We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic hotel, a fantastic place to relax....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinondo Kwetu

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kinondo Kwetu
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Amersham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel, a fantastic place to relax....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

We have just returned from Kenya, and Kinondo Kwetu was a truly marvellous choice of retreat for the family to relax and enjoy Kenya, after 3 days on Safari. It isn't cheap, but if you can afford it, it delivers a really relaxing experience and bespoke / personal service. Oddly the website doesn't show how good it really is. The owners/managers are hands on and the staff are so very attentive, helpful and attuned to each family (over 100 staff for a maximum of 40 guests). One extra 'joy' was the fact that there is no technology, no radio, tv, dvd/cd player - this is a straight gadget free experience. There is however a massive pool (and a small one), a lovely beach, kayaking, snorkelling, and other water sports.

Dinner the first night was Steak Bernaise and last night Lobster, and we had a variety of dishes in between. Our kids had whatever they wanted - nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms are full of local artefacts, and there is real charm about the decor. We enjoyed the animal chess set in one of the communal areas.

This is probably the best all-round service we have received in a hotel - we were treated to complete personal and informal attention and our stay was organised around us - this is nothing like the cookie-cutter mass chains that just don't really get how to provide an individual feel to a stay.

The service couldn't be better, but a kids club might be something that might think about for those for younger children, to give the parents some time to themselves. Air conditioning would also be out of style, but you do need to be able to cope with the heat as the daytime temperatures are well into the 30's consistently.

We will be keen to go again....soon if we can

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F_and_P_Amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

There is nothing you could reasonably wish for that the fantastic staff in Kinondo Kwetu will not go an extra mile to accommodate. They are the most professional, attentive staff I have ever experienced in Kenya and they are discretely always available when you need them but invisible when you want to be left alone. The atmosphere is relaxing and positive in this at the same time stylish and comfortable exclusive boutique resort. It is small and familiar and the food is excellent. Kids are just as well catered for as the adults and happy kids mean happy parents! There is plenty of space for a limited number of guests so honeymooners or over-worked executives need not to worry of being disturbed by noisy families.

The only down-side would be the lack of ceiling fans during the limited periods when the breeze dies and it gets very hot. And perhaps the not so splendid beach. The beach as such is perfectly beautiful to watch or walk along but if you go in for a swim, you would need to use the concrete pier laid out to save your feet from the rough old corals. Or use the very nice pool.

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this well-managed new-comer at the Kenyan coast. It is perfect for an extended weekend for those based in the region, or as a place to relax and work on the sun tan after a safari for those travelling longer distances. It is not cheap, but considering it is inclusive of good food and drinks, it is competetive as compared to other up-market establishments in the region.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

Kinondo Kwetu (NOT to be confused with Kinondo Retreat, which is something altogether different!) - is a private hotel, run by a young, sophisticated Swedish family, located right at the end of Diani, away from any of the huge, faceless, mass tourist type hotels.
Kinondo Kwetu has its own private beach so there is no bother from beach boys at all. The beach has soft white sand and a paved jetty right out through the coral rock, so even when it is low tide you can walk through the rock pools to get to the deeper water.

The hotel is made up of small, individual round houses that have bedrooms and bathrooms. There is also a large house next to a huge pool where there are more connecting bedrooms.

Kinondo Kwetu is breathtaking. The furnishing of the hotel is spectacular using authentic African furniture and antiques to fill it. You won't find a hotel like this in Kenya. Its truely unique. You'll be treated like royalty during your stay as the service is excellent. Anything you ask for is no trouble, from choosing where you want to eat or enjoying all the activities that are included in your stay.

You can scuba dive, play tennis, have massages, do yoga and even ride one of their beautiful Arab race horses on the beach. This you will not find anywhere else in Diani. There are two pools - a huge one and a smaller one, with very generously spaced out beach beds.

Ida and Filip who run the hotel are wonderful. The food is fantastic and you'll notice the attention to detail throughout your stay.

The overall feeling of this hotel is that you have discovered a hidden gem. Away from the sometimes 'tatty' side of Diani. There is an incredible feeling of serenity and relaxation, as the hotel never feels overcrowded and there is space to roam. It feels wrong to call this a hotel as really it feels like an amazing family beach estate that you've been lucky enough to be invited to.

Having stayed in many places in Kenya as I have lived there for two years - this is by far my favourite place. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Dresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

It's a wonderful place where you're completely by your self and excellent service, disretely carried out. Please go if you need to relax.....

Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KerstinBjellerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
3.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
6.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
5.9 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinondo Kwetu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinondo Kwetu

Property: Kinondo Kwetu
Address: Galu Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinondo Kwetu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinondo Kwetu is often described as a ‘home away from home’ - a paradise for those wanting a more personal experience on the Kenyan coast. Located on a tranquil private Galu beach on the south coast of Kenya.An all-inclusive boutique hotel - with room for no more than 38 guests, you will always find your own private spot at Kinondo Kwetu, which makes it a very special hideaway for honeymooners. It is also the perfect place to gather family or friends for a private celebration or wedding. In addition to relaxing in the sun and swimming in the Indian Ocean, Kinondo Kwetu offers an impressive selection of exciting activities – ranging from watersports such as Kite Surfing, Kayaking, Deep sea fishing and Scuba Diving, to land activities such as Game Drives, Horse Riding and Yoga weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kinondo Kwetu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinondo Kwetu Hotel Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing