We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little slice of bohemian heaven..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 21 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A little slice of bohemian heaven..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

What a beautiful, tranquil and relaxing place to stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful. After a long 'tough' day on the beach, come back for a few sun downers and a BBQ by the pool, love it! I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDSLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    47
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
66
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed in Kenaways in mid-June after a 3 night stay at Baobab Beach Resort. Kenaways was a welcome change from the all inclusive resort. There is such a chilled out vibe here, it would be difficult not to unwind and relax. The restaurant had recently being taken over by a new manager and the food was great. The bedrooms are 'beach chic' but have everything you need, a comfortable bed and a good shower, plus you are so close to the beach that you can hear the waves rolling in. The location of Kenaways is one of its major advantages, it sits right on the beach with sun beds looking out to sea and this end of the beach seemed to be a look quieter than further north near forthy thieves etc. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Hi Ruth, Thank you for your glowing review. It is reassuring to know that Kenyaways is appreciated and compared against the typical large hotel resorts. We continue to try and get ideas from nature and recycling projects to make it as natural and eco as possible. I hope you had a safe trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
288 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at Kenyaways with a group of friends in Sept 2011 and had a great time. There's no pool but the premises are right at the beach. The beach is gorgeous, white sand, palm trees, turquoise water, perfect for walking and swimming. There's a peaceful and shady garden and a little restaurant with tasty food and a great cocktail menu. The breakfast buffet is nice and there are daybeds a little elevated from the beach which makes it easier to ignore the beach boys. Right next door is a high end hotel with a great restaurant that serves delicious seafood (oysters etc.) in a very stylish (all white) atmosphere for reasonable prices. It's easy to get into Diani for shopping, dining and going out. Staff at Kenyaways are very friendly, the rooms are clean and cosy and at night you can hear the waves. On the first floor is a beautiful spacious terrace with lots of sofas, cushions and a beautiful view of the ocean. A great place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Hi, Thank you so much for your great review. I am sure it is helpful to others who are thinking of coming to stay here as it gives a broad description of what to expect. I am pleased to say Kenyaways does now have a swimming pool which was completed in December 2011. It is a small pool in the forest amongst the trees and monkeys and is so peaceful and different compared to the breezy breachfront. Also, since you were here we renovated 2 more rooms, and have a new restaurant and bar "Madafoos" which is under new management and is doing really well. The bar area has been extended and makes for a very social comfy environment with good food music and company. Hope you come back and see us again with our new improvements! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Such lovely staff... Couldn't be more helpful and friendly!
Watching the kite surfers provided hours of entertainment for those chilling by the beach

Room Tip: Ear plugs for the morning monkey run across the roof necessary if you value your lay in in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingtutLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We spent two weeks in Kenya, firstly at the Papillion Lagoon reef (it was cheap!), a 4 day Safari at Lion's Rock (through beach to bush safaris recommended on the Kenya Ways website) and finally we had 4 wonderful days at Kenyaways. It is the kind of place you meet interesting people, which we did. The decor and design is fab and each room is unique (the only gripe is that for £60 (a lot of money in Kenya) the rooms have a fan, which doesn't really cool you down and I had to wash my hair in the outdoor show as there was no pressure in the water. It wouldn't stop me going back through as it is a wonderful place. The staff were attentive and friendly (the kind you can have a chat too) and couldn't do more to help. Just steps from your room the white sandy beach. It's much quieter where they are situated (less hassle from the beach boys!). The food was interesting and good value. It was a truely memorable trip and a relaxed vibe at Kenyaways.......

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natraliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Hi,
Thank you so much for your glowing review about Kenyaways. My only regret is that you were not satisfied with the room cooling and shower in the bathroom. The climate does take some adjusting to especially if you are used to Air-conditioning and if you were there Mar or April the hot season.
However the showers are usually very powerful and there must have been a problem. Can I ask if you mentioned it to the management as they should have dealt with it while you were there if not after you left or changed you into a different room. It would be very helpful if you could email me with this information. lkennaway@gmail.com
Once again thanks for your review and hope to see you back soon. Linzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I spent a week in kenyaways. It was a amazing experience. The staff was extremely friendly and great. They made my stay so worthwhile that I can't wait to go back. The place is very well kept very clean. I can't complain about anything. Anything that I needed they made possible. They helped me book day trips. And trip was a wonderful experience. To all of you in kenyaways who made my vacation more than I could hope for thank you. Hope to see you all again.

Christine

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Myself and a friend only had three nights on the coast. I didn't fancy staying in a big hotel or anywhere that had 'vollyball at 2pm' and could offer conference facilities. This B & B had friendly staff, a laid back atmosphere and they were able to assist with booking trips. We had a big difference in a quote from a driver one day when we returned and the hotel staff called someone and instantly sorted it for us. We had no actual intention of kite-surfing and no-one minded. We met other people staying and everyone was friendly and giving advice on places to eat/visit. Beech towels were provided which was helpful and even an escort to walk us to a restaurant along the beach one night. Breakfast was lovely and went until late if you wanted a lie in- or started early for us one day.
If you want highly attentive or faster service go to a big hotel- if you want to relax and soak up the real feel of the Kenyan South coast go here.

Room Tip: The back building has easy access to the pool and maybe quieter away from the beach but the rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk_beckylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
3.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Village Club
Ocean Village Club
#6 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: Diani Beach Rd South Galu Beach | Via Mombasa Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenyaways bed & breakfast Diani Beach is a family run B&B holiday villa right on a beautiful Diani beach. Kenyaways only has 11 bedrooms, 5 with seaview, beach facing. One is a self catering apartment. Kenyaways is exclusive yet reasonably priced for travelers and holiday makers for families, couples or single travellers. The Kenyaways beach villa is colorful and friendly and has a relaxing vibe and a magnificent view of the beach. It is convenient for onward travel, general relaxation, water sports, communications, shopping and nightlife. Kenyaways is especially attractive for kite surfers and surfers. Kenyaways Diani Beach has a watersports centre and kite surf school offering kite surf lessons and IKO kitesurf courses to beginners and intermediates. The kite school is Diani Beach's leading kite surf school and offer a professional service all year round. Diving is also an option for the less wind days and there is an amazing tropical coral reef which runs parallel to the beach where you can see many colorful interesting coral and fish as well as turtles and dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenyaways Beach Bed And Breakfast & Restaurant
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast & Restaurant Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing