoyed hosting you.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is by a mile the finest beach resort I have stayed at in Africa and I have been to many. It is extremely private and with the highest possible standards and attention to detail. Cleanliness, charming and discreet personal staff, a stunning beach and the total absence of hassle make this a place I will come back to again and again. It is a high-end and high-class destination that is worth every penny. Go!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Edward,

Thank you so much for your kind words and review. It is a great compliment that you consider us to be up there with the very best on offer in Africa. I'm extremely glad that you've found us and do hope to see you back again, and again and even again some more!

We'll be happy to host you anytime.

Best,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Only stayed here one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Our own very nice chef and maid who made us feel very special. Lovely beach and pool. Probably best to go in a group or as a honeymooner as it is very secluded and could be lonely. Amazing place though; a must.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank woody5333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This family owned location has to be experienced to appreciate this ideallic setting. The villas which include a personal butler, chef & housemaid are supported by the best beach in the world, a great holiday recipe. The quality of the food provided by your own chef is comparible to the best restaurants in London & designed to your own personal request. The villas are furnished to a very high standard, bathrooms are exquisite & extremely spacious.
The swimming pool is a good size with very friendly pool staff serving you with drinks & snacks. The beach restaurant " Sails" is a very friendly meeting place serving lunch & dinner if you prefer to eat at the beach instead of in your own villa. You can even take your own chef to cook for you, if you request it.
So overall, it really is a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
432 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
453 reviews
6.1 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,362 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
#14 of 29 in Diani Beach
118 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almanara Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almanara Luxury Villas

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £632 - £648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Almanara Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Diani Beach, Kenya, Almanara offers 6 Executive Villas and 1 spectacular Presidential Villa. Complete with personal chef and butler services, this luxury collection of private houses offer guests a bespoke luxury experience whilst maintaining the genuine cultures of Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Almanara Luxury Villas Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing