We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Chilled” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stilts Backpackers

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Stilts Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Tanzania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super Chilled”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stilts is a super chilled place to stay. We slept in the treehouse where you really felt at one with nature, it was great. One thing we'd mention is that the steps to the house were at a bizarre angle and awkward to get up and down, and because of that it made getting to the toilets a hassle. There's also a lack of lighting on the pathways but this could be to avoid disturbance to animals. Other than that the place was amazing, very social and the staff were friendly enough. I especially liked their super saver (lentils and chapati) and it's in a great location... close to the beach, shops and bars!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stiltsdiani, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Nha,

Thanks very much for your comments and great review.
Will most certainly look at a way of making the steps more navigable. The path lighting as you mention are, I think one of the most difficult problems as it does disturb the wildlife very much to have them all lit up at night. I would love to hear good ideas to get around this problem.
I hope the rest of your travels go well and we will hopefully see you again.

Cheers

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    28
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
13
48
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

good place, staff were helpful and friendly. Its 5 mins from the beach, and close to the night life in the area. rooms are clean and nice, plus surrounded by wildlife like monkeys and bush babies. wash areas are clean and parking is safe.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My friend and I stayed for 6 nights and fell in love with the place. The brilliant accommodation, friendly and fun staff, nice vibe in the communal areas, clean shower blocks and walk ways all contributed to giving us an amazing and relaxing time. We were sad to leave.

We were warned that the 5 minute walk to the beach has a reputation for being a bit dangerous, however we didn't experience any problems. Probably because we made it very clear we did't have anything worth stealing! When we went to the beach we literally took our towel and our book in our hand (and a bit of money tucked away in the book to buy a drink at the fabulous 40 Thieves bar).

We were told that Sunday is historically the least safest day (something to do with most people being in church, so people go on the rob?). It was a Sunday that we were leaving to get the train back to Nairobi, and the staff kindly offered to get the bus to town with us to ensure our safety. They wouldn't even let us pay their bus fare!

All in all, we didn't have any problems - maybe we were lucky? I think it was because we were safe, and not lording it about.

We found the food available at stilts to be really tasty and stupidly cheap. We were also allowed to store food in the their fridges as you can't take *anything* food wise into the rooms because the monkeys sniff it out and steal it. We were a bit disbelieving of this to begin with, but then some Irish girls who were staying there returned to find a drunk money and empty vodka bottles on their porch !

I see from previous reviews about the safety boxes being.. less than safe. I believe from chatting to staff that they sadly had a member of staff who had been stealing from them, and when they found out, they got rid of him. We used the safety boxes for everything - passport, bank cards, camera, travel docs, medication - and the only problem encountered was me stupidly losing the key and having to pay for the lock to be replaced!

The bush babies are AMAZING! be sure to be there at feeding time or you've missed out on the one of the best bits about this brilliant place! Also, look out for the giant African land snails on the pathways during the night - pretty awesome! If you ask nicely, the staff will help you find an empty shell - free souvenirs!

I hope to one day return to Dinai, and I would stay here without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

If you are interested in something with character, peace and yet with a fun backpackers vibe, this place is for you. Affordable, great food, monkeys at your doorstep, close to the beach and Ali Baba's cave restaurant - living in the canopy for a few days can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We just stayed at Stilts and had a wonderful couple of days! We didn´t book ahead and although they were full they still managed to put us up in a tent (which was a better option than the private room we had in the other place we ended up staying) so that was perfect. We moved into a cottage the next night which was lovely, the place is beautiful with little pathways through the trees, the bar/reception area is a great place to hang out and chat or have a few drinks/play games with other guests... the whole place is very clean, they have hot water showers :) The best thing about Stilts though is how friendly all the staff are, always smiling and every single person working there will go out of their way to help you and go above and beyond what is necessary! Jane will welcome you with her beautiful smile and Wayne will give you all the information you need for your stay in Diani! The food was tasty and arrived quickly...Our highlight was feeding the Bush babies!! The are adorable, even the greedy one who pushes the others out the way, we loved it!! Thanks Wayne, Jane and everyone there!! Shelley xx

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naivasha, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

i have done camping before but this is my favorite spot. The reception we got from when we called to book a reservation to our actual visit was just wonderful. The cottages are very spacious are well set under trees and you can actually see monkeys peeping through the windows, which is really amazing!! The staff are friendly and very very helpful, the food is yummy. I would highly recommend anyone to try out Stilts Backpackers for that wild camping experience.
I would like to thank Andy and all staff at Stilts for making our stay one to remember. We are definitely coming back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stiltsdiani, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Hello Lena,

Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Cheers

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stilts was one of the best accommodations we had in Kenya!! If you're looking for an African wildlife experience where you live close to nature and not spending too much money.. Stilts is the place to be..

Beautiful Diani beach is only 350m away but the beauty of stilts is that you're living in a tree house with the monkeys! There's so much activity going on!! The Columbus monkeys playing in the higher tress, Sky monkeys cunningly looking for tourists left overs and the lovely bush babies who visit only at night!!

What an amazing experience!! Will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quenchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stiltsdiani, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Hello,
It was a pleasure having you stay. I think you are the first people from Malta we have had to stay. I hope those cheeky monkeys did not give you too much trouble!!
Hopefully we will see you here at Stilts again soon.
Cheers

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Diani Backpackers
Diani Backpackers
#2 of 64 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Village Club
Ocean Village Club
#6 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilts Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilts Backpackers

Property: Stilts Backpackers
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*****SEE RATES BELOW***** Our accommodation consists of 5 Tree Houses and 3 cottages and a camping area. As well as a Restaurant/Bar and Lounge area where we have Bush Babies visit us every night at 7:00pm. The Tree Houses are built out of native materials off the ground in the tree canopies, they do not have their own bathrooms. The rate for the Tree houses are: Single Ksh 1,800 per night, Double Ksh 1,400 per person per night and Triple Ksh 1,000 per person per night.Camping is Ksh 600 per night with your own gear or 1000 with our tent mattress and bedding included. The cottages have their own bathrooms and Fans, still basic but part of our surroundings. The cottages are Single Ksh 3,000 per night, Double Ksh 1,800 per person per night, Triple Ksh 1,400 per person per night and 4 people Ksh 1,000 per person per night. Cheers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stilts Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stilts Backpackers Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing