We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Love staying here, got such a nice vibe and the rooms are so nice. Its beach is beautiful and the rooms which look right out onto it are very pretty.

Food is great too, with a cracking cocktail hour.

Only thing that could have been better was that we went in peak kiting season and at some points it was basically impossible to go in the sea without fear of getting run of by boards and kites... Maybe our fault for staying in what is obviously a kiting school as much as a hotel, but it would be been nice to have been able to swim in the sea with as much ease as the kiters got.

otherwise, best place to stay around that area! will always go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MukimaHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hello! Thanks so much for the review, it is well appreciated! We have taken your comments into consideration…Don't worry the kite surfers have strict lessons in rights of way and they usually are under control! So far there has been no accidents but as a swimmer it must be a bit worrying seeing them fly by so close! The wind season is over now and we have excellent SUP and snorkeling conditions now until June. Thanks again and hope you can visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    48
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
66
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I booked a three week stay for myself (kitesurfer) and my wife (not). We had a fabulous time at this quirky and fun B&B. Kenyaways is in a relatively quiet spot on the Diani beach with enough beachfront to launch and land pretty much all the time. If you like kitesurfing then this is a great place to come, informal laid back vibe and beach helpers on hand to get you going. If your not it's still a beautiful location with loungers, a little shade if needed and warm waters to have a dip.

If your looking for a five star holiday, this isn't for you, the rooms are nice in a rustic way. They are clean and functional but not ornate and fussy. There is a laundry service and plenty of staff to sort out anything you need.

They could do with a new toaster for the breakfast time and some of the food in the evening was a bit difficult to get, we ended up asking what was on rather than relying on the menu. We felt this was fine as we were looking for a more local sort of feel.

All the staff were very charming and helpful, Madafoos and H2o Extreme included.

In short, if you want a laid back beach holiday with some great kitesurfing opportunities then this is worth a look.

Check out Kris Goodbody on Vimeo for some nice video shot at and around Kenyaways.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jjdorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello! We would like to thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your long stay here with us. I will certainly put forward your comments to the Madafoos restaurant and see to some improvement. Over the busy festive season it is very hard to get reliable supplies in Diani so this is probably the reason.
It was great meeting you both and wish you all the best.
Kenyaways!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The rooms are rundown but still worth your time. They clean daily...
Servers at the restaurant/bar can sharpen up a bit on their skills and service.
Don't try the nachos, they lack flavor. The chicken/pine nut/basil sandwich was great tho! The complimentary breakfast needs a little spice
Nevertheless,I would come back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great place and not expensive, rooms are lovely and come with a floor fan for when its a bit hot and humid. The bar looks out over the stunning beach and the food and drink is well priced and good quality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hough00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a nice great lovely place - we had spent 6 days at this chilling spot. Rooms were so lovely that even during few rainy hours we had beautiful views to everywhere. Apart from that it was all nice clean, friendly, safe, lovely, we have received good suggestions for nice spots elswhere to eat or spend an evening. Food of course was very good as well. The H2O site in the Kenyaways did offer us very nice surfinglessons. We had enjoyed a great relaxing stay.
Linzi, Tony, thanks to you and your staff :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukunda, Coast, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The place is so good with excellent rooms, humble staff members and a nice bar and restaurant.
The climate around is pleasant.
So nice foods and refreshments.
What i can recommend to other travelers who would like to visit Kenya is that Kenyaways is the place to be.
There are friendly staff members ranging from the housekeeping department to the bar and restaurant area.

Room Tip: Super sea view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cayster R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi, Many many thanks for your great review. It makes such a difference to us and really am grateful. I am very glad you enjoyed it here and hope you can come back again.

Best wishes,
Linzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We loved staying at the Kenyaways - it is right on the beach and so homely and friendly - Linzi who manages the hotel was away when we were there but her Mum Joey couldn't have been more helpful. She even arranged our transport for travelling on to Tanzania for us! Also, Stephen on the reception desk was very helpful too - we also got laundry done and returned the same day for a very reasonable price.

We loved watching the colobus monkeys playing in the trees around the hotel, it was amazing!

It took us a lot longer to get to the hotel than we had anticipated due to having to get the ferry from Mombasa - so just watch out for that if you're heading here! It is the most fantastic location though so well worth spending time to get to the Kenyaways.

Thanks so much to everyone for making us so welcome, Mary-Jane and Ian.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandDiscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Ian and Mary - Jane,

I am really glad you enjoyed your stay. I will let my Mum know you mentioned her!
I hope you had a good trip back home and come back soon when you need some more sun!
All the best,
Linzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Village Club
Ocean Village Club
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: Diani Beach Rd South Galu Beach | Via Mombasa Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenyaways bed & breakfast Diani Beach is a family run B&B holiday villa right on a beautiful Diani beach. Kenyaways only has 11 bedrooms, 5 with seaview, beach facing. One is a self catering apartment. Kenyaways is exclusive yet reasonably priced for travelers and holiday makers for families, couples or single travellers. The Kenyaways beach villa is colorful and friendly and has a relaxing vibe and a magnificent view of the beach. It is convenient for onward travel, general relaxation, water sports, communications, shopping and nightlife. Kenyaways is especially attractive for kite surfers and surfers. Kenyaways Diani Beach has a watersports centre and kite surf school offering kite surf lessons and IKO kitesurf courses to beginners and intermediates. The kite school is Diani Beach's leading kite surf school and offer a professional service all year round. Diving is also an option for the less wind days and there is an amazing tropical coral reef which runs parallel to the beach where you can see many colorful interesting coral and fish as well as turtles and dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenyaways Beach Bed And Breakfast & Restaurant
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast & Restaurant Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing