We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical magical place”
Review of Kinondo Kwetu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kinondo Kwetu
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical magical place”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Recently returned from a 6 night visit with the family after a wonderful but exhausting time on safari in the Mara and Laikipia. Kinondo Kwetu is just wonderful. Hidden oasis along the beautiful Kenyan coast. Rooms, food, wine, service were all fantastic. We loved the staff, they could not be more helpful. We are now planning to come back for a christmas very soon. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed here with my large family (9 people in total) in August 2013 and it was quite simply the best, most beautiful place we have ever stayed. And I have stayed a lot of places.

Kinondo Kwetu is amazing down to the last detail - with the beautiful surroundings, the décor and African art objects (difficult to find those kind of pieces now), the all-attentive and super-friendly staff, luxurious rooms, wonderful and varied menu, and a warm and laid-back atmosphere.
Add to that their responsible tourism approach, the eco-friendly running of the hotel, the community projects, and the abundance of Colobus monkeys (an endangered species); this place ticks all the boxes.

It's opulently luxurious and down to earth all at the same time; I don't know how the couple running the place managed to create this little heaven of casual yet astounding beauty - but it's wonderful to be in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviews010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I went to this hotel at the start of August with 3 girl friends for a 4 day getaway. At first we were hesitant as it was a little over our budget, but we decided to splash out and stay at Kinondo Kwetu. Within 10 minutes of arriving, we knew we had made the right decision.

Ida and Filip have created a welcoming, relaxing, beautiful hotel that is right on the beach. Their investment shows and it really does feel like each room is special- that the fabrics and paintings were picked for a reason, and its all so tastefully decorated. Each night we fell asleep hearing the sound of the sea. The food was completely delicious and the waiters very attentive at topping up our wine glasses.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends or couples looking for a getaway. We were only there for 4 days, but could have stayed a lot longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip A, Owner at Kinondo Kwetu, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time writing this review. It was really a pleasure having you here with us and I hope we have the priviledge to take care of you again in the future. All the best from all of us here at Kinondo Kwetu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I went to this hotel with my wife to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We had heard a lot of positive things about this place and it turns out that all of them were true. The location is wonderfully beautiful, the food is delicious, the service perfect, the sea right in front of you. An oasis of tranquility with lots of activities if you want them. We went for a full-moon horse-ride on the beach one night which is exceptional.
Whoever is looking for some beautifully relaxed days on the Kenyan coast. This place I can only recommend highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The owners of Kinondo Kwetu have created an incredibly beautiful place, I could have spent all day just looking at the fabrics, pictures and pieces of art. The main house - where you can take breakfast - opens gracefully onto the gardens, and the guest cottages are gorgeous. Beautiful linens and great little touches, like always adding drinking water without having to ask. The large pool is great for lengths and floating around. So often pools are too small. Not this one. Staff are extremely helpful, perfect balance of attentiveness without being overbearing. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I didn't look at all the rooms, but spoke to other guests who were all happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccak8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Kinondo Kwetu is heaven. it was the final stop on a four country trip - Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania, Kenya -with my adult son. I balked a little at first when I saw the prices, but as it was highly recommended by my fabulous travel agent, I decided to go for it. And thank God I did. This is a beautiful, tasteful, fun, quiet spot that is a perfect place to escape and relax. Managers Johnnie and Penny are a charming young couple who make running a hotel look like a piece of cake. They could not be more helpful or friendly - or efficient! Staff cooperative, warm yet discreet. The setting is gorgeous, and the rooms are beautifully decorated with local crafts and furniture. There are many nooks and crannies to hide away in or lots of activities - horseback riding, snorkeling, kayaking etc. - if that's your preference. The food is yummy, served daily in a different place - the beach, the boathouse, on the shady lawn. You name it, they've thought of it. If you're looking for the perfect place, look no more. You have found it at Kinondo Kwetu.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Didn't quite know what to expect travelling through rural Kenya, astounded to find this artsy, exquisite well spread set of beautiful and spacious villas. The beach and pool are fantastic, food served on different locations including on the water tower high up, was great. Staff very warm and helpful. Were extremely sad to leave Johnny and Penny, the managers of this Swedish hotel, but we will hopefully be returning during our next African trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeralGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
423 reviews
6.0 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
382 reviews
8.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
986 reviews
3.5 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
155 reviews
8.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinondo Kwetu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinondo Kwetu

Property: Kinondo Kwetu
Address: Galu Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinondo Kwetu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinondo Kwetu is often described as a ‘home away from home’ - a paradise for those wanting a more personal experience on the Kenyan coast. Located on a tranquil private Galu beach on the south coast of Kenya.An all-inclusive boutique hotel - with room for no more than 38 guests, you will always find your own private spot at Kinondo Kwetu, which makes it a very special hideaway for honeymooners. It is also the perfect place to gather family or friends for a private celebration or wedding. In addition to relaxing in the sun and swimming in the Indian Ocean, Kinondo Kwetu offers an impressive selection of exciting activities – ranging from watersports such as Kite Surfing, Kayaking, Deep sea fishing and Scuba Diving, to land activities such as Game Drives, Horse Riding and Yoga weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Kinondo Kwetu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinondo Kwetu Hotel Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing