We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinondo Kwetu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kinondo Kwetu
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
midlands uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pure Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Wish I had found this place before! We were booked in a resort on Diani beach and could only stick it for 3 nights so I discovered Kinondo Kwetu and promptly booked.
It was simply stunning... beautiful rooms, amazing gardens and fantastic pools.
The place had a lovely 'vibe' to it and the hosts were charming and helpful.
The food was exceptional... great variety, fresh and very tasty.
Beautiful white sand beach which was deserted and had no beach boys!!!! Perfect!
Went for an amazing gallop on the beach...... you need to be a good rider though, these horses are strong.... my mount 'Casper' was an ex polo horse and he went 'like the wind', it was a case of letting him go and rein him in when he tires..whch was after a 2 mile gallop!
Probably the most Exhilarating ride I have ever had.. not for the faint hearted!
Also played Tennis and went Kayaking. The massage I had was thorough and calming, good value too.
The weather was perfect, and there were plenty of spots to lazily spend the day.
So sorry to leave... one of the nicest places I have stayed and hope to return to soon.
Thanks to Natalie and Matthieus for an amazing few nights, wish it was more!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This resort is south of Mombasa, a long way from the Somali border, making it a very safe destination. It's a fantastic resort in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Habari ya asabuhi, good morning,

what the previous guests have written is absolutely the way we experienced KK. We brought three kids (9, 7 and 2 1/2) from Hamburg/Germany and stayed six nights, spent most of the day either in the ocean, improving our skills in bodysurfing, or in the huge pool, where you can even start a diving education, the pool is almost 4 meters in depth.

When swimming in the warm ocean I recommend to wear shoes as there are quite a number of urchins (Seeigel) around. Mosquitos have rarely been seen, we got a few bites, but really just a few. Being in KK we decided not to take any preventing Malaria-pills.

The kids loved the KK-dogs - Sheeba, Lola and Lion, with the remarkable big paws - and we took several runs down the beach (600m till the end). If you are afraid of dogs, you should think about taking a run twice as almost every estate at the beach has at least one fairly big dog taking care of his piece of sand. They eventually all turned out to be friendly.

While we were there, the weather had a few bad hair days in a row, we actually didn´t mind that, but even more we were delighted and surprised, when we received an invitation to return to KK some other day in the future on a very, very generous rate.

Thanks again for making us feel so welcome at this beautiful place, beside many other things, I loved the complimentary fridge next to our room, always filled with icecold Tusker and soft drinks for our daily raindown drinks.

Good luck for the future Ida & Filip and Natalie and Mattias, and - dear Ida - hope you don´t mind that we made your biological clock start ticking again :) Keep us updated on possible news, will you.

Kwaheri, David

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Hamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was a very different experience after coming from 5 nights in the middle of no where on safari, it is very nicely laid out resort ( though it can take a maximum of 30 people) so it is all very personal you are not a room number it is run by 2 Swedish couples. Our rooms were excellent we were lucky enough to have a family room for the 2 of us so had a living room with a day bed!! And 2 bathrooms. There were 2 main building and lots of smaller rooms / beach huts dotted around. The staff were great we were looked after at meal times by Peter who was both attentive and had a great sense of humour as we had 6 people in our party we were a larger group than most! The food was great especially the fish and sea food we had a whole lobster each one night which was cooked to perfection, oh yes and the wine is excellent as well ( very good SA wine). The site is situated a good way down the Diani coast line so no other people walking generally on the beach and certainly no peddlers ( there are guards as well to chase them away) I would definitely recommend borrowing the kayak to go out for a paddle and burn a few calories and also the snorkelling trip up the coast is well worth the expense.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

There are no words to describe the paradise of Kinondo Kwetu. From the moment you arrive, you really are made to feel at home and the place has wonderfully welcoming aura about it. Both the owners and the managers couldn't have been more helpful - nothing was too much trouble!
Our cottage was out of this world and was beautifully decorated providing us with all the comfort we could have needed. Falling asleep to the sound of the sea is simply out of this world and the choice of how much or how little activity you did was entirely up to you! You could relax by the pool or the beach where the only sounds were the sea and the birds. We took a snorkelling trip one morning to one of the Paradise Islands (sandbanks which appear at low tide - as you near them it looks like people are walking on water) and a longer trip to the Marine Park where we saw a rainbow of fish as well as swimming with turtles and seeing a pod of dolphins playing and feeding. After all that activity, we even managed a couple of games of tennis but gave up on the horse riding although did say hello to the horses as they grazed on the land.
The food was up there with the best with lobster and steak on the menu. Being able to eat in different areas of the site was lovely which included a lunch by the boathouse in an old boat and a dinner up the water tower. All of this continues to make you feel very special (and relaxed)!
I am counting the days until I can go back!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We finished our honeymoon with a week at Kinondo. It was just the perfect tonic after a gorilla trek in Rwanda and a safari in the Masai Mara. A band greet you on arrival and you soon feel very at home....if only home was like this though! Our room and balcony were fabulous, filled with tropical flowers and traditional African artwork but with all the mod cons you would wish for.

The staff were amazing, and we felt we knew them all by the end of the week. They really want to go the extra mile for you; the housekeeper left messages in flowers on the bed ('nice day', 'I wish you a nice flight' being some examples), a daily cocktail is delivered to wherever you are lounging at 11am on the dot, afternoon tea & cake is served by the pool at 4pm, they will fix you some light pre-dinner snacks (my husband highly rated the homemade samosas) and you are taken to a different location around the resort for dinner every evening. On our last night we were very lucky to be given the roof of the water tower to watch the sunset with a gin and tonic, followed by our evening meal (surrounded by petals) served by our private waiter.

The beach is very private and lovely, and the locals seem not to come to the Kinondo beach like they do on the beaches further up; we suspect they have immunity from this as they fully support the local village school and health clinic/small hospital, which were fascinating to visit. There are watersports on offer but after a busy week on safari, we were a bit lazy and were content with our fabulously comfortable beach beds and books - except for a touch of kite-surfing at the local kiting beach when the wind was good enough.

It is a very romantic place, but I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for a wild party...things wind down after dinner, although you can have nightcaps and cocktails at either of the bar areas. Diani beach town is a 20 minute taxi ride ($15) away which would be the nearest nightlife. It did however, feel a very safe and happy place and I could have stayed longer for certain. The only strenuous activity required all day was getting off the bed to help ourselves to another drink...

Probably the best thing about the hotel was the food, which was just amazing. From the breakfast buffet, to the 3 course lunch by the beach, and then the evening meal, there was not one dish we both didn't thoroughly enjoy. The wines also lovely. But the highlight of the day was definitely checking out the upcoming day's menus! Lots of tropical fruit, freshly-caught seafood and delicious little desserts were the norm. We had grilled lobster and filet steak twice during our week; quite different from your average all-inclusive!

It really is a fabulous place, perfect for anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing retreat with gorgeous grounds, a secluded beach, fabulous food and out of this world service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Within minutes of arrival I’d forgotten that I’d only just met owners Ida and Philip and that I wasn’t an old family friend returned home for a holiday. Shown to my 2-room suite in the house, filled with African artwork, carvings, furniture, textiles, tropical flowers, luscious natural soaps, it was as if they remembered everything I love about Africa and brought it here for my stay. Even the completely private wrap around upper level porch, with views of flowering treetops and expanses of the sea,were perfect for my daily meditations and writing. As a solo traveler, I felt surrounded by friends in the staff who were genuinely friendly and engaging in conversation while respectful of privacy always. The contributions the owners are making to the community in the way of respectful employment, medical clinic, school, and more are a testament to their good hearted approach to being part of their “hometown” in Kenya. They are engaging travelers of the world who have the means to stay in such lovely places in putting their money where it truly makes a difference for local people. Nice. I’ll be dreaming of the time I can return!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanOlofson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
6.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
5.9 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#11 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinondo Kwetu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinondo Kwetu

Property: Kinondo Kwetu
Address: Galu Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinondo Kwetu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinondo Kwetu is often described as a ‘home away from home’ - a paradise for those wanting a more personal experience on the Kenyan coast. Located on a tranquil private Galu beach on the south coast of Kenya.An all-inclusive boutique hotel - with room for no more than 38 guests, you will always find your own private spot at Kinondo Kwetu, which makes it a very special hideaway for honeymooners. It is also the perfect place to gather family or friends for a private celebration or wedding. In addition to relaxing in the sun and swimming in the Indian Ocean, Kinondo Kwetu offers an impressive selection of exciting activities – ranging from watersports such as Kite Surfing, Kayaking, Deep sea fishing and Scuba Diving, to land activities such as Game Drives, Horse Riding and Yoga weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kinondo Kwetu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinondo Kwetu Hotel Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing