We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 'home away from home' in diani”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best 'home away from home' in diani”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We love coming to stay at Kenyaways, we've always had the best time with a great crew that makes you feel at home from the moment your feet hit the white sand. I'd recommend this amazing little hoteli to anyone that wants to enjoy the best Kenyan hospitality in a typical coastal laid-back style. Personally, I don't go to the stunning beach to sit at my computer - but everytime I've been (3 times in 2013), we had internet access for keeping in touch with those niggly work emails when necessary. I couldn't rate this place higher!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Lulu,

Many thanks for your amazing review. It is really helpful to our place and for travelers thinking about coming here. I am glad you have enjoyed all 3 of your visits.
All the best Linzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    48
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
47
66
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We've visited Diani Beach quite a few times over the past few years and stayed in a few different places but non of them compare to Kenyaways. For the price that we paid we really couldn't ask for anything more, we will definitely be going back there if we get the chance.

We hate big hotels and always try to find the smaller more boutiquie places like this. There's nothing chainy about this place at all. It's family run with loads of personal, unique touches and a real chilled surfy vibe.

The accomodation is in the shade of a cluster of palm trees, right on a perfect, secluded stretch of the beach. It's sort of like a Swahili/surfers guesthouse with a few Arabic touches.

Our room was nice and clean with the most amazing view, directly onto the white sands and the crystal clear Indian Ocean.

The staff were helpful in a chilled kind of a way whenever we asked them for anything. On one of the days they helped us to organise a sailing trip to the reef on one of the local dhows.

We spent a fair bit of time in Madafoos which is the beach bar there- A very chilled bar but always with a good amount of people and a really good atmosphere (really popular with the kite surfers).

They had freshly squeezed juices, amazing seafood (which we ate most days), but most importantly ice cold beers.

It's not perfect, it's got a few rough edges and that's what we loved about it. This is an authentic and intimate place. It felt as though we'd discovered a hidden paradise and in some ways we didn't want to tell anyone else about it!

Oh, and it had wifi which was a massive bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidenAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hey, Thanks so much for your excellent and detailed review. It is much appreciated and we are so glad that you enjoy Kenyaways in the way we try to create the experience. Hope you can come back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've stayed in Kenyaways a few times over the last 5 years and every time it gets even better. I was there a few weeks ago and the staff were great, rooms lovely. There is a nice crowd that stays there, with a very chilled out vibe. Hammocks and lots of cushions about the place to ensure comfort at all times. With the beach and the sea no more than 30 yards away, coupled with the fact that there's a lovely restaurant and bar, you really don't have to move far to have everything you want and need. Already looking forward to my next stay some time next year when I can get the chance to go again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, especially the ones upstairs with the lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi,
Many thanks for taking the time to review Kenyaways. It is much appreciated. We are also very glad you enjoyed all your stays here and are planning to come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed at Kenyaways for 2 weeks and thorougly enjoyed it. The beach is beautiful, the atmosphere is relaxed and the people are friendly. The bar offers good food as well as a fun time! Great pool area for lounging in the afternoons. All in all a perfect, blissful and authentic getaway and I will be coming back very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaColls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi, thank you very much for putting your review on trip advisor...we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and opinion with other travellers.
Hope you come again soon!!!
From us all at Kenyaways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at Kenyaways for 5 days/4 nights and were thoroughly disappointed by the lack of Internet and electricity! We only had Internet access for 1/5 days (and their website touts wifi access), and the hotel management refused to fix the issue in a timely manner or reimburse us to use the Internet at the next door hotel, which charged 1,000 shillings for a wifi password.

And we did not have power for more than 50% of our stay there, making it difficult to take warm showers, see anything(!), or charge electronics.

If you go to Kenyayways, take a headlamp, do not expect Internet connectivity, and do not expect anyone to make an effort to solve these issues for you.

(Also, be wary of going in May: the monsoon is real. If you go at that time, take plenty of bug spray!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to make a review.
I am afraid that week was a country wide problem, and everyone experienced the same constant power cuts and fluctuations which affected the internet, blew a router not to mention other electronics vital to our business. We are still waiting for the new one to arrive since we could not get it Diani or Mombasa.
The Kenyaways management team far from refused to fix the issue, actually they were constantly on the phone to the Kenya Power company even up to midnight every night and to the internet server and technician. They were trying EVERYTHING to get it back and for updates. However Kenya power did not seem to have an answer and so the staff were unable to update you very informatively. Believe me it was a very stressful time as a business where our guests are always a priority.
All the rooms are provided with candles, and a solar powered torch for your convenience.
Some things are unavoidable and in such situations we hope that guests have some kind of leniency and understanding. Please remember we are not a huge 5 star hotel, but a little 11 room guesthouse on a family property. If you wanted to check out and upgrade we would have happily recommended somewhere which would have had all the expensive back up systems etc. but you would have paid a lot more for your stay.
We offer special low season rates from 25 march for the monsoon season hence the reason you were paying 40% less to stay at Kenyaways during this time. This information is on the website.
We hope you can return one day and experience normal conditions.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stop is a gem on Diani Beach, basic, but has a nice atmosphere.

Goods:
if you like to Kite surf - Perfect (though expensive if you don't have your own kit).
Beach is clean (watch out for the sea urchins at low tide).
has own restaurant (their curry is good).
friendly staff.
Secure.

Bads:
Monkeys! on the roof, so forget about a peaceful sleep when they jump down onto the corrugated roof in the early am hours.
Dogs barking.
No aircon throughout hotel, enjoy sweating at 80%+ humidity.
Curry is good, but the rest is basic food (at a price)
Watch the 5% extra for Visa at the end

For the price paid there are others around with a bar fridge, aircon, better food and nice beach access too (like next door) for slightly more. So for a quick booking, Kenyaways will work out, but if you like your sleep then I would try harder to find something better.

Room Tip: View and size of rooms is good up stairs, but the monkeys will get you up unless you are a heavy sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Specialist321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to make a review.
We are very sorry the monkeys were so disturbing. They don't always do it and not all the rooms are affected by them. We wish you would have mentioned this to us and we would have happily suggested another room.
The humidity and heat is also not always so intense. March is a particularly hot month so we have special deals lower rates during this time. (However we advertise that we only have fan cooling). Usually fan cooling is sufficient which we do have in all the rooms. We do have extra fans on request which would have been some help.
All the hotels on the beach are a lot more expensive than Kenyaways, with the exception of the odd special deal a hotel might offer for a limited time. We make sure we have the most competitive rates for beach hotels in diani beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Kenyaways is a very relaxing spot right on the georgeous beach of Diani. The people staying here are all very easy going and friendly and so is the staff. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and decorated nicely. Beach towles are also provided.
The food offered in the retaurant was good and so was the massage we booked.
All in all this was a great and restful holiday and if we ever get the chance to come back to Kenya, we will for sure book this place again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schnulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are happy you enjoyed the stay. It would be great to see you back here.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
149 reviews
3.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
976 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diani Backpackers
Diani Backpackers
#2 of 65 in Diani Beach
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: Diani Beach Rd South Galu Beach | Via Mombasa Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenyaways bed & breakfast Diani Beach is a family run B&B holiday villa right on a beautiful Diani beach. Kenyaways only has 11 bedrooms, 5 with seaview, beach facing. One is a self catering apartment. Kenyaways is exclusive yet reasonably priced for travelers and holiday makers for families, couples or single travellers. The Kenyaways beach villa is colorful and friendly and has a relaxing vibe and a magnificent view of the beach. It is convenient for onward travel, general relaxation, water sports, communications, shopping and nightlife. Kenyaways is especially attractive for kite surfers and surfers. Kenyaways Diani Beach has a watersports centre and kite surf school offering kite surf lessons and IKO kitesurf courses to beginners and intermediates. The kite school is Diani Beach's leading kite surf school and offer a professional service all year round. Diving is also an option for the less wind days and there is an amazing tropical coral reef which runs parallel to the beach where you can see many colorful interesting coral and fish as well as turtles and dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenyaways Beach Bed And Breakfast & Restaurant
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast & Restaurant Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing