We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overbooked, used a neighboring rundown property as back up.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simba + Oryx Beach Cottages
Reviewed 7 June 2013

cArrived with a group of college students for what was to be a four night stay only to find that the place was double-booked, though arrangements had been made to house us in a neighboring villa with immediate beach access. Unfortunately, said villa had neither wifi accress, not hot water; and its kitchen was ggas grungy with scarcely any containerized gas for cooking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

Susan does a great job of managing this paradise! Each cottage has kitchen area, dining area, bedroom and bath...and a private veranda...and it's only steps to the beach...very affordable, small market and restaurants within walking distance...everything for a great get-a-way!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggies285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

My wife and I stayed here this past December and enjoyed every second of our stay. We had originally book a cottage at Diani Beachalets but were VERY disappointed with their accommodations. After one night of sweltering heat, poor fans, very little sleep and about 60 bug bites on my wife, we needed to find a different place. On the recommendation of another resort owner, we headed to Simba + Oryx. Once I set foot on the property, I instantly felt relaxed. They don't have air conditioning, but the cottages are right on the beach and the property rises away from the water so our cottage was at the top of the hill and we could feel a constant breeze. The cottages are about 5 years old and in EXCELLENT, clean condition. They have newer appliances, granite countertops, are well decorated and have high powered fans above the very comfortable queen bed and in the living area. We stayed right before the highest season so for about $60/night, this was a screaming deal. It was double the price of the Diani Beachalets, but 100x more value. Finding Simba + Oryx saved the last week of our Kenya trip! Other than the cottages, the property is gated and security staff is on hand 24/7. The property is very beautiful and is maintained by a gardener every day. The staff is wonderful and we were lucky enough to stay when the families’ kids were home for Christmas break. Graham, Oliver, Naomi and Veronica made our stay very special! Also, Dr. Fish who came by everyday to sell us fresh fish, crab and prawns. I can't wait for my next trip!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mullet1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Very affordable self catering place to stay.
I stayed with my wife and young daughter over Easter and the ambiance and service were to my expectations. Its right at the beach and relatively new with good security.

The fact that there is no TV, radio or internet makes it very ideal for those who want to run away from the hustle and bustle of daily work life.

The only problem is the house cleaning interval of three days which should be reduced to two or even one day if you have children with you.

There was also no visitor brochure/directory detailing places of interest, eating and entertainment joints or even information about services such as laundry but lucky for me i was brought up near the place so knew my way around. A totally new visitor to the area would however find it hard to get around.

There is also no microwave oven to warm food (esp for the baby)

This is however a very good place to stay on minimum budget and with no disturbance from pesky beach boys.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flintstone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix M, Owner at Simba + Oryx Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

There is a guest information in every house, for additional suggestions kindly ask at the office.
On request we give out a microwave or an oven.
Daily cleaning or loundry can be requested at extra cost.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wjacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
496 reviews
3.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,011 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
168 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Diani House
Hotel Diani House
#19 of 29 in Diani Beach
49 reviews
6.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simba + Oryx Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simba + Oryx Beach Cottages

Address: Beach Rd, Galu beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range: £48 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Simba + Oryx Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing