We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful - a gem!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Almanara Luxury Villas
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We just returned from a glorious four days at Almanara and are already planning our next trip. Gorgeous gardens, bath-water warm pool, striking yet homey villas, stunning beach but most importantly, a wonderful group of people. The care and commitment of the Almanara team is tremendous - Jackie is so warm and welcoming it felt like seeing an old friend every time she stopped by; Ann's food is exquisite and her and Janet's smiles and laughs are infectious - Janet also looked after us from morning to night with such kindness; Mordy took such care to make our villa beautiful, always with a smile and incredible attention to detail; and Julius at the pool and by the beach is incredibly accommodating and chipper. I also have to mention Luke's fabulous food at Sails - everyone should try the crab au gratin, it is unreal. I cannot thank everyone sufficiently for making our stay so relaxed and special but thank you thank you thank you and see you again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Victoria,

Thank you kindly for your wonderful feedback and review. It is so nice to hear all of the wonderful compliments towards those that looked after you. I will make sure i pass the comments on to each of them.

The girls in your villa be happy to hear they contributed to your experience. Jackie is also thrilled to read the review and hopes to see you back very soon. The Crab au Gratin will be on standby!

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

After a weeks safari we arrived at Almanara to be greeted by Jackie, our chef John, Butler Boni and housekeeper Emily. The villa was just wonderful so spacious and had everything you needed, we will definitely be back with our family. Your meals are prepared for you, so you can eat when, and what you want which was a lovely touch, John had us both trying things we have never had before, the meals were just fabulous. Boni was always ready to top up your drinks and serve our meals, and Emily discretely made up our room etc with beautiful flowers in the bathroom and bedroom while you were out. You are just a short stroll down to the lovely sandy beach, or you can lie by the pool, being served drinks by Julius who attempted to teach us some Swahili. Both Jackie and Gemma came by regularly to check that we were happy with everything. Have to say how could we not, it was the most relaxing holiday I have ever had and a super end to a full on safari so were glad just to put our feet up and chill. My husband is still thanking me for a wonderful find with these villas. Thanks to all the staff as know there were plenty people behind the scenes we never got to meet, we have already recommended the villas to friends, it was a fab end to our wonderful trip to Kenya and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We were in villa 6, which is closest to the beach but have to say do not think you would be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for your extensive review and kind words. I'm thrilled to hear that we managed to offer you guys some relaxation after your safari.

I'll be sure to pass your feedback onto your villa team, and indeed Jackie & Gemma, who will all be ready and waiting for you when you decide to come back.

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just returned from holiday after doing a week on Safari and then spent a week of luxury and tranquillity.

The Villas are fabulous, the Staff are amazing. Dorcus, Mordie and Cathy were our staff and nothing was too much trouble. We could eat what we liked when we liked, everything was done for us. The flowers in the bathroom and bedrooms were a lovely surprise each day

Cathy and Jackie were always checking that we did not want anything and making sure that everything was working well. The pool was like a bath and beautifully clean. We had to spend a lot of time under the shade down by the sea, with the breeze. After 10am the sun was so strong that we did not walk along the beach unless a cloud came over. The sea was beautiful.

It was just like heaven. Had a very relaxed week and was very sorry to leave.

Thank you all the staff for such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The only clothes you need are swim wear, sun tan cream. hat and cover up clothes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you kindly for your lovely words and review. I will be sure to pass your compliments onto Cathy, Dorcas & Mordie, and Jackie too - who sends her regards.

We hope to be able to look after you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Its the 2nd time we have stayed at Almanara - first time Feb 2012 and now in Feb 2014.
Adults and kids all had a great time at the beautiful place with marvellous service.
If you like a home away from home, 5 stars, great and healthy food, paradise beach and Water - then this is the place to go.
And if you like kitesurfing, its the best place to learn and improve.
THANK YOU

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sejler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thanks so much for your kind words and wonderful review. And indeed many thanks for choosing to come and visit us again. I'm glad i managed to meet you and your family this time around, and am even happier that the wind blew as hard as it did throughout your stay.

I'm certain i will be seeing you back here again, and look forward to seeing your kiting develop on each visit!

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you want to avoid crowds of people. If you want to relax despite travelling with a family. If you want to have a feeling that your money is well spent - this is the right place! Ideally located on Diani Beach among private residences. With protected, quiet beach without beach boys (well, almost without them). Great concept - each villa has a private chef, butler and maid. All inclusive, even with South African wine and car with a driver. With perfect and friendly British hosts. This is as close to the paradise as you can imagine. Even monkeys are friendly there! My family enjoyed it very much and we can recommend it with clear conscious. The final touch - we left them for 4 days for safari. They allowed us to keep the villa for free - so we didn't have to pack and unpack.If we decide to visit Kenya again, Almanara will be our destination!

Room Tip: all villas are the same, but # 5 and # 6 are closer to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryszard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Many thanks for your compliments and review. It was a pleasure meeting you and we're all thrilled to hear that you and your family left with only good memories of your time with us.

It's nice to hear you recognised our little "extra" for your Safari away days. Flexibility is one of our strong focus points and we're glad to have made your Safari trip that little bit easier for you.

We do hope to see you back here soon.

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Outstanding luxury villas, complete with your own sun deck on the spectacular south coast.
The food was excellent and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful at all times - nothing was to much trouble for them. We come back. Amazing atmosphere.
Highly recommended!!!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Geir-Morten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

It is great to hear that you had a great time with us and we appreciate you taking the time to leave this review.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We, a family of 3, visited Almanara Luxury Villas in February and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

We can only compliment the concept of this resort – it is designed to make you feel at home in “your own spacious villa”. The garden is beautiful and well kept – and there is a general attention to detail throughout Almanara – you get the feeling right from gate entrance to beach exit.

As we understand it is the best place to stay in the Diani beach area. At Almanara the daily rythm is matched to meet your tempo. It is place where you enjoy relaxing, maybe spending all your time doing absolutely nothing, read books, just reload your batteries, or be active with beach activities.

We felt at home at the minute we arrived – actually at 05:30 in the morning, where we were met by the Jackie and our villa staff, Janet, Dorcas and Grace. We thrived here, truly enjoying being spoiled. The staff did their utmost to make us feel welcome and at home.

The in-villa dining concept was something we really liked. Nice just to relax and stay home or have dinner with your friends in the next door villa. Compliments to in-house chef Dorcas and chefs at main kitchen. The Alamnara has a binder with various suggestions of what the kitchen can offer for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but new and alternative suggestions are welcome too. The seafood was exceptionally good, in fact every meal was exceptionally good!

Afternoons were a bit windy so we liked to chill out by the pool, where Julius took care of us - but the beach is lovely too. It is wide, white and great for windy watersports – I signed up for kite surfing, and to my own surprise, and after days of struggling with the kite, I actually managed to water start, go in and out without loosing the board – something I only managed because Almanara has a very skilled and patient instructor. Peter thank you for your kind guidance and supervision in the field of “controlling the kite”… If and when I get my own kite, I will have these words forever ringing in my ears. Thanks.

Jackie, the Almanara F&B Manager, is like a perfect, attentive host who check up on household and guests. We felt very welcome and enjoyed our daily chats.

To security guards, gardeners, pool staff, chauffeurs and other employees : we did notice an attention to detail and pride in doing a good job: well done!

It has been a pleasure staying at the Almanara Luxury Villas.

Excursions: we did a half day visit (6,5 hours) visit to the Shimba Hills, and a full day snorkeling excursion to the marine reserve south of Diani. The Shimba hills was our first "safari", soft hills and with lots of forest/vegetation. I believe this park is very different to Tsavo and other parks - we will the real safari sometime in the future. Re snorkeling /dolphin trip: we had a great day, dolphins playing around the boat on the way out. The reef small island) that you snorkel around is in trems of corals very rich and varied, and the fishes are the ones you find in the Indian ocean (Maldives, MAuritius etc) . Among the fun to watch species we saw jaguar moray eal, beatiful turtles, octopus, lion fish, huge gruoper, two kinds of nemos and others interesting ones. Our daughter and a friend visited the Millenium Rescue Academy - a nearby primary school that depends on charity. Some of the approx 360 students students still lack sposorship and for the sum of 39.000 kenyan shillings you can support a childs education at the school for a year - and this fee include books, uniform and three guaranteed meals a day. This visit made a huge impression on our family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gumle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandro G, Owner at Almanara Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you so much for your superb review and wonderful compliments. We truly appreciate you taking the time to note down the details of your time with us, and indeed on the activities you tried out whilst you were here.

I will pass on your fantastic comments to the staff and management. We'll all be here ready to welcome you back anytime.

Kind Regards,

Leo Giovando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
446 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
426 reviews
6.1 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,355 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
#15 of 29 in Diani Beach
116 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almanara Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almanara Luxury Villas

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £631 - £647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Almanara Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Diani Beach, Kenya, Almanara offers 6 Executive Villas and 1 spectacular Presidential Villa. Complete with personal chef and butler services, this luxury collection of private houses offer guests a bespoke luxury experience whilst maintaining the genuine cultures of Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Almanara Luxury Villas Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing