We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitesurfing in heaven!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kitesurfing in heaven!!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We've stayed at Kenyaways in september last year for two weeks. After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we were very curious what to expect from our first trip to Africa. And what an amazing place it is!!! Kenia is beautifull country with very friendly people.
And then there is Kenyaways. Lindsey created a special place in Diani. Ultra realaxing vibe..Although there was hardly any wind to kite for two weeks we had an amazing time. Just chilling, meeting people, getting on the matatu, scaring the skykes at breakfast and lounging in the evening at the bar.... (we miss the nachos). Definitly worth comming back to.
Hope to see you all again someday!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollandTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hey,
Many many thanks for your lovely review. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay and had a good relaxed time here. Wish there was more wind for you as that is unusual for September which is usually a windy month. Hope you can come again or recommend Kenyaways around. All the best. Linzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    48
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
66
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have been visiting Kenyaways for several years now and was happy to return and see the amazing improvements to the gardens, rooms and restaurant. I would recommend it to anyone looking for lovely and lively place to spend some time by the beach!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Gwili, Thanks so much for your excellent review. It is really appreciated and we are so glad you enjoyed the visit. All the best. Linzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was my first time staying at The Kenyaway Kite Village, and I must say I found a true gem on the Kenya coast!
The price is more than right for what you get! The staff was very friendly both at the hotel and the watersports centre. Food was great, and the rooms are very nice and uniquely decorated.
I highly recommend this establishment!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisPolo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello Boris, Many thanks for taking the time to review Kenyaways it is really helpful to us and future travelers. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and will hopefully come again.
regards, Linzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We love coming to stay at Kenyaways, we've always had the best time with a great crew that makes you feel at home from the moment your feet hit the white sand. I'd recommend this amazing little hoteli to anyone that wants to enjoy the best Kenyan hospitality in a typical coastal laid-back style. Personally, I don't go to the stunning beach to sit at my computer - but everytime I've been (3 times in 2013), we had internet access for keeping in touch with those niggly work emails when necessary. I couldn't rate this place higher!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Lulu,

Many thanks for your amazing review. It is really helpful to our place and for travelers thinking about coming here. I am glad you have enjoyed all 3 of your visits.
All the best Linzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We've visited Diani Beach quite a few times over the past few years and stayed in a few different places but non of them compare to Kenyaways. For the price that we paid we really couldn't ask for anything more, we will definitely be going back there if we get the chance.

We hate big hotels and always try to find the smaller more boutiquie places like this. There's nothing chainy about this place at all. It's family run with loads of personal, unique touches and a real chilled surfy vibe.

The accomodation is in the shade of a cluster of palm trees, right on a perfect, secluded stretch of the beach. It's sort of like a Swahili/surfers guesthouse with a few Arabic touches.

Our room was nice and clean with the most amazing view, directly onto the white sands and the crystal clear Indian Ocean.

The staff were helpful in a chilled kind of a way whenever we asked them for anything. On one of the days they helped us to organise a sailing trip to the reef on one of the local dhows.

We spent a fair bit of time in Madafoos which is the beach bar there- A very chilled bar but always with a good amount of people and a really good atmosphere (really popular with the kite surfers).

They had freshly squeezed juices, amazing seafood (which we ate most days), but most importantly ice cold beers.

It's not perfect, it's got a few rough edges and that's what we loved about it. This is an authentic and intimate place. It felt as though we'd discovered a hidden paradise and in some ways we didn't want to tell anyone else about it!

Oh, and it had wifi which was a massive bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidenAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hey, Thanks so much for your excellent and detailed review. It is much appreciated and we are so glad that you enjoy Kenyaways in the way we try to create the experience. Hope you can come back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've stayed in Kenyaways a few times over the last 5 years and every time it gets even better. I was there a few weeks ago and the staff were great, rooms lovely. There is a nice crowd that stays there, with a very chilled out vibe. Hammocks and lots of cushions about the place to ensure comfort at all times. With the beach and the sea no more than 30 yards away, coupled with the fact that there's a lovely restaurant and bar, you really don't have to move far to have everything you want and need. Already looking forward to my next stay some time next year when I can get the chance to go again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, especially the ones upstairs with the lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi,
Many thanks for taking the time to review Kenyaways. It is much appreciated. We are also very glad you enjoyed all your stays here and are planning to come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed at Kenyaways for 2 weeks and thorougly enjoyed it. The beach is beautiful, the atmosphere is relaxed and the people are friendly. The bar offers good food as well as a fun time! Great pool area for lounging in the afternoons. All in all a perfect, blissful and authentic getaway and I will be coming back very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaColls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1948, Owner at Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi, thank you very much for putting your review on trip advisor...we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and opinion with other travellers.
Hope you come again soon!!!
From us all at Kenyaways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
3.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Village Club
Ocean Village Club
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: Diani Beach Rd South Galu Beach | Via Mombasa Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenyaways bed & breakfast Diani Beach is a family run B&B holiday villa right on a beautiful Diani beach. Kenyaways only has 11 bedrooms, 5 with seaview, beach facing. One is a self catering apartment. Kenyaways is exclusive yet reasonably priced for travelers and holiday makers for families, couples or single travellers. The Kenyaways beach villa is colorful and friendly and has a relaxing vibe and a magnificent view of the beach. It is convenient for onward travel, general relaxation, water sports, communications, shopping and nightlife. Kenyaways is especially attractive for kite surfers and surfers. Kenyaways Diani Beach has a watersports centre and kite surf school offering kite surf lessons and IKO kitesurf courses to beginners and intermediates. The kite school is Diani Beach's leading kite surf school and offer a professional service all year round. Diving is also an option for the less wind days and there is an amazing tropical coral reef which runs parallel to the beach where you can see many colorful interesting coral and fish as well as turtles and dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenyaways Beach Bed And Breakfast & Restaurant
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast & Restaurant Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing